We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs some tlc”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Belvedere Guest House
Ranked #12 of 22 Church Stretton B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“needs some tlc”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights, dull, drab and dirty! The place needs a good clean! The breakfast was mediocre to say the least. The pillows have to be the hardest in Britain and all in all way too expensive for what is offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenandjay61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Upon arrival at Belvedere I was immediately made to feel very welcome. Having arrived early I didn't expect my room to be ready, but it was and very clean and comfortable too, exactly what I was hoping for. After an exhausting day of walking it was a pleasure to come back to the room where I could have a hot shower and a peaceful quiet night. In the morning I arrived for breakfast later than I had previously arranged but this was no problem, there was service with a smile and the quality of the food and speed of service was faultless. I will be returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights because all of our walking party could not be accommodated in one place. We had an “en-suite” room – we discovered this meant that an area of the room was partitioned off and housed an electric shower and a toilet. After using the toilet it was a case of opening the en-suite door to wash your hands in the basin on the other side of the bedroom! The amount of mould on the inside and outside of the shower was unbelievable for this so-called AA 4 star accommodation: it is obvious that cleanliness is not an aspect which the owners consider to be important, since this mould has obviously been there for a long time. The sign on the front door indicates that walkers are welcome, but when we returned earlier one day after an extended walk, there was no hot water for a bath. When I confronted the owner, he said that someone else must have used it all, and the boiler was on a timer. Since this property has about half a dozen rooms, what do you think are your chances of getting a bath?

Room Tip: Choose another Guest House
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank orangutan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Big Edwardian house on the "Long Mynd" side of town. Splendid view of Caer Caradoc from the window of our room, but I think not many rooms. Room was fairly compact but OK, en-suite shower faintly whiffy (carpets in shower/loo never a good idea), breakfast was fine with reasonable choice of fruit/juice/yogurt/cereals and standard "full English" (Ewa checked on arrival what we'd like for breakfast, so we could have requested variations).

Ewa was very helpful about tumble-drying some clothes after I fell on a muddy path and had to rinse them through.

The dining room is a long narrow room - we had the window table but anywhere else might have seemed a bit gloomy - and the lounge might be inviting on a cold winter evening but did seem a bit dark in daylight and had no view except the carpark.

But it would be great if a group of friends or family wanted a B&B with a large lounge for sociable evenings or wet days together.

There's a large lawned garden with garden tables and chairs, surrounded by huge trees but catching plenty of sun and utterly peaceful, and I spend a happy couple of hours there having opted out of the last hill of my party's walk and got back early.

We were part of a group scattered round various hotels and B&Bs in and around Church Stretton, meeting for walks and pub meals, and I think we did as well as anyone with pluses and minuses for each place.

No mention of wifi but there was an open network, whether intentional or not.

Plenty of parking and bike storage, and then short walk down to town or short / medium / epic walks available from the door.

Room Tip: Ask for view towards Caer Caradoc if you like views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMDLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Belevedere was great for the one night we stayed. The owners were very friendly and accommodating when I had to change the booking. The place was clean and comfortable with plenty of garage storage for our 6 bikes.
Regarding the previous posts, the hospitality tray was as you would expect from a B&B and we were told about en suite options when we booked.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Stayed in this B&B for a short break with a group of friends. Definitely not somewhere I would recommend. The rooms were dirty, not cleaned for the whole of the 3 night stay. You could write your name in the dust on the skirting boards and also the hospitality tray although the term 'hospitality' is somewhat ambitious if you consider 2 tea bags, 2 coffee sachets and 2 milk jiggers as being 'hospitable. There were no TVs in the room, only a very dingy uninviting communal lounge with TV. One of our group did not have any en-suite facilities and was advised that they would have sole use of other facilities down the corridor...sadly this did not prove to be the case and they ended up sharing the ensuite facilities of another member of the group as the 'shared' facilities were definitely not clean and being used by other people. Towels were not changed, beds were not made at all and the rooms were not hoovered. The standard of the food was certainly not what has been experienced in other 4* establishments. At best this could be regarded as 2*. During our stay in Church Stretton we enjoyed superb local food in other establishments in the town....it is a pity this was not replicated in the Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happywanderer0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed here with a group of friends. It's in a lovely spot and has a great deal of potential, but really only just manages to be 2*. Why? Firstly, it needed a good clean. Dust everywhere. One of our party had no ensuite (in a 4*!) and the bathroom was definitely dirty - in fact she used the shower in a friend's room. Beds weren't made and the bathrooms weren't cleaned the whole time we were there. In fact, I cleaned the shower and toilet myself. No TV in any of the rooms - just one in a shared lounge - a very dingy lounge at that. The food was very much below par. Hardly any fruit - tinned grapefruit, a shrivelled apple and a banana - between all the guests! One of our party asked if she could have a sausage and was told "Not today - you can tomorrow"!! Everything was done on the cheap - Happy Shopper yoghurt! If it was 2*, it would be perfectly good. But it lacked any of the special touches or extras you expect with 4*. I've stayed in 2* B & B which are far and away better than this one. Church Stretton itself prides itself on its lovely cafes and eateries, using local produce. What a pity the landlady here doesn't. As one of our party said: "I'm going to give her a cheque in one hand and a duster in the other.." Disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flattielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
0.4 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
241 reviews
9.6 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
8.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 22 in Church Stretton
197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mynd House Hotel
Mynd House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Stretton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere Guest House

Property: The Belvedere Guest House
Address: Burway Road, Church Stretton SY6 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belvedere Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Guest House Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing