We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Every possible comfort and stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Twin bedroom with spectacular views
Ground floor double bedroom with superb views
Entrance Hall
Ensuite Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Ensuite Bathroom
The Long Mynd, within walking distance of Hollywell Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mailY4010...
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Every possible comfort and stunning views”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Superbly equipped and pet-friendly, Hollywell Cottage is the perfect base for exploring Shropshire's AONB. The garden is a beautiful, tranquil haven offering fabulous views - peace and privacy are assured. Church Stretton offers good shops and other amenities. Huge choice of local pubs serving excellent food and several renowned gardens and nurseries worthy of a visit. Walks from the door; picturesque villages nearby; Shrewsbury, Ludlow, Leominster and Hereford an easy drive. NT properties also close by e.g. Attingham and Cardingmill Valley. Powys Castle (Wales) is a must and Bunners (ironmongers) in Montgomery is not to be missed after climbing to the castle! Wonderful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2018
Thank you for the lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back in June 2019.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claras64
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best one yet”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My family of 5 plus one little working cocker spaniel spent a wonderful week here for the May half term. We arrived in pouring rain which was followed by a misty morning the following day. I headed out up the road with the dog anyway & enjoyed a mysterious walk to meet the wild ponies. Later on the mist lifted & I could not believe the views all around us. What a treat.
Kids were amazed by the books & games on offer. The youngest age 4 is now a Kiss fan after finding a Scooby Do/kiss dvd on the shelf. There was a book for everyone.
We spent lots of time in Church Stretton, hours building dams in Carding Mill Valley - I walked over the top to meet the rest of them with the dog - very enjoyable. Went swimming in Shrewsbury before we realised there was a pool just the road, visited Ludlow Castle - such good value for money & dog friendly too.
We have holidayed in cottages for a number of years now & as previous reviewers have said, this one was by far, the best. It is very well equipped with far more than just the basics provided. Also loved the Eco products which we use at home. Garden must be fabulous by now. We truly did not want to leave. We’ll definitely be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review, hope we get to say Hi next May.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny C
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Haven on the Hill Side”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed at Hollywell Cottage for 2 weeks. We were lucky with the weather and were able to take advantage of the wonderful garden. We had breakfast out on the patio with views across to Caer Caradoc on most mornings. On two of the mornings we watched a fox on the hillside next to the house. We walked straight from the house onto the Long Mynd walking several miles a day. On returning to the house in the evenings we cooked our meals in the well equipped kitchen. The bed was really comfortable and we slept extremely well. This is a super house for up to 6 people to stay. We have already booked for next May and hope to be able to go back again in the autumn this year if we are able.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Many thanks for your lovely review, so glad you had another lovely holiday at Hollywell Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back for the 3rd time next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heartinth...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hollywell Cottage, Shropshire”
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Hollywell Cottage has stunning views of the Long Mynd & surrounding countryside. It is very well equipped, moreso than any other cottage we have stayed in before. The welcome pack included milk, juice, bread, cereals, wine, cake etc. Garden is lovely and has several areas where you can sit out. We had a great week despite it being very cold at times (the hotwater bottles (provided) were pressed into action. It is a very cosy cottage. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2018
Thank you for lovely review, we are so glad you had an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin O
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Nice cosy cottage. Very clean and well equipped. We had a great time. Lovely walks nearby which our dog enjoyed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2018
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hollywell Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Thank you for the lovely review, we hope to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baxtermur...
Stourbridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Cottage in a beautiful, quiet location”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here last week with our 2 friends and their dogs and had a great time. The cottage is in a great location for touring this part of Shropshire, ( Shrewsbury, Attingham Park National Trust, Ludlow, Bishops Castle and Clun). It is particularly convenient for the Long Mynd and Carding Mill Valley, and has a wonderful view over Caer Caradoc. We did a few lovely walks form the Cottage (including Caer Caradoc) without having to use the car, the walk into Church Stretton via pleasant footpaths parallel to the road takes a leisurely 30 minutes.

The cottage is warm and very comfortable and extremely well equipped, the welcoming pack was particularly generous too. You won't need to bring any books, DVDs or games, and there is a lovely patio area to sit out on, we even managed to do it in late October/early November, although we were very lucky with the weather.

A very minor downside is the parking which is tight for 2 cars, but thsi is a minor inconvenience in the scheme of things.

We would definitely return to this lovely cottage in this beautiful part of the country.

We were lucky to meet Sharon and Wayne, the owners, just as we were leaving, they are a charming lovely couple, who are rightly proud of their great cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Thank you for the lovely review. It was lovely to meet you. With regards to the parking there is additional parking inside the gates on the drive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing