We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Longmynd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Longmynd
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We enjoyed a family lunch on Sunday for 11 adults in the restaurant. Service was excellent from the booking right through to our departure, all the staff were polite and courteous.
The meal was tasty, well presented and well priced . After lunch we retired to the bar/lounge for coffee and sat very comfortably chatting, enjoy our time together in such peaceful and relaxing surroundings. Thank you very much and we look forward to our next visit.

The refurbishment of the hotel has been tastefully carried out and is a much more welcoming venue than in the past.

Room Tip: We only visited for lunch as we are all local to the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We booked for 8 nights. We hoped to repeat a lovely holiday taken there under previous management. They are not now interested in individual guests. We did not realize that not being part of a group meant we had to eat in a separate dining room with minimal service. Meals constantly disturbed by walkers going past our table to their own dining room, where there were several members of staff in attendance. On the 3rd morning I had to walk out to reception to ask if someone could serve us. We were brought a pot of tea, but I had to ask for cups and milk! It would have been difficult for them to show less care or interest. Reception staff were apologetic, but all priorities were for those who wore jeans and hiking boots and had booked as part of an organised party through HF Holidays, who, it seems, now run the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adele-Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, HF Holidays Ltd at The Longmynd, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post the review regarding your stay with us in September. We always appreciate receiving feedback, so that we can monitor the service we provide. I was extremely disappointed to hear of your recent stay not meeting your previous expectations.

The hotel is now operated by HF Holidays, however all our guests are important to us whether they are on an HF Holidays guest or an individual guest. Over the past few months we have been working hard to continue to improve our service, yet still making it available at a reliable price to all of our customers. On this occasion we do not seem to have met your expectations for which I can only apologise.

Sarah Davis, Research & Development Manager, HF Holidays Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed for three nights as part of a group. Tired is not the word for the place - unimproved, dated and just plain worn out are more apt - what little Victorian charm the building once had seems to have been painted over in the 1960s and left ever since. I stayed once before and the place was faded then, plus the lack of service and rudeness from the supposed owners' family and their "manageress" was simply Joyless - I thought that the departure of the "family" would open the place up to at least the comforts of the 1970s, but apart from some lovely members of staff (all young and Eastern European) the older staff seem to continue to treat guests as an unwelcome distraction. Apparently the staff conditions are worse - one of the floor staff told me that they were subjected to 3am room inspections and rationed access to bathrooms. It is a shame, however this place seems to combine the worst from the 1950s along with a Ryanair attitude to guests, despite the monarcal "family" being disposed of. Amazing - I said to my partner that "I am only coming back here because it couldn't be worse than last time". Well, it was and unless you are so old or impaired that you have no connection with your senses (a lot of guests do fall into this group) stay away - dated is fine, but here you are made to feel so unwelcome that I am amazed that anyone stays beyond the lock-in of their pre paid Daily Mirror voucher. AVOID AVOID AVOID. Get your money back through your credit card co - the brochure says "hotel", this is "stalag" !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Des W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel has some history as it was built in 1901, although the hotel has been modernised you can still find bell buttons used in an earlier age. Situated on the lower slopes of the valley it is surrounded by trees which does reduce the views, unless you happen to be on the top floor.

I went with a walking group of 23 and we all seemed to have a variation in bedroom sizes and en suite facilities, mine was a nice size room facing the front so not much to see. The en suite was a triangular bit which was all right for me but somebody else with ample proportions might struggle in the shower.

The Restaurant was at the back which got plenty of sunshine so could be a bit too warm at times. In the main the quality of food was very good, and they provided an ample packed lunch with plenty of items to choose for eating on our rambles.

One bonus is that they had a heated pool which was ideal after a long walk. The pool was 1 metre deep to start with and 3 metres deep at the other end which made the swimming area smaller than it looked. This area could do with some refurbishment and looked a bit Spartan; a few more flowers would help. On the plus side they had changing rooms and shower facility.

The staff were friendly and attentive, I had a fluorescent light flashing which was a dealt with promptly.

On the whole I would recommend staying here, bearing in mind that the Hotel is over 100 years old it certainly has character in my opinion.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just returned from 2 nights stay at this very good hotel
Although the has now been taken over predominantly for groups of walkers, we found that we were not treated as second class guests, all the staff went out of their way to accommodate our requests.
We booked dinner bed and breakfast, the breakfast was a Shropshire cooked or continental or combination of both, dinner starts with sitting in lounge or bar area at time you select to eat to have drinks and select what you want of the menu, once starters are ready you are taken though to your table
The menu has 6 choices per course, the quantity and quality of the food was exceptional
Since the hotel has changed hands all of the public areas have been redecorated and new furniture has been installed, the bed room we had (No 4) had recently been redecorated and all furniture was brand new, the views from the hotel were very good, as in previous reports the bathroom is en suite but the shower cubicle was minute!! the only way the hotel could change this would be to move the dividing wall which the cost of which would be prohibitive, there is a bathroom available on the same landing for guests to use.
We found the hotel to be clean, the old carpets in the hall outside our room has seen better days and there was a smell of damp dogs (apparently previous owners allowed dogs in guest rooms!!)
The hotel does have a heated (May to September) outdoor pool, unfortunately the only way to access is by a steep set of outside steps leading off from the lounge / dinning room, due to the hotels layout and the steep land around this could not be changed without extreme costs
Traveling to the hotel is and experience in its self as the road up to hotel is extremely dangerous!
Very narrow in places vehicles parked inconsiderately and as for the hair pin bend!!
There is limited car parking in front of the hotel which is at quite a slope and care needs to be taken when parking
All in all a very good experience, would recommend and will return

Room Tip: ask for rooms looking out over pool as they have best views of countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel whilst on a walking holiday. This is the perfect location for exploring the area and there are plenty of walks with stunning views. The staff in the hotel were very obliging and nothing was too much trouble for them - everything they did was done with a smile. The food was exceptional - good quality and plenty of it. Although some of the rooms were in need of an overhaul, ours was wonderful - large, airy and bright with beautiful views over the hills. I had the best night's sleep for a long time as the bed was so comfortable. Good grounds too for exploring. I'd recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to discover the Shropshire countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Exceptionally beautiful setting above Church Stretton, many rooms with scenic views. The service is second to none and the a la carte food is delicious. My room was very small however and the plumbing was old. There are plans to upgrade facilities in all rooms - some have been done already. A very good base for walkers or weddings. There is an outdoor pool too. There needs to be more in the way of pictures on the wall, ambient lighting and suchlike but overall great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath as the showers are tiny. Also ask for a room with a view of the pool as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
8.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
817 reviews
15.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
12.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
477 reviews
24.5 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
435 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longmynd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longmynd

Address: Cunnery Road, Church Stretton SY6 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Price Range: £100 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longmynd 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longmynd dates from the early 1900s and originally attracted Edwardian visitors to the 'Little Switzerland' of Church Stretton. With a magnificent hill-top location, there are panoramic views of the surrounding hills from the dining room and our lounges. Today the Longmynd has been extensively modernised to suit the needs of visitors. We offer spacious bedrooms, fabulous food and spacious lounges to relax in. Our extensive gardens and woodland walk are both relaxing places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Longmynd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longmynd Hotel Church Stretton
Hotel Longmynd
The Longmynd Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing