We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay in the Shropshire Hills!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

BA6979
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay in the Shropshire Hills!”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Upon meeting with Sam, the owner, you are made to feel so very welcome to Middle Farm Cottages. We stayed in Gooseyard, a cosy self catering cottage for two, decorated in just the right style (country cottage), 'everything' is thought of for you to use during your stay! During your stay you get to meet a flock of chickens, sheep and Sam's special selection of pigs! Middle Farm Cottages is a place to escape to, in beautiful countryside, not far from the Welsh border and in general an area to enjoy the slower pace of life. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and may we wish Sam & her family continued success with the holiday let business. We'll be back and certainly book a stay in Gooseyard Cottage again!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, accommodation, the friendliness of the owner and the seeing the animals on the farm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Oh, you are very kind to write such words. It was lovely to meet you both and thank you so much for taking the time to put your experience on Trip Advisor. I wish you all the best in the future and hope very much that we'll see you back at the farm some day. Thank you again. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suepee201...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Barn exceeded expectations. It is a beautiful barn conversion that provides spacious and comfortable accommodation with real touches of luxury in the furnishings and decoration. We wanted for nothing and Sam ( the owner) couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Go! You won't regret it.

Date of stay: January 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Oh my goodness, I've just seen this. Thank you so much and a true pleasure to have welcomed you to the farm. Many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy0012
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful location and a fantastic stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed in 'The Barn' as a group of 6 (3 couples) over New Year 2015/16. The Barn is a fantastic size for a cosy, yet comfortable break in the countryside. It is really nicely decorated, beds are really comfortable and is generally very well equipped for everything you could need.

Sam was a great host and the produce from the farm delicious - was lovely to see the baby piglets and the beautiful Shire horses that are kept next door!

As many have said, Middle Farm is not far away from some beautiful walks - we would recommend walking over Long Mynd (followed by lunch at Jemima's Kitchen in Church Stretton!)

Definitely worth picking up supplies before arriving if you intend to cook in The Barn as it is a little way to the local Sainsburys (Shrewsbury) and Co-Op (Church Stretton)

Overall a fantastic stay and break from the city!

Date of stay: December 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Hugh thanks for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you all over the New Year and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you again for writing and all the best for 2016! Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelwit...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Daisy's Place for a week over New Year and couldn't have asked for a better escape from London life. The cottage was beautifully presented with more than enough space for two people and very well-equipped for any self-catering you might want to do. Sam's sausages, bacon and eggs were delicious and come highly recommended - only wish we could get hold of them in London.

As others have said, the location is stunning - just a couple of minutes drive from Long Mynd and within easy reach of Church Stretton and plenty of good walking and pubs. We'll certainly be back another time and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you Sam and Duncan!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you and we're delighted that you had such a good stay especially over the holiday break. We will, of course, be delighted to welcome you back any time! Thanks again. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek_Eyn...
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, very homely and beautifully done”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Six of us, three couples, stayed the weekend 14-17 November in Barn Cottage, the largest one. The accommodation was beautifully created, all exposed beams and mood lighting.

We cooked extensively, and found the kitchen well equipped, including razor sharp knives (a rarity in holiday cottages) .

The location is remote, be warned, it's a long 4 miles to Church Stretton, and the road is narrow. Church Stretton is a nice little place, with some interesting antique shops, several places to eat, and a HUGE Co Op supermarket.

All the bedrooms were warm and comfortable, and all six people were very happy with it.

Some people have commented on Wi Fi and mobile reception. Our O2 mobiles had reception from time to time indoors, OK outdoors. The Wi Fi is affected by thick walls IMHO in Barn Cottage, and was patchy.

The hosts were very helpful and personable, and top bacon and eggs!

Date of stay: November 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write. It was lovely to meet you all and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Wishing you all the best and thanks again. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A42
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Barn, piggies and pork!”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barn for just 3 nights on a very wet November weekend. Middle Farm is a lovely place in a beautiful part of the world. Very remote so sat Nav and designated drivers are a must. The barn is clean, cosy and very well fitted out. Original beams, a very good bath and shower and a small but well equipped kitchen for self catering. The welcome Rock cakes and great filter coffee were a really nice touch.
It was lovely being able to wander around the farm and visit the happy free range animals. And to sample their gorgeous eggs and meat. I'm a committed veggie and was almost tempted to try the sausages... And needless to say we now have a freezer full of pork for Christmas! The owners were really friendly and helpful with plenty of suggestions as to what to do in the area. Highly recommend the bridge pub for amazing food and roaring log fire. Was hard to drag ourselves away but despite the rain there is a lot of nice walks in the area so we thought we better had! We'd love to come back in the summer (or in midwinter for the snow)
It's true that there is no mobile phone reception and virtually no wifi but this is a place to come to escape for a while. If these things matter to you and you really can't do without for a few days then maybe give Middle Farm a miss. But we would otherwise highly recommend

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you all during your stay and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the break away (despite the weather!). Hope to see you again one day. All the best. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely....but...”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Daisy’s Place this summer for a week.

The location is lovely and very rural. The accommodation is set around two sides of a tarmacked farmyard. The owner’s home is in the centre. On one side, attached to the owner’s house, is Daisy’s Place and then Gooseyard. On the other is the owners car port (more of which later) and The Barn.

The conversion and furnishing has been carried out very skilfully, and the cottage was very comfortable. The owners should be congratulated on this. Daisy’s place (and Gooseyard) are compact rather than spacious, but ample for a holiday for two. The rental tariff is competitive. We did not have a lot of contact with the owners, but they were helpful when we did. When we asked about buying pork there was none available as it had all been taken by local restaurants. I could not get any mobile phone signal in the property (on EE).

My main issue with the property, as pointed out by another reviewer, is that it does not have Wifi. This was not what I expected, and I would probably have stayed elsewhere if I had known. The owner’s website says that ‘Wifi is available from the main house’. However when we arrived, the instruction folder in the property said;

‘The signal can be very weak so we recommend that a signal be attained firstly under the carport in the corner of the farm courtyard. The hub is in my study which is in that corner! Once gained the signal can often be taken back to the cottages.’

This procedure did not work. We could not get a signal in the property on a smartphone or a tablet. Our neighbour in Gooseyard could not get a signal on a laptop.

The statement on the website is accurate but very misleading. Wifi was available from the main house, but only if I went outside the cottage and stood in the corner of the farmyard by the owner’s house. Alternatively I could sit on a bench under their carport (with the rubbish bins and the owner’s detritus). The Wifi statement on the website should be qualified to ensure that no one is misled in future, or the signal boosted so it can be obtained in the cottages. Given all the hard work the owners have put into the properties, I am at a loss to understand why they have not already done this as it should not be difficult.

Apart from the Wifi issue I would have no hesitation in recommending the property.

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.