We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cannot wait to return!”
other travellers have booked this property
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
The canopy creates a year-round sheltered, magical outdoor space The balcony has views to the Long Mynd and the evening sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
174 reviews
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
The canopy creates a year-round sheltered, magical outdoor space
The balcony has views to the Long Mynd and the evening sunset
Rain shower, heated towel rail, demister mirror, dressing area
The waterfall at the rear in full flow with the triple-glazed door open
Enjoy the view from the hot tub with jets, waterfall and mood lighting - even if it's raining
Sitting area with fire bowl with subdued outdoor lighting
One of several seating areas
Try and then buy a Kadai firebowl at the manufacturer's Wilstone Outlet, Leebotwood (5 mins drive)
Approaching Oaks Lodge along the gravel pathway with floor level LEDs
Returning to Oaks Lodge in the dark
Watching the fireworks over Church Stretton from the balcony/pathway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 174 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Samantha...
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cannot wait to return!”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Me and my husband booked this to relax and it couldn't have ticked anymore boxes! From the beautiful waterfall next to your bed to the amazing hot tub on the balcony, Sara & Mark have thought of absolutely everything. We will really struggle to find anywhere even close which only means one thing - we will have to go back (what a shame!).

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenandJen...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my wife stayed here for our honeymoon and there's only one word to describe it - incredible.

The setting itself is secluded and gives you great views of the village and surrounding hills. As Mark put it, it feels like a fairytale. The train station was only a 15 minute walk away and both Ludlow and Shrewsbury were another 15 minutes away by train.

On the subject of the owners, they couldn't have been nicer. Really welcoming and friendly, but completely respectful of your privacy.

The lodge was really cosy, with added extras, which really gave it that extra touch. We spent every night sat in the hot tub.

In summary, a wonderful experience, which we're both keen to relive again. We're already planning our next stay.

Thanks again Mark and Sara.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
BEN you should have said it was your honeymoon! We have some extra touches we do for honeymooners I can't tell you what we do as it would spoil it for other honeymooners.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmh92
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING! 5*****”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeks stay here & to be honest we were very sad to be leaving as after a week it seemed like a home!
Our hosts were lovely, very respectful of our privacy but always there if needed. The location is perfect, very secluded & peaceful which is brilliant if you just want to relax & forget about the outside world!
Facilities are excellent & so are all of the little gadgets dotted about!

Cannot fault anything about our stay - we enjoyed every minute of it & still have the holiday blues now :(

Will definitely be visiting again ASAP! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rest & relaxation in a perfect setting”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

What an amazing find this accommodation was. A weekend of rest and relaxation was needed and that was certainly what we had. When you walk up to the lodge amongst the trees, with the lights on on the decking, you realise what a special place you have found. We immediately felt at home, comfortable and most definitely relaxed, and the owners helped us feel settled with a welcoming bottle of fizz to start the weekend.

The open plan accommodation makes perfect use of the space in the lodge. The decor is very pretty and stylish, and the bed is huge! We took with us all the food we needed for the weekend and found everything within the kitchen that we needed to cook and prepare with. It certainly has all the facilities you would need.

And the hot tub! One of our main reasons for booking and it did not disappoint. The seclusion means you are not overlooked, and at night it was lovely to turn all the lights out and just look out upon the town below from our elevated viewpoint. Sitting in the hot tub after a late brunch on a Saturday afternoon was a great way to spend the day.

We would certainly recommend and we will definitely be back...if we can find availability in the bookings as we have no doubt that this will be a very popular accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, big bed, open plan, decor......the whole lodge basically!
Liked least: Having to leave. Can't wait to come back.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovells
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunning property”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful break at The Oaks and really wish we were already back there! Making the most of an opportunity for a 3 night break away with no children, this seemed the perfect place to spend some time together and it really didn't disappoint. The accommodation is beautifully designed and situated in a perfect spot not overlooked in any way. The bed was HUGE and so comfortable and the shower was powerful and hot whatever time of day it was used. The fresh cut flowers outside and in were a lovely touch. We loved the hottub but the highlight for us was just sitting outside under the fab heater, for over three hours just watching the dark night draw in and then enjoying the peacefulness and stillness of the evening with a few bottles of Prosseco under the stars. The heater is £1 for an hour but I have to say it's the best £3 I've spent recently! Church Stretton seemed a bustling little town and was only a 5 minute walk away. Afternoon tea at Lady Berwicks Tearooms at Attingham Park is highly recommended, a little drive away but well worth it and the scenery at Cardington Mill Valley is beautiful. Not sure when we will get chance for a break on our own again but if we do I am certain we will be back!! Sara and Mark you have a lovely little gem of a property. Thank you for having us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieH1...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bliss!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

If heaven were a place on earth...

We had a wonderful stay! I cannot remember the last time we were that relaxed. The lodge itself is so well equipped, we wanted for nothing. Sara and Mark have gone above and beyond to ensure you have all you need and much much more.
The lodge is designed and furnished to a very high standard!
Sara is a lovely host, very welcoming and on hand should you need anything at all but leaves you to enjoy your stay.
The hot tub is wonderful we spent each morning and evening just sat enjoying the peace and quiet and the view through the beautiful trees. We even slept on night with the rear door open so we could listen to the water running along the stream.
We also had a lovely afternoon trip to Ludlow and came back to Church Stretton to enjoy some very tasty tapas at Houseman's restaurant.

Thank you very much Sara and Mark,

Natalie & Joe x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and quality of furnishings and fittings.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
08chris94
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“WOW”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What an amazing weekend this is the perfect get away for a relaxing break me and my wife spent 2 nights at the oaks and I can honestly say it was the best weekend away that we have had in a long time, it has everything you need and the added luxury of a hot tub on the balcony which my wife struggled to get me out of, me and my wife would like to thank Sara and mark for our amazing weekend and will be recommending it to all our friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing