We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottage in glorious countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Private garden area and views of Wenlock Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob W
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Charming cottage in glorious countryside”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A warm welcome, a charming, comfortable cottage, and glorious countryside with walks all about and within an easy walk of Wenlock Edge. A wealth of quiet and picturesque country lanes which are ideal for cycling; we will definitely bring our tandem next time. Good directions, and an easy journey. Very highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Dear Rob

Many thanks for your very kind review and it would be lovely to see you both again at some time in the future.

Kind regards

Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJB34
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed here for the weekend in the easter holidays. A really warm welcome was waiting for us. The cottage was very clean and well presented. The kids loved playing in the garden when we'd returned home in the evening. I would highly recommend this accommodation, great spot for visiting the iron bridge and all the other museums and a really quiet place to relax and unwind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Dear Liz

Many thanks for your kind review - it is much appreciated and we are very pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us at Easter.

Best wishes

Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tournesol...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing cottage, lovely owners”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful week's stay in this cottage. It is in a great rural location, not too far from main towns but surrounded by countryside and has stunning views. The cottage is beautifully furnished with comfortable beds and sofas, and has all the items you would need, particularly in the kitchen - we have been to some cottages that have minimal equipment supplied which makes preparing meals very difficult - but that is not the case here! The garden is a lovely place to relax, with al fresco dining table, and other chairs and there is ample parking in front of the property.

Margaret and Jim are so friendly and welcoming, naturally very hospitable people who will do everything to ensure a lovely stay. Before we arrived, Margaret contacted us to check we had directions to the property, they offered to provide a travel cot, and once we were there they even got out a slide for our toddler to play on. It was clear from the guest book that they have many guests who return year after year, and we could see why - we hope to go back again soon ourselves!

There is lots to do in the area and we enjoyed all our day trips - Much Wenlock and Church Stretton are both 15-20mins drive and lovely villages. We especially love the Carding Mill Valley in Church Stretton - easy walks in amazing location and a café to enjoy a cake or ice cream afterwards. We also visited the Blists Hill Victorian Town - a great way to experience Victorian life, including buying things with old money! Shrewsbury is good for shopping and the lovely Abbey and Quarry Park. And our little one loved Hoo Farm Animal Kingdom (about 40mins drive, near Telford) - great for families. And we didn't even get to walking along Wenlock Edge or Severn Valley Railway!

All in all, we would really recommend the cottage - thank you Margaret and Jim for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your very kind and comprehensive review. It would be lovely to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Much appreciated Karen. Hope to see you both again in the future.

Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jonelle_1...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely stay at Quiet Cottage and were warmly greeted by owners Margaret and Jim who ensured we had everything we needed
The cottage is in a lovely setting and whilst remote, was central to so many places of interest to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, welcome and wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Many thanks John - your review is much appreciated.

Margaret & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great price.”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed with my wife and young son for a three night stay over the Easter break. The location has fantastic views. It is in a rural location but not far from larger towns with amenities. The stay was very reasonably priced and the owners were incredibly friendly and accommodating (setting us up a cot bed and providing garden toys for our son).
Overall a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views of Wenlock Edge
Liked least: electric hob
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Many thanks David - much appreciated.

Margaret & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;