We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Accommodation and Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
201 reviews
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection
Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Bedroom area feels separate from rest of the lodge
Kitchen units, large sink and Smeg fridge
Oak table and comfortable leather sofa in the lounge area
The Hobbit stove in gorgeous gun metal finish gives real ambience (free logs and kindling)
Hot tub with colour changing LED lights, waterfall and jets
Outdoor bbq and Indian firepit with views to the town
Entrance and deck area is completely private from the main house
The town and hills are enchanting when the clouds descend
Burway Hill beyond the town from outside the lodge
Enjoying the fireworks over town from the firepit area
Floor plan
The sun setting beautifully to silhouette Burway Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 201 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew G
1 review
“Perfect Accommodation and Location”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had a fabulous weekend break in this lovely cosy cabin. It is perfectly equipped - the log-burner is brilliant! Great location with wonderful views and only 5 minutes walk from Church Stretton which has some great pubs and restaurants. We will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie F
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We wanted somewhere we could just get away for the weekend and relax, reading our books and going for walks in the countryside. The Larches ticked all these boxes. The log cabin is well equipped and it was nice being able to walk into Church Stretton to go to the pub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomjh2015
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“FANTASTIC LOG CABIN IN IDYLLIC PLACE”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife and I stayed here for a week in mid-October. Our reason for choosing the Larches was based on apparent quality and the location. We were not disappointed. The cabin provided everything we needed for our weeks stay. It consisted of one large space which has been divided into functional blocks. The kitchen was equipped with everything one needs enabling to eat in every night if so desired. Or, as we did, a mixture of eating in and sampling the excellent eating establishments close by. The bedroom area consisted of a large comfortable bed with bedside tables on each side. In the lounge area, there was a large settee with a wall mounted flat panel TV, DVD, digital radio. There was also a supply of DVDs and traditional board games, enough to provide entertainment on an autumn evening if one did not want to venture out! Finally, a separate enclosed area houses the shower, wash basin and WC. There is plenty of storage for clothes, food etc. Externally there is a veranda area with chairs and table together with led mood lighting.

The location was also spot on, with lovely views over the village of Church Stretton and across to the Long Mynd, and to the back is Ragleth Hill. An added advantage of Church Stretton is the railway station, which is a short walk from the Larches. This enables trips further afield without the car, which always makes a welcome change.

This excellent location enabled us to undertake a number of circular walks, including over Ragleth Hill to Little Stretton where The Green Dragon provided an excellent stop for lunch, before continuing back to Church Stretton. Another excellent walk is to start in Little Stretton then follow the stream up Ashbrook Valley to Pole Bank then along part of the Shropshire Way passing the Shooting Box before descending via Carding Mill Valley to Church Stretton. Our final walk was out to Cardington. Here we had hoped to stop for a lunch at the pub in the village, but found that it was shut on Mondays. Luckily we had brought some supplies, so had sufficient energy for the return leg! Other places to eat are The Bucks Head and the excellent Housman’s both in Church Stretton. In addition to the great walking we managed day trips to Shrewsbury (by train), Much Wenlock and Bridgenorth.

The hosts Sara and Mark were excellent and even provided a welcoming bottle of Prosecco, which was most welcome. If we return to Church Stretton, we would definitely stay at the Larches again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the log cabin.
Liked least: The slope of the drive after a lond walk.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location, Fabulous Views, Cosy Romantic Cabin, Lovely Warm Welcome!”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I enjoyed a fantastic 3 night break in this beautiful little cabin in the delightful village of Church Stretton, which has wonderful walks right on your doorstep. The views from the cabin were fabulous, with heated, decked balcony area complete with multi coloured, remote control mood lighting for romantic evenings 'al fresco' with a glass of wine.
What a warm and friendly welcome from lovely host, Sara, who surprised us with a chilled bottle of Prosecco on our arrival! Although located in the grounds of their own property, Sara and Mark have taken pains to arrange the accommodation and access to it in a way which ensures guests' privacy.
I have to comment on the comfort of the bed, which had a fantastic firm mattress and must have been of the highest quality as I am so fussy about beds and this was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and huge to boot!
The village itself has everything you need in terms of cafes, pubs, restaurants, antiques shops and a good sized and well stocked Co Op for food shopping.
The countryside in the immediate vicinity is spectacular with Long Mynd, Carding Mill Valley and the Shropshire Hills to enjoy, but this is also a perfect base for exploring further afield. We visited Ludlow, Ironbridge and Bridgnorth during our stay.
We absolutely loved it here and cannot wait to come back and stay again. I would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday rental to other visitors. It was above all peaceful, beautiful, romantic and a perfect place to get away from it all and recharge your batteries.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Judith
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Chalet”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed last year and the Chalet has been maintained to the same high standard this summer Sarah and the family are delightful people and nothing is too much trouble for them to attend to should the need arise. We love CHURCH STRETTON as there are many walks in the area and also places of interest to visit We hope to return again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The natural setting of the Chalet and the Decking area
Liked least: No cushions on the Sofa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenrevi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Away from it all”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We've just returned from the Larches and enjoyed a very good short break despite rain most days! Sara and Mark have really put the effort in and the cabin is comfy and very well appointed. The bed is particularly spacious; it's quite firm but comfortable. We were able to cater in when we wanted to as the fridge is large and all appliances work well. There's a terrific deli (Van Doesburg's) and a large Co-op (open 7am-10pm) in the centre of Church Stretton, which is only a 10-15 min walk (depending on speed). It's worth taking a torch/mobile light in the evening as some of the cut-through alleyways can be dark, as well as the last 100ft of steep private drive from Watling Street to the property. However, once you reach the grounds there's helpful touch control lighting set up, leading to the log cabin.

In Church Stretton we'd highly recommend Jaipur (one of the best Indian restaurants we've experienced) and the Housemans restaurant. Nearby there are lots of National Trust places, interesting villages and pubs, great walking and views. The wonderful towns of Ludlow and Shrewsbury are on the doorstep.

Not to be missed are:
Carding Mill Valley - we did the very pretty stream side walk leading to waterfall. We visited after days of rain and the ground was amazingly mostly dry.
St Chad's church in Shrewsbury (spectacular stained glass) and Shrewsbury Park which is across the road (the dingle is simply stunning).

We hope to return, but dates at the cabin disappear quickly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
974gillig...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for five nights.On arrival we were greeted by Sarah and her lovely cat and shown to The Larches. Sarah even carried my bags, now that is what I call service! We were shown how everything worked. The Larches is in a lovely setting .I expected to walk down the main road into Church Stretton but there were paths cutting through so not far at all. Church Stretton is a lovely place and the people are very friendly.The Long Mynd is beautiful and if you go to All Stretton and up the lane signposted "Village Hall" you will come to a large parking area with lovely walks.Visit the Yew Tree pub and see the landlord in his sarong..read the reviews!! The Larches is a lovely comfortable base to see a beautiful part of our English countryside.We will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing