We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highlands Bed and Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't ask for more!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at this lovely B&B for the May Day bank holiday weekend. We chose the Balcony room, which offered lovely views across the hills, where you could sit out with a glass of wine, with the relaxing sound of sheep and lambs on the distant hillside (idyllic!). The room itself was very clean and offered all the facilities we needed to a high standard. The owners, Lynn and Alan were an extremely welcoming and hospitable couple who gave helpful advice on walks across the hills and even provided us with maps and directions. The full English breakfast was excellent and was served with a smile and good humour by our hosts. I’m not a keen hill walker, so won’t be rushing back, but my partner who is a keen hiker plans to return again soon and is already looking at dates with her friends, and will be looking no further than the Highlands for accommodation on her return to Church Stretton!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
127
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Magnolia room in May 2014. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious and had a great view of the Long Mynd.
Alan and Lynn were excellent hosts and looked after all our needs with great efficiency and warmth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Everything was first class - the accommodation - the views and the hosts. Thoroughly recommend this beautiful house and garden. Nothing was too much trouble for our very friendly hosts. Shropshire is extremely scenic and perfect for walkers, cyclists of all abilities. The Highlands is a very convenient place to have as a base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Like many other reviewers we found Lynn and Alan to be relaxed and amiable hosts. The room we had (Magnolia) was not only clean and as spacious as one might need but also with good en-suite arrangements and a lovely view of The Long Mynd, which is what we'd come to explore. In my opinion special mention should be made of the breakfasts and especially Lynn's scrambled eggs. I grew up on working class watery scrambled eggs and this is what I've had in most hotels and B&B's that I've visited. My much more refined brother-in-law made what he called 'Buttered eggs' This is the first time I have found them since. For breakfast you can order whatever combination you want and that is what you get, so you're not overwhelmed and bloated for the rest of the day. When we arrived I asked Alan for a recommendation for a light evening meal. He not only made the perfect recommendation, but made a reservation. Later in the week when the weather looked a bit variable he ran us to the end of our walk 5 miles away so that we could successfully walk back before the rain engulfed. Prices are great. Beds are extremely comfortable, hosts aren't standoffish and you'll have some of what the Irish call 'Craic' into the bargain. Go for it!

Room Tip: The Magnolia is great for a couple. The gallery room at the top of the house has fab views, but is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hague161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

• Warm welcome
• Helpful
• Very friendly
• Nothing was too much trouble
• Beautiful room, fantastic views
• Very clean
• Good a la carte breakfast
• Alan and Lynn make you feel at home and have a very engaging approach

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lovely room, lovely view, lovely people. Nothing is too much trouble for Lynn and Alan, and you will feel like you're staying with friends who just happen to be prepared to wait on you hand and foot. Must be the best B&B in Shropshire.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Len_and_Ernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

On a return visit to Church Stretton, we chose this B&B because of the positive reviews. Happy to say that the reviews were absolutely right. The room was comfortable and immaculately clean, the breakfasts were delicious and Lyn and Alan were friendly and informative hosts. We had an amazing view down to Church Stretton and beyond into the Cardingmill valley. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
0.9 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
241 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
745 reviews
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 22 in Church Stretton
197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mynd House Hotel
Mynd House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Stretton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Bed and Breakfast

Property: Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Address: Highlands Hazler Road, Church Stretton SY6 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Highlands Bed And Breakfast Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing