We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
58
101
54
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
101
54
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshf holidaysoutdoor poolwalking holidaypacked lunchguided walkingself guidedcomfortable hotelstaff were pleasant and helpfulhotel is situatedcorner showerlong myndevening mealbase for exploringstunning locationsitting roomlocal producegroup of friends
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

If you are its apparent target group, i.e. single and elderly, HF holidays offer a safe and sociable holiday. Many seem to return to HF holidays year after year.

The hotel itself is partly renovated. The main ground floor rooms are well decorated but the outside pool area is very poor and the grounds are quite neglected. Some bedrooms have been improved and are apparently very nice but the one we were allocated was shabby. Although the view was lovely there was little else to recommend it. The tiny en-suite could only be described as grim and had the smallest corner shower I've ever seen.

HF organisation was chaotic. Option were not as sent to us or as described pre-booking and the weekend yoga option was full before we arrived. Don't expect a convenient taxi transfer from the station either- we waited a total of 3 hours.

On the positive side the young staff are excellent- hardworking yet always friendly and helpful. Food is generally good and the local area is beautiful with many walking options. The guided walking leaders were great and the self guided information very helpful.

If you fit the target demographic and enjoy forced social interaction, e.g. tables of 8 at all meals in a hot, stuffy, and noisy dining room and feel the need for evening 'entertainment', then you may love lt. Needless to say we didn't.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a renovated room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBeth1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

I had visited this hotel twice before. On the first occasion, I went for a dancing holiday and was disappointed by the lack of people (we struggled to make sets) and the age range (very poor). On the second occasion I met one of the HF board of directors so was able to put across my points about this. On this occasion I had a room overlooking the valley (near the 'G' in Longmynd, which is written on the wall). I would rather have not had an en suite room as the shower is tiny and there was a perfectly good bathroom across the hall. The food was good but several people thought that the dinners were a bit too fancy. The decor is still very poor, looking as if it has been designed by a committee of people with Daltonism. This is an Edwardian building and would look much better with Edwardian decor throughout. The visits to sites were excellent, as was the leader.

Room Tip: It's all quiet and dark at night. One side overlooks the valley, the other the car park but the latter has a garden.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeRPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

The hotel is in a beautiful location on the top of a hill 5 minutes walk from Church Stretton. HF have recently bought the hotel and they have a plan to upgrade the building. The rooms are small but adequate. There is Wi-Fi. There is also a heated pool which was well used. The food was quite good with the fish being well prepared and portions were large. There is the ability to order a picnic lunch each day. The wine was a bit basic. There are a lot of maps and walk books available and the staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a premium room if you can
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tourists3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

This is a nice old colonial style building with the potential to be absolutely stunning. It isn't yet. Service is energetic but somewhat chaotic- younger staff need a bit more training.
Rooms are comfortable but the bathroom we had was very cramped. We were however entirely distracted by the stunning view and the quiet seclusion of the location made for a peaceful nights sleep.
The food left a lot to be desired. We opted for a buffet meal in the evening - the starter was soup and some mexican style nibbles. The soup was over-sweetened and bland- the waitress not sure whether it was vegetable or not. A creamy guacamole saved the day on the starter front. We were then served 3 different main courses together with plain boiled vegetable and a mountain of boiled potatoes- enough for six I would judge, oh and a small dish of rice.
The main courses were poor. We had 3 pieces of plan poached hake. The fish itself was ok and they did serve a red sauce to counter the plainness but that itself was acrid and inedible. A dish of 'mild' curry was over- sweet and a chicken casserole was chunks of chicken breast sitting in a watery sauce with a few bits of celery floating about.
Why would you do this? We thought it was more of an anti- buffet. The fresh fruit salad for dessert was from a choice of 3 deserts and was the best thing we ate.
Breakfast ok except for plastic bread and unspeakable coffee. Good if you want to fill up with carbs before walking.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlinysW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We were a group of 15 friends going on some walks and this was arranged through HF Holidays. The hotel is up a long steep hill and not suitable if you have problems walking. We used our mini bus to ferry those who weren't going out with us. Rooms were adequate although the bathroom was small and the shower tiny. Not good for "larger bodies" The food choices for the meals were excellent and suited all palates. Entertainment was provided if you wished to join in but we usually chatted, played board games and planned our next days activities. Staff were very friendly and also helpful. Plenty of maps available to plot your routes. Some upgrading is being done and more is planned. There is even a swimming pool but it wasn't open when we were there. Too cold!!! we enjoyed the surrounding area and may well return in the future.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mhomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews