We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Withypool return trip worth the wait....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Withypool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rampieux, france
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Withypool return trip worth the wait....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We last visited in January last year when the new owners had just taken over and were settling in. We have been again three times this month and are delighted that their efforts have been great. The food, choice and ambiance are once again great. We also enjoyed a couple of the Sunday night quiz nights, so a good time was enjoyed by all. Well worth a visit , one of the best in exmoor

Room Tip: Did not stay, but dined at the pub at least 3 times
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    39
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
76
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our party was 17 family and friends .We were not kept waiting and the food was amazing. Would recommend it to both locals and tourists, not expensive and well worth a visit. New Landlord certainly knows how to run a decent pub. Bonus is that its dog friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mopdraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent three nights at this pub in the tiny village of Withypool in the midst of the Exmoor National Park in November. Our room, Bedroom 1, was very comfortable, well-equipped and with a large bathroom. We had our evening meals at the pub and every time the food was superb, well above average pub food. Breakfast were also a delight. Paul, Sarah and their staff were friendly and helpful, and we would certainly go back again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Bedroom 1 is very comfortable with a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelelvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

we stayed for two nights in October, the rooms were lovely and had all you needed, the bed was comfy with proper cotton bedding and comfy pillows. The menu was interesting and we were spoilt for choice the food when it arrived was simply amazing, good choice of wines also. The breakfasts were wonderful, lots of choice and freshly cooked, we're already planning a return trip in the spring
Pam C

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamcheeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Erth Praze, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Once again The Royal Oak Inn on Exmoor Withypool came up with a really nice plate of food.
Both main courses that my wife & I chose were perfect.
Nice choice of beers, ales & a really nice wine list.
Combined with a professional and friendly service made good the end of a busy day.
We shall be back!
I really like what the new owners Paul and Sarah have done since taking the Oak over.
Even the office/reception has changed for a "Cleaner" look
The food is now well balanced and you fight with your self as to what you'd like to eat.
I'm not really a "Drinker" these days but looking at the wine list, it certainly rivals the restaurants we visited in our recent cycle trip across France.
Sarah is not just owner but also a highly accomplished chef and it shows!
This Lovely Traditional Exmoor Inn is truly worthy of a visit or three...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We decided to stay in Exmoor at short notice for just a weekend get away and I'm glad we did.
The Royal Oak is set in a small village in the middle of Exmoor away from everything (no phone signal ..... great but free wifi)
On our arrival on Friday night we checked in to a lovely room, dog was catered for with welcoming biscuit bowl and blanket. Bathroom was spacious, lovely big bath and very clean. Bed was to die for.
Ate in the bar which had open log fire and a great rural feel to it. Then the food, quality through and through and superb value. I had the Partridge which was exceptional and my girlfriend had the fish which was equally as good.
Don't get me started on the breakfast......... incredible variety from porridge to naturally smoked haddock with poached egg. You need to take advantage of the local walk or you would be the size of a house. The walks were great by the way.
Truly made to feel very welcome and would highly recommend. Am already planning to take friends there as a treat.

One word of warning, the Mad Apple Cider on draught, not for the faint hearted.

Room Tip: Bring a Sat Nav
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Lovely peaceful village deep in Exmoor. Splendid old inn, with attractive bar(s), friendly landlord, but the food is the standout - far FAR above the norm, with a sure touch, plenty of imagination, and a good big plateful as well. Bedroom clean and comfortable. I am being a bit stingy in going to only 4 here - the bathroom was a shade cramped and tired (though it's an old building: I shouldn't expect anything else really) - and really it's 4 and a half at least. I'd stay again, no fears at all, and warmly recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Withypool
1.8 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
5.1 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Farm
King's Farm
#2 of 2 in Withypool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Withypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Withypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Withypool
The Royal Oak Inn Withypool, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing