We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just the job”
other travellers have booked this property
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
201 reviews
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection
Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Bedroom area feels separate from rest of the lodge
Kitchen units, large sink and Smeg fridge
Oak table and comfortable leather sofa in the lounge area
The Hobbit stove in gorgeous gun metal finish gives real ambience (free logs and kindling)
Hot tub with colour changing LED lights, waterfall and jets
Outdoor bbq and Indian firepit with views to the town
Entrance and deck area is completely private from the main house
The town and hills are enchanting when the clouds descend
Burway Hill beyond the town from outside the lodge
Enjoying the fireworks over town from the firepit area
Floor plan
The sun setting beautifully to silhouette Burway Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 201 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the job”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

To be clear - we live in the Yorks Dales - fabulous home, garden, views, walks, pubs, people. We expect a lot if we are to be enticed away. The Larches managed to enchant us.
Read Sara's description - it is spot on. Remember, it's one room + bathroom. And if you have a few cases it's a bit of a trek from the car. Also, after 15 miles of superb walking, it's a long climb up the drive. Maybe not for everyone. VERY high quality throughout and if you have good weather, it's close to paradise.
Not impressed by hot tubs, but if you're not too bothered about global warming, it is probably even more paradisical (?). There's an adjoining cabin, and we expect to go back with family. A fabulous 4 days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasj490
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal place to stay in Church Stretton”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We really recommend 'The Larches': an excellent base to explore the Shropshire Hills. We arrived by train and it's just 10 minutes walk from the station but once you're in the cabin it feels like you're in the heart of the countryside with trees around and fabulous views of the hills. We had cold weather for our stay but The Larches is lovely and warm and had everything we needed for a lovely holiday. Thank you very much to Sara and Mark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Liked least: Pillows (but I never like the pillows when I'm away!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100kelvin
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 Star Log Luxury”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A great experience with fantastic helpful hosts. 5 star luxury in a log cabin with every modern convenience you could require.
A great place to spend some time and forget the stress of life. We will definitely return but may have to book early as we can see this location becoming very popular indeed.
Thanks to Sara and Mark and good luck with your future projects.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quite
Liked least: Nothing it was all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepopeof...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We loved this place, perfect for a quiet break. The cabin is immaculate and has everything you need. Really cozy at night with the stove lit, or sitting out on the terrace with the heat lamp on. Lovely waking up in the morning to the views of the Shropshire hills! Only about 10 minutes walk from the station or the centre of town so handy for the shops and pubs. It is situated in the grounds of the owner's house but is totally private. Great little place we'll definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark o
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even better second time round”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

With the new hot tub and other added extras our stay our second stay was more memorable than the first. The tub really was an unexpected bonus. Recommended! Hosts very friendly and helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyB1...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One of our favourite places in the world”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We returned to the Larches for the third time and the place just gets better and better. There is now a lovely wood burner which makes the evenings cosy and romantic. Sara & Mark are wonderful hosts and always take great care of us. We love that we can be walking in snow top hills one day or browsing the shops in Church Stretton and having tapas the next. Everything is in walking distance. We will be back there as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The new wood burning stove
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Larches is a great place to stay. The location is great for local walks and cycling in the Shropshire hills and you can stroll into Church Stretton for a nice meal or drinks in just 10 minutes. Very comfortable accommodation with some nice individual touches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing