We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place. Wonderful people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 18 June 2014

People have said it all before but in a nutshell:
- Very clean and tidy with lovely beds and soft towels.
- Refrigerator in room
- Really good breakfasts.
- Tremendous views.
- Good advice re where to eat and walk
- Close to a lot of interesting places
- Lovely gardens and visiting birds.
- Lynn & Allan are caring and considerate hosts.

In short, worth every one of their six stars. Oops, only five stars allowed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Alan and Lynn are kind and thoughtful hosts who are keen to make your stay as pleasant as possible in every way. The location is good for touring the area. It is quiet and the beds are very comfortable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - you would not expect to get better than this in a 5 star hotel and is excellent value for money.
We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The balcony room, if available, is the one to book. It is spacious, quiet and comfortable with super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

There is so much to enthuse about that I'm not sure where to start. Our Balcony Room had beautiful views of the delightful garden and surrounding hills. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable and there was everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. In addition to the excellent breakfasts we enjoyed watching an amazing variety of birds on the bird table outside the dining room. Lynn and Alan are both pleasant and convivial hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you are looking for a B&B in Shropshire then I cannot recommend Highlands highly enough. It is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. It has everything - superb views over the Long Mynd, lovely spacious rooms at very reasonable rates, comfortable beds, immaculate bathrooms, an absolutely beautiful garden, excellent breakfasts - and Lynn & Alan are so friendly and welcoming. They did so many "extras" for us, such as phoning restaurants, drying out our wet walking gear - and when the sole fell off my husband's walking boot, Alan even lent him his own boots for the day. We could not fault this lovely place and would recommend it unreservedly to anyone.

Room Tip: Lovely big bay window in the Magnolia Room - we specially liked this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

First-rate welcome with a mug of tea and a chat. Felt from the start that we were visiting old friends. Lovely room with fabulous views over the beautiful garden and the hills Breakfast was excellent - even got more than we ordered on day two! Had a tour of the other rooms before we left and all are decorated and equipped to a very high standard. Wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A truly excellent B&B.
Everything in the room was perfect and we loved the little extra touches - e.g. cotton buds in the bathroom and a dinky little fridge in the room to store fresh milk.
The view from the room over Long Mynd is lovely (this view is available from ALL rooms we believe). This area rivals the Peak District for natural beauty but that is a well-kept secret.
Lynn and Alan made us feel very welcome - we were soon chatting like old friends.
On our departure day we went on a lovely walk starting from their front door and they invited us back so we could shower before starting our onward journey. Such a kind thought.

Room Tip: All the bedrooms look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay - great accommodation, excellent breakfast and, above all, Lynn and Alan are such helpful and friendly hosts!

Having the Balcony Room proved to be 'the icing on the cake'.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Church Stretton hotels
0.4 mi away
Brookfields Guesthouse
Brookfields Guesthouse
#5 of 21 in Church Stretton
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 21 in Church Stretton
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 21 in Church Stretton
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
250 reviews
4.4 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#19 of 21 in Church Stretton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Bed and Breakfast

Address: Highlands Hazler Road, Church Stretton SY6 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range: £24 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Highlands Bed And Breakfast Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing