We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Withypool, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PNJC1
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This is an excellent barn conversion in a remote, but fantastic location. The distance from the local villages shouldn't deter anyone from staying here.

The driveway from the road (situated on the road from Winsford to Exford) is quite long and bumpy, but was ok for our cars. Though I'm not sure what it would be like in heavy rain or snow.

It follows the River Exe and there are Cows and Sheep along the way, which we found ourselves herding along at times, which the kids loved.

We were met by the owner on arrival and he was very welcoming and quite a character. He couldn't be more helpful.

The barn is beautiful and very well presented and the surrounding countryside is breathtaking.

And if you get up early enough to hear it, the cows in the valley provide a soundtrack similar to a scene in a Jurassic Park movie.

There are plenty of walks from Nethercote Byre itself or just a short drive in any direction will provide you with all the beautiful scenery, pubs, tea rooms etc you could want.

Pretty much every pub welcomes dogs and we had great service and food wherever we went.

This location was stunning and didn't disappoint and I would happily return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mach3inte...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding holiday home”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Huge holiday home with an enormous lounge area. Very well kitted out with dishwasher tv DVD video player etc. Fabulous views and location. The property is a ten minute drive up a very tough track. Would be great for two families as there is a lot of space. It's very quiet and peaceful with lots of local walks right on your doorstep. Highly recommended one of the best accommodations we have ever stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Nethercote Byre. That you would recommend the property is the best praise it could receive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The perfect spot to "get away from it all" but with every comfort to hand!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is the perfect spot to blow the cobwebs away, whilst remaining very civilised. The location is a 10 minute drive down a track off the Winsford to Exford road, in a beautiful valley. Wonderful for walking and relaxing - the only disturbances we had were a few cattle and some sheep! It is idylic and, in our experience of Exmoor, unique as a holiday rental home. The building has been very well renovated and to a very high standard. A lot of thought has gone into it and there is every convenience and comfort that you could want. The kitchen is fully equiped and there are plenty of books, games etc to keep you amused. WIFI connection was excellent but there is no mobile phone reception at the house (a landline is available in the property) - this was great for us as it meant we connected to the outside world when we wanted to! The courtyard at the front is very secure and was great for the dogs - they could be outside but not roaming - and when the sun shone it was a lovely place to sit and gaze at the valley. The owners and Dawn were great, meeting us at the entrance gate and availabl should we have needed them. It was a shame it was just the two of us and the dogs as this is a great house for socialising - family / friends get-together etc. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - it was beyond our expectations.
Liked least: The fact that we had to return home after just one week!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday, it sounds like you had a wonderful time. I will pass on your comments on to the homeowners as I am sure they too will be delighted and we will hope very much to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing