We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaish Park Farm
Nearby Hotels
The Castle Hotel(Bishops Castle)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Longmynd(Church Stretton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
69
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgo kartsthe cottagespony ridescollecting eggsswimming poola large family grouptable tennissand pitutility roomgames roomamazing weekrural locationround tablefresh eggsthe barnfamily holidayhighly recommend this property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just stayed at 'Spinney Retreat' for 7 nights and enjoyed every moment. The cottage is very secluded making it so peaceful and quiet. The cottage is very well equipped and welcoming. The hosts are lovely and helpful and the farm is beautiful...lots for the children to do too. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaltaOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A party of 11 gathering to celebrate a 30th birthday, The Olde Cow House of Plaish Park Farm cottages provided the perfect setting for a fantastic weekend. Facilities were superb in this beautifully renovated barn, supplied with every possible little thing which could be needed.

The open plan kitchen/diner and large sitting room offered a generous sized living area. 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms were all beautifully furnished and decorated, the main bathroom boasting a lovely shower and roll top bath. 3 of the 4 bedrooms (described as family rooms) have a single bed alongside the doubles/zip and links - great for varying family combinations. All are accurately described on the website.

Add into this a tennis court, indoor games area, table tennis table and pool table, Plaish Park Farm cottages offer a fantastic setting in stunning Shropshire countryside. Enjoy wonderful walks, good pubs and escaping the hectic day-to-day routine with this rural retreat.

And rural it is. It is well worth acquainting oneself with the directions on the website and locating the entrance to the cottages on Google Street View. Many of our party struggled to find the entrance once darkness fell and - with there blissfully being no mobile signal - offering directions over the telephone was nigh on impossible.

Thank you Howard and Sara for a wonderful weekend. We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmbleTheBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Well what can I say about this holiday, we travelled with our two borders and had a wonderful relaxing time even though the weather was not kind to us.
We stayed at the Turnip house which sleeps 8 (yes I know thier was only two of us but my wife loved it so much) And from arriving on a very wet & dark Sept day we had a great time.
Our Sat nav didn't take us straight there so we did have to drive around a bit, and on roads only as wide as your car this can be a little scarey to begin with, just take your time and be prepared to reverse to a overtaking spot sometimes.
The whole house was clean, you may find a cobweb, here or a dead fly thier but come on it's a BIG house and who cares yr on vacation.
Loads of pots & pans, cutlery, in fact everything you need.
Walks down through the farm then over the fields to the left lead to the boating / fishing lakes, great walk but care to keep dogs on a lead at all times unless the field is empty which was Sara's good instruction.
When we arrived thier were fresh flowers in the cottage as well as home made cookies.

Things to make a note of. . . .
1) Take as much food and drink as possible as the price's in the co-op in Church Stretton are out of this world.
2) Take good walking boot's / shoes.
3) The logs for the fire are £4 a box paid into an honesty box, I'm unsure if you had to pay for the kindling as we only paid for the logs and as the weather was terrible we bought a lot of logs.
4) The fresh eggs were really tasty, but as I'm a townie I kept thinking the hens looked vicious ! ! !
5) As mention in another feedback no signal for mobiles unles you drive to a nearby village.

We really enjoyed this break, my wife wound down and read a book which is very rare indead, in fact she was so chilled she wanted to stay.

If it were not for the 4 -5hr drive we'de visit over & over again.

Room Tip: We would ALWAYS choose the Turnip house, the views from here far far surpass any of the other views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shaun William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in Corn House in this lovely complex for a long weekend. It was my mum and dad's 40th Wedding Anniversary so it was the two of them, me and hubby with two young children (4 and 18 months) and my sister and her hubby and their 18 month year old. The house had everything you could need - plenty bathrooms, well equipped kitchen, games, fire, two dining tables (one informal in the kitchen and one huge grand table downstairs). There were two double rooms both en-suite with one having a four poster. There was a family bedroom and two twin rooms but we easily pushed two of the singles together.
The house had it's own BBQ and sand pit and shared access to a small play area - couple of swings and a slide. The chickens came round for food and we collected their eggs. We fed the horses and pigs and spent loads of time on the tennis court either playing tennis or razzing around on the variety of 'go karts' - an inspired idea with a couple being set up so that children could sit on and be peddled around by an adult. There was also mini tractors etc for the kids. If everyone staying on the complex wanted to be using this sort of stuff I can imagine it could get a bit frustrating but the weekend we were there this wasn't a problem. There was another play park area down here as well. The farmer was also happy for the kids to go up on the tractor and wander around the farm buildings watching the grain being dried - with adults in toe of course and the risk being ours not theres. There were two farm dogs knocking around. Neither of my kids are very keen on dogs but one was old and slow and not at all interested in visitors while the other was interested in the balls but didn't interfere with the game.
PS - I haven't rated value below as we weren't involved in paying for it so have no idea how much it cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel1life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stay as a family group regularly and found Plaish park farm to be ideal for our needs- we had 29 people staying ranging from 3 years to 74 years of age, We have huge bbqs, a curry night, sports day by the lake, many swam in the lake and the small dog accompanying us loved it as well. As we were all together in a large group much of the catering took place in the house and it was more than equipped to cope with this. Large pans and servers were in abundance as was cutlery, plates etc, great knives, caffeters, you name it they had it. All of the accommodation was spacious, we could easily fit all 29 in the house and also the two barns with the middle door open catered for a very good casino evening- the owners were always on hand if you needed them but they were never obtrusive.

It is very rural and you need a car but that was the beauty of it for us and Tesco do deliver and the local town has take-aways which will deliver.

The setting is stunning with sheep and horses literally in your back yard, not forgetting the two dogs and two pigs. The kids loved collecting the eggs in the morning and expect an early morning call from the chickens who tap on the glass expecting tit bits in return for their eggs.

All in all a fantastic place which I would not hesitate to recommend- one word of warning though don't expect to get any kind of phone signal and the Wi-Fi is a little temperamental so I am afraid the kids have to get away from their gadgets and enjoy playing- not a bad thing in my opinion

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addicted-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews