We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, old fashioned comfort”
Review of The Longmynd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Longmynd
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Reviewed 13 March 2012

After a false start and 2 room changes (loo wasn't working in one) we were upgraded to a suite and this was great. Big bathroom, own sitting room and bedroom, very comfy indeed. We would pay the extra for a suite next time, well worth it for the space. Hotel looks tired outside, but lovely lovely location, and very friendly helpful staff. Restaurant was excellent on each of the 3 nights. Food was beautifully presented and each of our choices was interesting and tasty, without being whacky! Breakfast was substantial and all food served really hot and freshly prepared. And free wifi was a welcome bonus. Very nice stay. The dinner bed and breakfast deal was great value.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were part of a group of over 90 people (and numerous dogs) staying at the Longmynd to celebrate my father's 70th birthday. We had two rooms for my family - both an excellent size and well equipped. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating throughout our stay - the food was excellent and the service faultless especially for such a large party.

The setting for the hotel is stunning and it is an ideal location for the walking we enjoyed each day.

Like other recent reviews, my only complaint was the internal temperature of the hotel - which required us to switch all the radiators off and open our windows (even though it was snowing outside) in order to ensure a comfortable night's sleep.

I would definately stay at the Longmynd again.

Room Tip: The hotel is very warm - try to avoid rooms near the internal chimney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 135out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We had two days at the hotel as a base for walking the surrounding hills.Our room was spacious,clean and well appointed and had a good view.The breakfasts were good,we had a nice a la carte dinner the first night but were obliged to eat from an Italian buffet on the second.All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the service was excellent throughout.The hotel is family and dog friendly,very comfortable- but was a bit too warm during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for a long weekend at the hotel as part of a large group of nearly 90 friends for a birthday celebration. Our adequately sized room was clean with a wonderful view.Unfortunately our bed had a very creaky mattress but was comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was small with the narrowest shower I have ever seen (set across one corner of the room. The hotel is proud of its green credentials which include a biomass boiler, which , in our opinion, needed stoking less regularly as the whole hotel was way too hot even when it was snowing outside.All of the staff were attentive and helpful at all times and smartly dressed. Special praise must be given to the chef and his team who provided great food throughout our stay and managed to serve our large party with little fuss. I would stay at the Longmynd again

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarmerGoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Having read some of the previous reviews I was a liitle concerned so I contacted the hotel for an assurance that all would be well, especially as this was a new Year break with friends. The manager I sopke to Mark McNicoll was proffesionalism personified, he invited us to visit the hotel in advance to ensure the rooms were up to standard. We have previously dined at the Hotel on several occasions so had no issue with the food or service. Mark showed us several rooms and we also asked to see others he had not selected so the choice was random and not pre-empted by the hotel. All the rooms passed the test. they were clean, roomy and had excellent sized bathrooms. The stay proved to be enjoyable with an very good dinner menu and a Jazz band and seperate disco providing a nice choice of after dinner entertainment. Breakfast for me was not an issue but I am aware that several people did moan about the delay in servicing the buffet. The hotel is an old building with history in a wonderful part of Shropshire and is well worth a visit and stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolverhamptonRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed as part of a large choir group of 60+ people. They were mostly efficient whilst checking us in, but unfortunitley we were not on their list...! Always happens when part of a group, so won't be too negative about the experience. Eventualy we were placed in room 4 (1st floor facing the valley). Lovely views. They had arranged our dinner to be mid afternoon, and the food was delicious. Breakfast was nice, with choice of cooked and yoghurts and cerials.
Hotel is a little dated, but we recieved a warm (very very very hot..!) welcome from the staff.

Room Tip: Open your windows when you arrive, it is so hot in every room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caaatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We decided to re-visit this hotel for the 2nd time, even though our first trip was less than entirely satisfactory, because of its location and that we were only staying for 1 night. This time, we had a suite rather than a room and were impressed. A super-king sized 4 poster bed, separate sitting room and a lovely bathroom, all recently re-furbished. Beautifully clean and ample hanging/drawer space. As before, the staff were attentive without being intrusive, the location is superb and the food excellent.

Small things could still be improved (uplighters capture too much light from the new low energy bulbs, insufficient light at the dressing table, had to take a chair from the sitting room to the bedroom dressing table) but, overall, this was a good experience. We've had worse from much more expensive places.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room away from the side of the building where the kitche is situated. The air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welcomehost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
8.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
797 reviews
15.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
11.3 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
467 reviews
12.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,175 reviews
12.8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longmynd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longmynd

Address: Cunnery Road, Church Stretton SY6 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Price Range: £102 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longmynd 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longmynd dates from the early 1900s and originally attracted Edwardian visitors to the 'Little Switzerland' of Church Stretton. With a magnificent hill-top location, there are panoramic views of the surrounding hills from the dining room and our lounges. Today the Longmynd has been extensively modernised to suit the needs of visitors. We offer spacious bedrooms, fabulous food and spacious lounges to relax in. Our extensive gardens and woodland walk are both relaxing places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Longmynd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longmynd Hotel Church Stretton
Hotel Longmynd
The Longmynd Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing