We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
58
101
54
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
101
54
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshf holidaysoutdoor poolwalking holidaypacked lunchguided walkingself guidedcomfortable hotelstaff were pleasant and helpfulhotel is situatedcorner showerlong myndevening mealbase for exploringstunning locationsitting roomlocal producegroup of friends
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I was booked to go on a singing weekend here with my choir Singing our Socks Off and went on trip advisor before I went and to be honest, going by the reviews I never expected it to be as good as it was. Our room was on 3rd floor and overlooking the gorgeous hills, which is a pleasure to look out on. We were very lucky with the weather and had a couple of lovely walks into Church Stretton in just t shirts with jeans. Our room was lovely and kept really clean with cleaners coming in daily. I have to mention the food, which was absolutely gorgeous. The layout and organisation of how you let them know what you want and what sandwiches you want for lunch the next day was very good. Resulting in well organised, well cooked, lovely hot food served every mealtime. The breakfasts cooked fresh to order and the choice was wonderful. Going from fresh juices, gluten free choices, croisants, local honey and jams, beautiful thick bacon and lovely cooked breakfasts. The packed lunches were great with so much choice, you pick up your sandwich that has been made to order for you and fill your paper bag with wonderful local pies, fruit, chocolate, homemade flapjacks with local honey and brownies. The large eating tables meant you got to meet and chat to a mix of lovely people. Nice seating area's dotted around for relaxing and watching the world go by. Every member of staff cheerful, happy and helpful. I am hoping our choirmaster organises another trip here as it was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tillymint62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We needed a place to stay at the last minute near the Longmynd, and everywhere was booked up so we didn't do much research about the hotel before we arrived. It was a little strange, had a holiday camp vibe to it as I think most of the guests at this hotel are on organised walking holidays (older guests), rather than independent guests.

The main pros and cons:

Breakfast - included in the rate and says it's served until 9am. We arrived a little after 8:30 and only dregs of a cold buffet remained. The cooked breakfast was awful. Everything disintegrated upon cutting it, the toast, fried bread, sausages, hash browns. Everything. It had clearly been cooked hours ago so although it was still warm, the texture of everything was crispy. Terrible. Breakfast is also served on communal tables of eight. Forced social interaction at breakfast is not my cup of tea. Perhaps we should have got there earlier, but don't advertise breakfast as being until 9 if at 08:30, you'll get leftovers and feel like you're in the way/preventing staff from tidying up.

Bedrooms
We booked a double room and got a family room which was a pleasant upgrade in terms of space. However, the room was in dire need of refurbishment, it's incredibly dated in both looks and smell. The mattress was very firm - ok for me but not to everyone's taste. The bathroom had been fairly recently refurbed though and was clean and in good order, with toiletries. Although the shower head in the bath is only about 5ft9 tall, which was difficult for my 6ft 1 boyfriend :) The shower had good pressure but the toilet flush was terrible and needed a few goes to get rid of even toilet tissue.

Outdoor Pool
Didn't use it but it looked closed/covered when we were there in August.

Location
Ideal location for exploring The Longmynd. The start of our 7 mile circular walk was about 5-10 minutes walk away through a woodland footpath. They also have a shower not attached to a bedroom which they let us use after our walk (since we were only staying for one night and had checked out so couldn't use our room), which was very kind. In dry weather (or with appropriate footwear), the footpath to Church Stretton gets you to town in 5 minutes, rather than having to take the winding road which would take considerably longer. Ample, free parking, too.

Wifi
Believe this is only available in communal areas, we didn't use it though.

Staff
The man on reception was very helpful and polite. Breakfast staff less so, it all seemed a bit chaotic and disorganised, it wasn't clear where we were meant to go/where to sit/was it buffet or a la carte? improvements could be made with regard to organisation and meeting and greeting/showing to tables etc at breakfast.

All in all, a great location so a good base for exploring Church Stretton, Longmynd and other local walks; I just wouldn't want to spend too much time in the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any refurbished rooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lovell16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

If you are its apparent target group, i.e. single and elderly, HF holidays offer a safe and sociable holiday. Many seem to return to HF holidays year after year.

The hotel itself is partly renovated. The main ground floor rooms are well decorated but the outside pool area is very poor and the grounds are quite neglected. Some bedrooms have been improved and are apparently very nice but the one we were allocated was shabby. Although the view was lovely there was little else to recommend it. The tiny en-suite could only be described as grim and had the smallest corner shower I've ever seen.

HF organisation was chaotic. Option were not as sent to us or as described pre-booking and the weekend yoga option was full before we arrived. Don't expect a convenient taxi transfer from the station either- we waited a total of 3 hours.

On the positive side the young staff are excellent- hardworking yet always friendly and helpful. Food is generally good and the local area is beautiful with many walking options. The guided walking leaders were great and the self guided information very helpful.

If you fit the target demographic and enjoy forced social interaction, e.g. tables of 8 at all meals in a hot, stuffy, and noisy dining room and feel the need for evening 'entertainment', then you may love lt. Needless to say we didn't.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a renovated room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBeth1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

I had visited this hotel twice before. On the first occasion, I went for a dancing holiday and was disappointed by the lack of people (we struggled to make sets) and the age range (very poor). On the second occasion I met one of the HF board of directors so was able to put across my points about this. On this occasion I had a room overlooking the valley (near the 'G' in Longmynd, which is written on the wall). I would rather have not had an en suite room as the shower is tiny and there was a perfectly good bathroom across the hall. The food was good but several people thought that the dinners were a bit too fancy. The decor is still very poor, looking as if it has been designed by a committee of people with Daltonism. This is an Edwardian building and would look much better with Edwardian decor throughout. The visits to sites were excellent, as was the leader.

Room Tip: It's all quiet and dark at night. One side overlooks the valley, the other the car park but the latter has a garden.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeRPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

The hotel is in a beautiful location on the top of a hill 5 minutes walk from Church Stretton. HF have recently bought the hotel and they have a plan to upgrade the building. The rooms are small but adequate. There is Wi-Fi. There is also a heated pool which was well used. The food was quite good with the fish being well prepared and portions were large. There is the ability to order a picnic lunch each day. The wine was a bit basic. There are a lot of maps and walk books available and the staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a premium room if you can
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tourists3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews