We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place !”
other travellers have booked this property
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
210 reviews
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection
Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Bedroom area feels separate from rest of the lodge
Kitchen units, large sink and Smeg fridge
Oak table and comfortable leather sofa in the lounge area
The Hobbit stove in gorgeous gun metal finish gives real ambience (free logs and kindling)
Hot tub with colour changing LED lights, waterfall and jets
Outdoor bbq and Indian firepit with views to the town
Entrance and deck area is completely private from the main house
The town and hills are enchanting when the clouds descend
Burway Hill beyond the town from outside the lodge
Enjoying the fireworks over town from the firepit area
Floor plan
The sun setting beautifully to silhouette Burway Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 210 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Headingto...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely place !”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at the Larches for 4 nights in July 2013 and had a great stay. I have to say that when we arrived, I was quite surprised at how close the cabin is to the main house, but this wasn’t an issue (although the owners have young kids, they are apparently under strict instructions not to bother people staying in the cabin !) . The cabin itself is very comfortable and spacious, and it feels like the owners have thought of everything that you would need, and have not skimped on the fixtures and fittings. I particularly liked the decent-sized widescreen TV and the wifi was good as well. We had actually planned to eat out all the time we were in Church Stretton, but the weather was so nice that several times we just loaded up on booze and nibbles from the supermarket and sat out on our balcony !

I have to say that the countryside round The Larches is fantastic. We did a couple of really nice walks up over Long Mynd and Ragleth Hill and drove over to Much Wenlock, which is a pretty little village.

Would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy C
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cabin in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had an absolutely lovely time at The Larches and would love to return someday. Not having any access to a car for our 8 day stay, we can honestly say that the location is perfectly suitable for those without a car. It is an incredibly short walk into town, the train station and the beautiful Carding Mill Valley which you can see from the windows and the balcony. We never ran out of things to do! Sara and Mark were very welcoming and accessible throughout the holiday. Despite the close proximity of the cabin to their house, which at first was a bit daunting, as soon as we walked round to the entrance of the cabin we realised it was in fact very private and comfortable. All of the facilities worked brilliantly and the cabin was very cosy and homely. We miss it very much!! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! It's very hard to pick one thing about this lovely cabin.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very friendly hosts and total privacy.
Liked least: Could have done with a fan as we went in summer and it was very hot at night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very easy ti find and very very clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancashir...
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“THE LARCHES - WOW !!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful 3 day break at The Larches, the cabin was supurb and very well equiped with magnificent views over the valley. Sara and Mark were non intrusive but available for help, if needed. I'm sure we will return in the future to this wonderful cabin in a lovely part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful location and facilities.
Liked least: Booking through the American booking agency, we almost gave up!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
emmi_xx
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect weekend!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We were greeted by the lovely Don and Margaret who where very helpful and pleasant, they were very approachable and told us to contact them with any queries. However the cabin was so perfect, everything we needed was there.
The cabin is beautiful and very homely, the views of Church Stretton and the hills were magical especially partnered with the lovely bottle of wine that was waiting for us.
The area is beautiful and we spent many hours walking, Carding Mill Valley and Stiperstones are a must see!
Carding Mill Valley was only a short walk from the cabin and Stiperstones was a short drive with fantastic views !
Church Stretton has lovely coffee shops and restaurants that are only a 10 minute walk away making it easy to enjoy evenings out.
Overall it was the perfect weekend and I would recommend it to anyone who fancies a lovely break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charming cabin and beautiful surroundings
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing