We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beas Cottage

Beas Cottage Frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beas Cottage Frontage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Beas Cottage Frontage
Lounge 1
Lounge 2
Lounge 3
Lounge 4
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 3
Master Bedroom 4
Master Bedroom 5
Dressing Room
Master Bedroom 6
Single Bedroom
Landing Area
Bathroom 1
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Kitchen 3
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
3Swaffham...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy little cottage”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We, a family of 3 adults, had a very enjoyable break at this lovely cosy little cottage. It was one of the nicest holiday cottages we have ever stayed in. It was nice and clean, warmly decorated and felt homely the minute you walked in the front door. We were warmly welcomed by Sally's friend Denise. There was a lovely basket of goodies from Sally in the kitchen, milk in fridge plus tea and coffee for that first cuppa after a long journey. I met Sally and David during our stay and they were both lovely and helpful. The shower did stop working during our stay but it was replaced the following day by David with a brand new one, so no complaints - these things happen.
We found the location perfect for our needs. Parking was easy on the road around the corner. There was a bus stop outside with an hourly service to Shrewbury or Ludlow in the opposite direction which I took advantage of one day. Although the cottage is situated on the High Street, it is very quiet with not a lot of traffic passing by, so no problems sleeping with the bedroom window open.
The garden which was accessible from the kitchen and also the main bedroom was a good place to sit in the late afternoon with a drink.
Location of Bea's Cottage was ideal for our needs. About a 20 minute walk away was Carding Mill Valley- National Trust -which became a favourite place to visit during our stay.
We had a lovely weeks break at Bea's Cottage, the weather was hot and sunny. A beautiful area with stunning scenery and great walks, pubs and local shops nearby.If you are thinking about booking you won't be disappointed. Bea's Cottage is just as lovely as in the photos.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie d
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Bea's cottage is lovely, very well equipped and in a perfect location for exploring the surrounding Shropshire hills and Carding mill valley with numerous picturesque lovely walks from the doorstep. The cottage had everything we needed, it was cosy and comfortable and Sally was very welcoming and had thought of everything including a lovely welcome basket. The corner bath was very welcome after walking the hills. Our only small disappointment was the gardener had not been and the paved patio area was full of weeds and we do like sitting outside especially with the dog (whom was also made welcome with treats). We went to The Kings Arms across the road to sample the real ale and The Bucks Head where we had a lovely Sunday dinner. We also had two lovely meals in The Green Dragon in Little Stretton, these pubs are all dog friendly. We visited Ludlow and Shrewsbury, both charming historical nearby towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and cottage immaculate and very well equiped
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully furnished cottage in an excellent location.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful week in this clean, beautifully furnished, well equipped, comfortable cottage. It is particularly good for anyone arriving without a car ie by train because of it's town centre location. At the same time, it is surprisingly quiet with little traffic noise. The welcome pack was generous and much appreciated after a long journey. The owner goes the extra mile by providing a large vase of scented lilies and stocks in the living room.The location was very handy for all amenities eg shops, library, pubs, cafes etc of which Church Stretton has plenty and also handy for all the many walks in lovely countryside. Also,within an hour of arrival I managed to buy a book I had been looking for for ages in a book sale in the church hall across the road! ( 'The House in Dormer Forest' by Mary Webb).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style of the cottage (and the sumptuous curtains).
Liked least: Feather pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy cottage in a great location for walking and exploring the area”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was well maintained and equipped. We received a warm welcome from the owner, with some lovely touches such as a welcome basket of goodies.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAIR G
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous stay in Beas Cottage! What a wonderful cosy place it was! We were greeted by Sally on arrival, who was lovely. we were made to feel very at home, and the welcome pack was great. We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend this cottage for anyone wanting to stay near Shrewsbury. Just fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan T
Maresquel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect country cottage for exploring a lovely county”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

No hesitation in giving this cottage top marks. It is in great location to explore Shropshire. This compact cottage has been beautifully restored and in keeping with its style has been tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard. The welcome pack from the owner was a nice touch and a really cosy log burner was a plus on our return each evening. We definitely intend to return and carry on our house hunting in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location for exploring and cleanliness of property
Liked least: No wi-Fi access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
154Kevin
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous, cosy cottage”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bea's Cottage. Were warmly welcomed by Sally and appreciated the little touches she had made to the cottage to give it a cosy, homely feel - also appreciated the little basket of goodies! Bea's cottage is an excellent base for hiking in the surrounding hills and exploring the area. We would definitely recommend it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you for your comments. Happy new year to you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing