We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely cottage, wonderful holiday.”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beas Cottage

Beas Cottage Frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beas Cottage Frontage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
27 reviews
Beas Cottage Frontage
Lounge 1
Lounge 2
Lounge 3
Lounge 4
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 3
Master Bedroom 4
Master Bedroom 5
Dressing Room
Master Bedroom 6
Single Bedroom
Landing Area
Bathroom 1
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Kitchen 3
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
julie d
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, wonderful holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Bea's cottage is lovely, very well equipped and in a perfect location for exploring the surrounding Shropshire hills and Carding mill valley with numerous picturesque lovely walks from the doorstep. The cottage had everything we needed, it was cosy and comfortable and Sally was very welcoming and had thought of everything including a lovely welcome basket. The corner bath was very welcome after walking the hills. Our only small disappointment was the gardener had not been and the paved patio area was full of weeds and we do like sitting outside especially with the dog (whom was also made welcome with treats). We went to The Kings Arms across the road to sample the real ale and The Bucks Head where we had a lovely Sunday dinner. We also had two lovely meals in The Green Dragon in Little Stretton, these pubs are all dog friendly. We visited Ludlow and Shrewsbury, both charming historical nearby towns.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and cottage immaculate and very well equiped
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully furnished cottage in an excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful week in this clean, beautifully furnished, well equipped, comfortable cottage. It is particularly good for anyone arriving without a car ie by train because of it's town centre location. At the same time, it is surprisingly quiet with little traffic noise. The welcome pack was generous and much appreciated after a long journey. The owner goes the extra mile by providing a large vase of scented lilies and stocks in the living room.The location was very handy for all amenities eg shops, library, pubs, cafes etc of which Church Stretton has plenty and also handy for all the many walks in lovely countryside. Also,within an hour of arrival I managed to buy a book I had been looking for for ages in a book sale in the church hall across the road! ( 'The House in Dormer Forest' by Mary Webb).

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The style of the cottage (and the sumptuous curtains).
Liked least: Feather pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy cottage in a great location for walking and exploring the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was well maintained and equipped. We received a warm welcome from the owner, with some lovely touches such as a welcome basket of goodies.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAIR G
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous stay in Beas Cottage! What a wonderful cosy place it was! We were greeted by Sally on arrival, who was lovely. we were made to feel very at home, and the welcome pack was great. We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend this cottage for anyone wanting to stay near Shrewsbury. Just fantastic.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan T
Maresquel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect country cottage for exploring a lovely county”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

No hesitation in giving this cottage top marks. It is in great location to explore Shropshire. This compact cottage has been beautifully restored and in keeping with its style has been tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard. The welcome pack from the owner was a nice touch and a really cosy log burner was a plus on our return each evening. We definitely intend to return and carry on our house hunting in the area.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Great location for exploring and cleanliness of property
Liked least: No wi-Fi access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
154Kevin
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous, cosy cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bea's Cottage. Were warmly welcomed by Sally and appreciated the little touches she had made to the cottage to give it a cosy, homely feel - also appreciated the little basket of goodies! Bea's cottage is an excellent base for hiking in the surrounding hills and exploring the area. We would definitely recommend it

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you for your comments. Happy new year to you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flopsey
Ely, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Bea's cottage has a perfect location for exploring this corner of Shropshire. The cottage is clean and quaint with all you need. I have high standards for cleanliness in a rental and we were very pleased.
The setting is pretty with easy access to walking and a drink or bite to eat in the evening all without moving the car. Sally is very welcoming and provided all needed for that first cuppa and biscuit on arrival plus a bottle of wine.
The only thing I would say is that the mattress and pillows are a bit lumpy when staying a week, but this is all down to individual taste. I would certainly recommend Bea's and the Church Stretton area in general.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing