We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely old world charm with all mod cons.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MissMarpl...
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely old world charm with all mod cons.”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for one week on walking and sightseeing holiday. Beautiful cottage and situation. We were so lucky to have the best week of weather this year. The cottage is very spacious and great for a larger family with everything you would require. Welcome goodies awaited us on arrival, Shrewsbury biscuits and Bara Brith . Plenty of short circular walks, strolls in the nearby wood, or longer hill rambles, your choice. Market town with every shop, pub or restaurant that you could possibly want. Very handy for visiting one way Ludlow by train or car and Shrewsbury the other. We liked Ludlow the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation of cottage on Rectory Gardens.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra w
Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent cottage with everything supplied for an enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is well equipped to a high standard. It is clean and comfortable and warm. Owners are friendly and made us feel welcome.
The location is very central. A 5 minute walk takes one to the amenities of Church Stretton and a 10 minute walk into the valleys of the Long Mynd from where there are many miles of happy walking.
Also central for public transport being only 10 minutes walk from the station.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMBRambli...
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the cottage for two weeks with my wife and 3 friends for a walking holiday in Shropshire. The cottage photos are slightly misleading in that the cottage is double fronted so we got twice the accommodation we were expecting. Beautiful, charming old cottage with more than enough space for 5 of us to amble around without getting in each other's way .Large kitchen, large living room/dining room, ample bedroom space - we loved it. Parking for 2 cars and a paved area out front with a table and chairs - perfect for a coffee ( or a G and T ) on returning "home" after a walk. in the hills.
I must mention the surrounding area which is great for walking - as easy or as difficult as you like. We ran out of time to do all the walks we wanted, so plans are afoot to return. The holiday weather was virtually unbroken sunshine for two weeks.
The owners popped in and made themselves known to us, kindly giving contact details in the event of problems and the neighbours were very sociable and kind.
Fabulous fortnight.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd150
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Cottage, Great Location”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in East Cottage as a base for a walking holiday. Having stayed in Church Stretton in the past we knew this would be a good location and were not disappointed. What we had not expected was just how good the cottage would be - facilities were great with everything we could have asked for, plenty of space and spotlessly clean. It would be really hard to find fault with the cottage - perhaps the only thing I would have changed was that the beds were rather soft for me but imagine others would find them perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rushden
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rogita180
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Wonderful Old Cottage”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed in this cottage for one week & loved it - it has great character. Although it is old, it nonetheless is very spacious with a large living room with a dining table, kitchen complete with breakfast area & 3 large bedrooms, one with en-suite facilities. It is situated in a lovely area with great views to the hills. Entry on arrival was by prior arrangement with the owners who met us & were very helpful. There is a large 'boot room' adjoining the kitchen so is perfect for walkers. It is ideally placed for walking the hills around Church Stretton, with the Long Mynd virtually at the back door. There is off-road parking for 2 cars.

The main town is only 5 minutes walk away where there are shops, restaurants & pubs etc.

Church Stretton itself is also ideally located for visiting Ludlow or Shrewbury (both can be reached by train in about 15 - 20 mins), Much Wenlock (about 20 mins by car) & Ironbridge (about 30 mins by car). We visited all of these & they are definitely worth making time to see if you can.

We would certainly stay at East Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character & spaciousness
Liked least: Nothing negative to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing