We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved Menu.New Owners & Staff”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Withypool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We booked dinner for 5 people.
My wife & I (and we love our food , it has to be good!)
One of my wife's clients who had come over from Italy
and our friends Mother & Father of whom are two "Time Served" now retired hoteliers from the busy resort of St Ives. (The Father being a accomplished chef of some 35 years) and both well travelled.
This is as I have said before an "Old World Inn" and therefore no surprise that the "Rustic, Traditional" Bar ticks all the boxes. It has a nice atmosphere, yes it is "Low Lit" lighting wise, but that only adds to the atmosphere.
The young waitress (I believe new to the establishment) was very helpful, pleasant and did her level best to answer all our questions.
Dinner selected was 3 x fish and chips, 1 x steak and kidney Pie, & 1 x "Rabbit" dish.
All cooked beautifully, delivered to the table together, the only complaint on first ovbservation? That portion of Steak and Kidney pie and veg is big!
The Fish and Chips, really nice, The Steak and Kidney pie had a very artistic puff pastry crust , obviously hand designed...A nice personal touch by the chefs.
The dish that was given the highest scrutiny it has to be said was our friends father, being a chef, his comments were, "Beautifully Presented, Nice balanced dish" Needless to say, all the plates were clean! (well except for the steak and kidney pie as it was a big portion!)
With a good selection of beers, ales, soft drinks and wine available, no complaints there.
We finished off with Mint teas for the ladies and coffees for the rest of us.
Paul (Owner Manager) was very attentive, friendly and could not have made our meal any better.
The new waitress, was very nice and efficient.
All I can say is, If you have had a bad experience here, I feel you should give it a second chance, I watched others in the Inn receiving their meals, from an amazing "Pint of Prawns" to "Rib Eye" steaks that floated by, all seemed very happy and there was a great buzz in the room.
To give an idea of cost.
With a round of drinks, Main courses and coffees to finish. £86.00 was the order of the day. So for 5 persons that's hardly a bank buster for good food.
The second part of the Royal Oaks Deal is that it is a couple running the show. Paul & Sarah, Sarah is an accomplished Chef and has along with new chefs at her side, they've changed the menu.
We will be going back. It'll be the 5 time we've eaten there since Mothers Day weekend.
Nuff said

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed for one night and the staff were superb, very busy pub and great food. The bedrooms and bed were very comfortable and very clean and had a great nights sleep. Took the dog with us, great long walk from the tar steps, then after dinner brought her into pub, no problems at all, everybody made a fuss of her. No problems in recommending a stay here.

Room Tip: Not no 6 as its above the bar, if you are early to bed, but nice bath!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jura11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great old inn and bar and friendly hosts. Good size rooms. Good shower, hot and with good pressure. A nice big bed, but a bit soft. Good wifi. Very nice meals and ales. Nicely decorated throughout but ceiling in room three needs attention as is is discoloured and cracking. Lovely quiet village and location. Nice breakfast and a great packed walkers lunch the next day. A nice overnight stay while walking the Two Moors.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We have used the restaurant several times. After a slight decline in late 2012, things are definately back on the right track, now the the new owners are in place. Six of us ate there last saturday and the meal was very good, with improved portion sizes and more care taken with food quality and presentation. The staff, many of them who have been there for several years also seemed to have a spring in thier step once again!

Room Tip: We only use the bars & restaurant, but try and use the top bar for meals.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is an old pub/restaurant set in an Exmoor Village with only a post office and tea room for company. It has Excellent Exmoor draft beers, and very good food. They even do cinnamon porridge for breakfast and a full English! Dinners are excellent and a good wine list
Ideal as an Exmoor walking base. Bedrooms very comfortable (we hired 6). No mobile phone signal but with Skype on our Google Nexus’s (or is it Nexi) and the hotels’ Wi-Fi communication was excellent.
A new manager has just taken over and promised not to spoil things, and I think he will keep his word. Jeannette is an excellent hostess, and posted back all the items we somehow managed to leave behind. We will definitely return for another walking holiday.
It is not a Hilton, no gym or swimming pool (thank goodness) but an excellent cosy place to stay. I have stayed here twice in the last six months.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 3 have a Wi-Fi signal in them
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This Exmoor pub has all you could wish for. Firstly, genuinely friendly and hospitable staff who make you welcome the moment you arrive. Add to this a main bar full of character and warmth (log fires, low beams, flag stones etc.), a quieter upper lounge bar and restaurant, all serving tasty, freshly-cooked food from a wide and varied menu. Our room was warm, comfortable - and with unlimited hot water. And a range of moorland and valley walks from the front door. Wonderful; just don't tell too many others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffC426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Yet another superb stay at the Royal Oak. Cannot fault the service, food, staff or anything. Excellent value. Thankyou Jeanette and all your staff for making us so welcome. Will be visiting again for a great getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacko65Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Withypool
10.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
725 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Royal Oak Exmoor
Royal Oak Exmoor
#1 of 2 in Winsford
225 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
317 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Address: Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Withypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Withypool
Price Range: £82 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Withypool
The Royal Oak Inn Withypool, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing