We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn provided you don't mind butchered animals decorating the walls”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Withypool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn provided you don't mind butchered animals decorating the walls”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a lovely building with interestingly shaped rooms and two nice bars. It's a bit dreary when you arrive but someone will appear eventually. The land lord was away and I gather the staff had been left to fend for themselves which they were doing very well. The waitress appeared to be working non stop but was very friendly, polite and efficient.
The room was lovely with good linen on the bed and a shower and bath ensuite. A very weird toilet room with a mirror on every wall - a very strange experience.
The food was good generally but overpriced and the wine was also very expensive.
But my biggest grumble was the in your face hunting memorabilia - many stuffed stag's heads starring down at you off the walls, deer feet, fox heads - just awful - plus the barman talking of the 'kill' they'd had out hunting that day. I thought that was illegal!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redkite51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    43
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights at the Royal Oak in August 2014. I can't praise it enough.

First, it's a real pub, it feels like a real pub, with proper locals in the bar, and staff who clearly care.

The room was great. It had some character, the walls and floor are not all perfectly level, but the bed is amazingly comfy, the bathroom is spotlessly clean and it feels homely.

The food in this place is wonderful. Breakfast is done how it should be done. Good quality ingredients, carefully prepared. I can't remember when I last had such a good English brekkie.

Dinner is a revelation. The quality of the food is way better than you'd expect in a pub. The first night, they produced a dinner for 30 people that was simply wonderful. The third night, I went for more traditional pub fare and chose a mixed grill which was flawless, and enormous.

The location is beautiful, picture perfect.

And of course, the cider. Enough said.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have mixed feelings about this country pub / B & B.

First impressions were not great as we weren't given much of a welcome when we checked in. We were simply shown to the room, not given any information about breakfast or dinner not even a smile or a greeting. This poor first impression of the staff didn't really change during our stay as although they were efficient and met all our requests they could have been a little friendlier.

The style of accommodation is "cosy country inn" the room and bathroom were clean but in definite need of an upgrade or just a lick of paint. Our room was sold as a double but the bed was too small for a couple, perhaps other rooms have king size beds, it may be worth checking if you and your partner are of average build or more.

The pub is well used by locals and there is a good atmosphere in the evening, however this meant that on one night with a lively private party going on downstairs we weren't able to get to sleep till 1 am. Although this might be acceptable in a city centre pub, it rather spoilt our holiday which was supposed to be a relaxing, peaceful break.

On a more positive note the food was absolutely superb. The cooked breakfast was among the best I have ever eaten and there were plenty of options if you didn't want a full English. If you stay in the Inn there will be a table reserved for you for dinner every night in the bar which is a nice touch. There is nowhere else to eat in the village but you wouldn't want to go anywhere else as the food is delicious and the menu changes every night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The room could do with a bit of updating, but was perfectly comfortable and had all the things you need. The food at dinner and breakfast was very good and the landlord couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

First time visit and at first we were not sure whether to stop as the welcome could have been warmer but we had a meal and it was very good. Lovely pub and worth a visit as the food is very good. There seemed to be quite a few people staying there as well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynmouth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from our second stay in as many weeks at this fabulous pub in the heart of Exmoor. The first visit was 3 nights and the second just one (wished could've been longer!). The staff are really friendly, the food was delicious (recommend the lamb for dinner and the haddock for breakfast) and the rooms clean and comfortable with nice little touches you wouldn't expect like snugly dressing gowns etc. Excellent choice of wines too. Dog friendly and hunting friendly (of course on Exmoor!). Perfect!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampieux, france
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We last visited in January last year when the new owners had just taken over and were settling in. We have been again three times this month and are delighted that their efforts have been great. The food, choice and ambiance are once again great. We also enjoyed a couple of the Sunday night quiz nights, so a good time was enjoyed by all. Well worth a visit , one of the best in exmoor

Room Tip: Did not stay, but dined at the pub at least 3 times
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Withypool
1.8 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
5.1 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Farm
King's Farm
#2 of 2 in Withypool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.9 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
5.1 mi away
Exmoor Forest Inn
Exmoor Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Simonsbath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Withypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Withypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Withypool
The Royal Oak Inn Withypool, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing