We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
The canopy creates a year-round sheltered, magical outdoor space The balcony has views to the Long Mynd and the evening sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
174 reviews
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
The canopy creates a year-round sheltered, magical outdoor space
The balcony has views to the Long Mynd and the evening sunset
Rain shower, heated towel rail, demister mirror, dressing area
The waterfall at the rear in full flow with the triple-glazed door open
Enjoy the view from the hot tub with jets, waterfall and mood lighting - even if it's raining
Sitting area with fire bowl with subdued outdoor lighting
One of several seating areas
Try and then buy a Kadai firebowl at the manufacturer's Wilstone Outlet, Leebotwood (5 mins drive)
Approaching Oaks Lodge along the gravel pathway with floor level LEDs
Returning to Oaks Lodge in the dark
Watching the fireworks over Church Stretton from the balcony/pathway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 174 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thomas G
Swaffham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As in the title, amazing is a word I used a lot throughout the stay. The lodge itself is perfect for couples who want to spend time together in a relaxed atmosphere. Everything we could think of was available and the facilities were high class. The bed is huge and supremely comfortable, the bathroom has a wonderful shower and the kitchen contains all you need to self cater.

The hot tub and surrounding area is beautiful, especially at night with the lights surrounding the lodge and its path.

The town itself was close and ideal for the getaway providing pubs, restaurants and shops that can cater for the needs. We did venture out everyday, often further than the town and upon arriving back to the lodge, we were always filled with a feeling of bliss and warmth at the delight of our stay.

I would recommend this to any couple of any age, we will be returning in the future for definite!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and peacefulness
Liked least: That we had to return home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily P
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sad to leave. The lodge is set in a picturesque town with beautiful views. Sara and Mark were very welcoming and friendly, and gave us information about things we can see and do in church stretton.

The lodge is beautiful and has everything you would need for your stay. The outdoor hot tub was a favorite of ours as we watched the sun set from the balcony. The 3 days flew by and we will certainly be returning. We have already recommended this lodge to all our friends and family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A couple of days of tranquil bliss!! This is a great lodge in a beautiful location, we will certainly be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary R
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and beautiful”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and my partner fell in love with this lodge online, which looked like it offered miles more than other retreats, which were similarly priced. We were certainly not disappointed! The lodge looks exactly as pictured, if not more beautiful. The location is outstanding. Our long weekend away was peaceful and private, surrounded by only trees and wildlife.

Within the lodge was everything that we could need to make our stay perfect. The hot tub was brilliant and most definitely one of our favourite things about The Oaks! The bed was comfortable, we had a very modern fireplace and television and that is only the beginning.

The hosts were kind and welcoming and made sure to explain any important information as well as anything that would be helpful to know around the local area. They respected privacy whilst keeping all routes of communication open. I cannot thank them enough for such a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hot tub
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicWend
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at The Oaks surpassed our expectations in every single way. The sheer beauty of it's surroundings was coupled brilliantly with the lodge itself. Nestled away in the woodland The Oaks was breathtaking after following the pebble path. Inside and out the attention to detail was astonishing. Everything was planned to the highest possible specification and even though it was cram packed full of gadgets, they were very user friendly.

The lodge is only a few minutes stroll from the local village but it felt as if we were miles from anywhere. The only noise is from the local wildlife and the humming of the hot tub, inviting us in to relax away the stresses and strains of our working lives.

We cannot express highly enough just how wonderful our time at the Oaks was. I suggest you go and experience this corner of paradise for yourself.

Thank you Mark and Sara.....we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There is nothing negative about the property or the service we received from the owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate3030
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely log cabin away from all the hustle and bustle of city life. Sitting in the hut tub with views of trees, mountains, birds and squirrels was a joy.
The bed was pure heaven with lovely silky sheets. The cabin has everything you need and the proprietors were lovely, welcoming and very helpful.
I will be back one day.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah D
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful and wonderfully relaxing”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I’ve just spent 10 days at The Oaks. I was there for work (research and writing) but can’t wait to come back on holiday. It’s a beautifully-designed place, both the building and the interior, and the setting is simply magical – grand oak trees, a stream, even a mini-waterfall. At times I felt like Snow White as I sat on the verandah watching squirrels and birds, and sitting there with breakfast looking at the view outside The Oaks and the magnificent Shropshire hills in the distance, would calm anyone’s stresses. If any remain, there is always the hot tub! The interior is another treat as it’s both gorgeous and comfortable, with a super king bed that was difficult to leave and thoughtful touches such as proper headphones by the TV (useful for couples watching different box sets…) and two types of shower in the stylish bathroom. When I come back on holiday, I’m also looking forward to barbecuing with the original Kadai fire bowl in the dining area in the level below the cabin. I have travelled all over the world for work and this has instantly become one of my very favourite places to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the verandah
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing