We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway and Birthday present”
other travellers have booked this property
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
207 reviews
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection
Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Bedroom area feels separate from rest of the lodge
Kitchen units, large sink and Smeg fridge
Oak table and comfortable leather sofa in the lounge area
The Hobbit stove in gorgeous gun metal finish gives real ambience (free logs and kindling)
Hot tub with colour changing LED lights, waterfall and jets
Outdoor bbq and Indian firepit with views to the town
Entrance and deck area is completely private from the main house
The town and hills are enchanting when the clouds descend
Burway Hill beyond the town from outside the lodge
Enjoying the fireworks over town from the firepit area
Floor plan
The sun setting beautifully to silhouette Burway Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 207 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jess19921...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway and Birthday present”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I booked 3 nights at The Larches mid January for my boyfriends 25th Birthday. We are a young couple who enjoy travelling and live in a city center and this provided us with the prefect little getaway.
Sara met us on our arrival, she explained everything we needed to know and made us feel extremely welcome.The cabin was so beautiful and had everything we could have asked for and much more. We had planned to go out most nights for dinner but we ended up cooking in the cabin with a bottle of wine instead as we loved it so much. It was warm despite the cold weather and we even had the option of sitting outside under a heater to take advantage of the view.

My parents live close by and despite growing up in this area Sara informed us about plenty of things we could see and do which I hadn't done before. We enjoyed exploring the hill walks and pubs close by.

The only negative part was the fact we couldn't stay longer due to work commitments. We hope to return in the near future and enjoy some summer nights out on the balcony. This is great value for money and would recommend it to anyone looking for a walking or relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JNorthWal...
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Views - perfect location”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just returned from our weekend break at The Larches. The lodge has lovely views by virtue it is up a hill, but the rise is a short distance and an easy walk into town. We never used our car. Our host, Sara was charming & friendly. Lots to see and we spent all day Saturday exploring and enjoying the scenery. Unfortunately, I slipped and fell on an icy patch crossing a road into town - sprained ankle ouch! Only able to hobble, no more walking and we left a day early. If we return, it will be in warmer weather - the lodge balcony looked the perfect place to sit and relax. Thank you Sara for the wine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfectly placed location and views
Liked least: Heating set a little low for this time of year (Lodge very spacious
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal break”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed at The Larches for a short break after a busy Christmas period work wise. We were greeted by Sara, who was very informative about the area and made us feel very welcome. We did not need to bother Sara while we were there, but I think she would have been so approachable if need be. The Larches is very private with beautiful views. Although it was early Jan we still managed to sit on the balcony one evening, taking in the views of Church Stretton whilst drinking a bottle of wine (courtesy of our hosts- thank you). With the lighting and heating of the decking we also found it very sheltered. The Larches had everything you could ask for...including the huge comfy bed, comfy sofa, and all were exceptionally clean! Keep up the good work Sara... we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyB1...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous getaway - couldn't have asked for more!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My husband and I took a short break to wind down after the Christmas holiday season. We really couldn't have asked for more. The location gives the perfect balance of rural areas with a lovely village meaning we could combine long and hilly walks with dining out at quality venues.

The cabin itself is perfect for a couple. We loved the open plan layout and the finer details that are offered (the high quality fixtures and fittings, mood lighting on the decking, a bottle of wine on arrival etc) make it a very special experience. The owners go out of their way to give the very best in excellent service - far beyond anything we expected.

Even though the cabin is located quite close to the main house, don't let this put you off. It is cleverly designed to give you complete seclusion and great views of the surrounding hills. We had all the privacy we needed for a romantic break.

We are looking forward to going back again later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
Ripponden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a Shropshire getaway”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Location: Very good location near Church Stretton centre and access to other places in Shropshire. Very nice views. Access to the chalet is up a hill. Felt a bit awkward with the proximity to the house but this can't be helped and isn't particularly a problem as the owners are very friendly.

Chalet: Absolutely gorgeous chalet with all the amenities to make it a 'home from home.' Very modern and well thought out in terms of space. Was spotlessly clean and tidy. The bed is very comfortable and large. Shower is powerful and warm. Chalet can be made pitch black at night if need be, and outside noise is a bare minimum. Only problem was the loud ticking radiator which can't be turned off. Unfortunately this drove me mad and meant I got very little sleep. Owner was very hospitable and got me some ear plugs; despite this (and securing them with plasters, and wearing a turbie towel and a hat!) I could still hear it as it's next to the bed. Without that darn radiator ticking away, the chalet would be completely faultless.

Service: I feel bad mentioning the ticking as the owners are so helpful and friendly, the kind of neighbours everyone hopes for! But I know some people would appreciate a 'heads up' about it. We never felt imposed upon and know they'd go above and beyond if needed be. Lovely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
Thanks for being lovely guests and for your constructive feedback. We always try and act on any feedback we get and wanted to let you both know we now have a fence to increase the separation from the house and Mark has fitted some Sonic Gold (soundproofing) to dampen any noise from the storage heater.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jan 2014
Thanks Julie and lovely to meet you. Just to update those reading the adjacent review that the source of the ticking on the storage heater has been completely removed and replaced with a silent electronic timer. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nissan350...
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We had a fantastic break at Church Stretton and so lucky that we found a such beautiful, cosy place(The Larches) to chill for a few days. The owner Sara was very welcoming and helpful. The cabin was warm, cosy and spotless.would come again . Many thanks roy and Gail

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing