We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in the Primrose Room recently, it was really lovely. Alan and Lynne are very welcoming hosts and couldn't do enough for us, including endless rounds of toast for my husband at breakfast!! We would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
127
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Keith A, Lincolnshire

Excellent B & B. Stayed 2 nights for a short break in Shropshire and this is one of the best guest houses we have stayed in. Beautiful setting, large and well furnished rooms, great breakfasts and most of all a very friendly welcome from Alan and Lynn. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a superb spot. We have never stayed in such a spectacular B&B. The views are to die for, I couldn't tear myself away from the fabulous bay window, and the accommodation was, to us, absolutely the best. A lovely touch is to have fresh milk in the room instead of the usual little pots of UHT. Lynn and Alan made us feel most welcome on our arrival with tea and biscuits and it wasn't long before the banter started! Nothing was too much trouble even though they had had a hectic time taking part in the Medieval Fair this weekend. Lovely breakfasts, spotless room and the perfect hosts made this an absolutely fabulous stay. We certainly will be visiting again soon. Jean and Mike.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandyrnog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here - two couples who can't quite remember the blitz - whilst walking parts of the Shropshire Way. It may have been helped by the sunny weather so that we could take advantage of the outside patio for some evening refreshment. The breakfasts were lovely and the hosts Alan and Lyn, kindness itself. Its the sort of place that you might think about a return to the area just so that you could stay there again. Don't worry about which of the 3 rooms to choose because all of them have a lovely view towards the Long Mynd. Altogether a superb B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevandden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollingworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked at the Highlands after seeing the great reviews and we were not disappointed. The location is beautiful and if you are looking to get away from it all then this is the place. Apart from the beautiful house and the setting it is the hosts that made our stay so lovely. Alan and Lynn are fantastic and made us welcome from arriving at their door. Helped with our bags, made gorgeous breakfast and even added a candle to our sausage and sang happy birthday as we were celebrating on that particular weekend. They are friendly, warm and have fantastic personalities and fabulous sense of humour. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We were lucky enough to stay in the balcony room which was gorgeous. Lovely and roomy, spotlessly clean, beautiful bathroom and views to die for. We visited the local Indian on Alans recommendation and he was spot on. The food and service was super. Cannot praise Alan and Lynne enough. Thank you to you both for our lovely stay. We will take away some lovely memories. Sarah and Will

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahandwilliam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

People have said it all before but in a nutshell:
- Very clean and tidy with lovely beds and soft towels.
- Refrigerator in room
- Really good breakfasts.
- Tremendous views.
- Good advice re where to eat and walk
- Close to a lot of interesting places
- Lovely gardens and visiting birds.
- Lynn & Allan are caring and considerate hosts.

In short, worth every one of their six stars. Oops, only five stars allowed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Alan and Lynn are kind and thoughtful hosts who are keen to make your stay as pleasant as possible in every way. The location is good for touring the area. It is quiet and the beds are very comfortable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - you would not expect to get better than this in a 5 star hotel and is excellent value for money.
We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The balcony room, if available, is the one to book. It is spacious, quiet and comfortable with super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mervyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
0.9 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
241 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
744 reviews
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 22 in Church Stretton
197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mynd House Hotel
Mynd House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Stretton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Bed and Breakfast

Property: Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Address: Highlands Hazler Road, Church Stretton SY6 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Highlands Bed And Breakfast Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing