We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A well provisioned cottage in a very pleasant...”
other travellers have booked this property
Quinney View cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quinney View cottage
Quinney View cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Quinney View cottage
Quinney View cottages
Fully fitted and well equipped kitchen
Dining area with extendable table quality glass and crockery
Double bedroom at front with walk in wardrobe
front double bedroom
shower
wash basin shower room
Conservatory at rear  with seating outside
A good supply of maps and guides
enjoy the garden
Snip some herbs !
View to Station Inn and Marshbrook level crossing
Station inn -  local friendly pub with great food
Post box at Minton - great local walks with views
Delightful walks straight from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AndyA57
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A well provisioned cottage in a very pleasant location”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this very pleasant cottage. Unfortunately the weather wasn't that brilliant, but we didn't let it stop us going out! The cottage is very comfortable and in excellent condition throughout. If you like cooking, there's a very nice kitchen with everything you might need (and not just cheap things that you often get in holiday lets, but decent quality stuff, which helped make it feel more like home from home). And if you don't want to cook there are plenty of options for eating out - the Station Inn over the road is very welcoming and while the menu is a bit unadventurous, they do know how to cook a very good steak. And there are two pubs which serve good food in near by Little Stretton.

There's plenty of good walking nearby. Shropshire is a bit of an undiscovered gem really - nowhere near as busy as, say, the Peak or Lake District, but with some stunning scenery. I recommend the walk from the property up Minton Hill to the Long Mynd - up the lane by the level crossing to Minton village and then follow the bridleway and enjoy the view!

And the owners were happy to accept a well behaved dog, with the perfectly reasonable proviso (which any responsible dog owner would do anyway) of not letting them on the furniture and clearing any mess they might make in the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of the cottage and everything that was provided.
Liked least: Having to pay a security deposit - it's relatively unusual to be asked for this nowadays in my experience. But I suppose I understand why the owners do it - and in fairness, they do say it won't be needed for any subsequent visits.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Glad you had a good stay Andrew , we'd be delighted to welcome you again.

Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive G
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Quinney View was just what we wanted for an excellent walking weekend punctuated with good food and drink. Really well kitted out with everything you need and lovely, comfotable accommodation in a superb location

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thanks! Glad you had a good stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robb K
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in fantastic location with great pub & restaurant opposite.”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage was really lovely with everything you could want provided.

The conservatory and garden are a real suntrap and their were beautiful walks pretty much straight outside the door.

The Station Inn which is opposite were very happy to allow us to park in their car park in addition to the car parking available outside the cottage. The pub and restaurant were excellent but did get busy so booking for meals is recommended.

We would definitely use this cottage again. Thank you for a great weekend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thanks so much for using the cottage for your celebration. Hope we can welcome you again .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S B
Clevedon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable cottage in great location for walking”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Had an enjoyable weekend break at Quinney View, the cottage was very comfortable and well situated. Great location for walking with no need to drive anywhere. Also the added bonus of a pub across the road serving good food.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review , so glad you enjoyed your time at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14belmont
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Lovely cosy and well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I have just returned home after a week at Quinney Cottage. We have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the cottage is delightful, very warm and cosy and so well equipped that we could not think of anything more that we might need. The kitchen has all the modern equipment needed in the way of oven and hob, fridge/freezer dishwasher and microwave. There is also a washing machine available in the little brick outhouse. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom has a large shower. There are books and maps on what must be every walk in the area, and also information on all the local places to visit. Ludlow is a wonderful little town which has a market every day except Tuesday and is a combination of a local farmers market and a craft market. We found it to be vibrant and fascinating. I would just like to thank the owners for making our stay so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to say as it was so tranquil, warm and cosy.
Liked least: We did find the stairs rather steep but we took care so it was not a problem.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
thankyou . so glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage in rural Shropshire”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Quinney View with friends for a 3 night break. The cottage is very comfortable,well equipped and maintained.There is ample information supplied about local amenities, places to visit ,along with leaflets and maps. It is ideally placed for exploring towns such as Church Stretton , Ludlow, Bishops Castle as well as the Welsh borders and Long Mynd. There are good opportunities for walking and cycling and lots of good places to eat out. The Station Inn, just across the road from the cottage, is especially good and a friendly place to have a pre-dinner drink.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to good walking country
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you and thanks for returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
208Andrew...
Millaa Millaa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We felt very welcomed at Quinney View. The owner lived in Liverpool but a kind neighbour welcomed us and explained about scaffolding work and car parking. A welcoming bottle of wine was left on the kitchen table..very thoughtful.
Good washing facilities, lovely outdoor area and also conservatory.
An ideally located cottage, excellent eating places close by ( pub across the road was friendly and meal excellent) . Church Stretton, Shrewsbury. and other towns very close by. A good base for the Midlands to the east and across to Caernafon. in Wales.
Good walking tracks close by and we enjoyed finding Offa's Dyke.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Conservatory
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Yes . Sorry that the works not completed on time and thanks for your understanding
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing