We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place we have ever stayed at.”
Review of Acton Scott Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acton Scott Farm
Ranked #13 of 22 Church Stretton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at this b&b for one night which was long enough, when we arrived the bedroom smelt musty & dirty. I know its an old house but the bedroom could still have had a decent carpet & furniture, the bed was so hard my husband & myself had to turn the mattress over & use the blankets (yes they still use old blankets!) to make the mattress a little softer to my back as the bed was so uncomfortable & as old as the hills. The breakfast was just as bad two small pieces of bacon, one burnt sausage & beans that you could count, one piece of toast each, when my husband asked if she did scrambled egg she said no. All in all it was a complete waste of money I wish we had booked some where else where they weren't so mean & miserly, certainly would not recommend.

Room Tip: No nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 138Annc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary J, Owner at Acton Scott Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

The opinions expressed in this vicious and damaging review are not shared by others guests who have stayed here in the past. Many are delighted with the accommodation and return again for further visits. However all comments are taken seriously and noted as it is always our intention to provide our guests with a good experience during their stay. As the guest making the review was not satisfied a complete refund of the amount paid has been made and a deep clean has been made of the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Made an on line booking at this B&B , as website says it takes dogs. After a couple of days,& not having received confirmation of the booking,my husband rang them.He was told they no longer take dogs,yes they had received our booking enquiry but as they no longer take dogs they hadn't replied!This was only 6 days before we wanted to visit so hasn't left much time for us to find alternative accommodation.
Very poor service leaving us disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank sadiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary J, Owner at Acton Scott Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2015

It is NOT possible to make an on line booking, as I only do availability so it could have only been an enquiry and I should have replied, but it was at a busy time lambing on a working farm, (as it was so close to the intended stay it may have been a good idea to telephone to check).
The website says Dogs by arrangement at the bottom, and has now been amended above to say sorry no dogs at present.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

If you're seeking guest accommodation with fluffy white towels, immaculate furnishings, wifi and total luxury, Acton Scott Farm will surely disappoint. Don't even think about booking because this isn't the place for you. But if you are yearning to stay on a genuine working farm, in a house that feels as though it might have been a stage set for The Darling Buds of May, with creaky floors, loo with a high level cistern complete with pull chain and a huge cast iron bath, then you're in for a treat. Mr & Mrs Jones are delightful hosts and I was made to feel like a long lost friend. Up early after a perfect night's sleep, I went for a walk along quiet nearby lanes - until Mrs Jones appeared from nowhere in a pickup and asked me to help out round up cattle that had got out overnight! I was delighted to lend a hand, though it turned out I wasn't needed in the end. Later as I was served a delicious breakfast it was lovely to be able to talk about the escapade as friends rather than as proprietor and paying guest. I'll definitely return, and next time take a special friend along who I know will fully appreciate what makes this B&B fully worthy of a five-blob rating from me!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank x333xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary J, Owner at Acton Scott Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We do have wifi you used it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Looking for a corporate style room in a bustling town with lots of noise and distractions? Then go somewhere else. Looking for a quaint, friendly and restful place to just enjoy the experience of a working farm with perfectly nice accommodation and peace and quite, with a delicious tradition breakfast that is a easy drive to a choice of restaurants and tourist attractions, the you could do a lot worse than this. Really nice and great value. Also some nice bird life to enjoy from the bedroom window. A great little find - well pleased

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreenockLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary J, Owner at Acton Scott Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Thank you for your review, an d you were well pleased,we are what we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I was only looking for quite place to sleep between business meetings but found a real jewel here. Lovely authentic working farm. The service was excellent preparing a special diet breakfast.
Hope i have to do more work in the area so I will have chance to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kibbutznik_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary J, Owner at Acton Scott Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2015

Thank you for your comments, we hope that you have to do more work in the area and will have a chance to come back too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My partner and I have been here twice now, and both times have been fantastic. It really is a little home away from home in a quiet yet humble part of Shropshire.
The owners Mary and Edward are very accommodating, welcoming and hardworking - they greet you with a smile every morning and nothing is too much trouble.
The accommodation is what you can expect from a 15th Century farmhouse. It boasts a stunning garden, great achitechture and a quiet setting for a peaceful stay.
The room in which was stayed has a double bed and a colour TV. Tea making facilities are available in the room, which are replenished every day. The bed is also very comfortable.
The bathroom is down a little hallway which was our own private bathroom. It's so nice to relax in the bath and just listen to all of the farm animals.
The breakfasts are to die for. Never have we had such a lovley cooked breakfast [which is sourced locally from local butchers] on any of our weekends away.
There is plenty to do in the local area. Since it's in the Shropshire countryside, there are plenty of walks to do. The working farm is litterally next door.
Very nice places to eat in Church Stretton, Little Stretton and Ludlow.
For a three night stay it was £29 per person - which is more than just value for money - it's an absolute bargain!

Room Tip: The Floral room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary J, Owner at Acton Scott Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you we enjoyed having you to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I had booked a day's course at Acton Scott Working Farm museum. This place was really convenient as it is next door to the farm museum so I was able to get there easily the next morning. We paid £30 each for bed and breakfast. I felt that I had stepped back in time as the place reminded me of the bed and breakfast places, as a child, we had stopped at. Our bathroom and toilet were down a little corridor with the sort of bath and toilet that was in keeping with the property. There were blankets on the bed so if you prefer duvets then I think you will have to ask. There was a small television in the room so we thought this meant that the lounge was private. We went looking around for places to find a meal and found a kebab take away. The other places appeared to be pricey for what they were offering and not all were open.
The breakfast was a cooked breakfast using local sausage and bacon.
The next nearest accommodation would be a few miles away which would not have been as convenient.
It was an experience which fitted in with our visit and fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tightwads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary J, Owner at Acton Scott Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

The other rooms are en-suite your room was in its own wing of the house, televisions are in the bedrooms as not every body likes to watch the same channel/show and the lounge is shared with other guests, advise about eating places is given and we can always give you more information depending on what you are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Church Stretton hotels
2.1 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
251 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
249 reviews
2.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 22 in Church Stretton
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#14 of 22 in Church Stretton
117 reviews
4.0 mi away
Field House Guest House
Field House Guest House
#1 of 1 in Cardington
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acton Scott Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acton Scott Farm

Address: Acton Scott, Church Stretton SY6 6QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Hotel Class:3 star — Acton Scott Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr and Mrs Jones at Acton Scott farmhouse offer you a warm, friendly welcome for bed and breakfast on a working farm, covering approx 120 hectares. The 15th century traditional style farmhouse is of stone and inside original, exposed beams give it much character. Based in the small village of Acton Scott where the television series "Victorian Farm" and "Escape in Time" was filmed, just under a mile from the main road. This is the A49, from Shrewsbury to Hereford; yet it enjoys all the benefits of being in the heart of lovely, quiet country, an area of outstanding natural beauty. Acton Scott is an excellent place for exploring, cycling and walking - with footpaths leading out of the farmyard. To the North, three miles away is the Victorian spa town of Church Stretton and to the South is wooded Wenlock Edge at a similar distance. Sorry NO Dogs at present. Why not try the Acton Scott Farm Walk taking you through farmland with beautiful views of the South Shropshire countryside ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acton Scott Farm Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing