We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location surrounded by stunning...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bridge Cottage

A romantic cosy cottage situated beside the beautiful River Barle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A romantic cosy cottage situated beside the beautiful River Barle
The view of Bridge Cottage garden from your bedroom window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
A romantic cosy cottage situated beside the beautiful River Barle
The view of Bridge Cottage garden from your bedroom window
The Classic 1950's Petrol station in the heart of Withypool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Withypool, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Excursion...
1 review
“Beautiful location surrounded by stunning countryside.”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Bridge Cottage is very characterful with a picture-perfect location on the banks of the River Barle. While old and rather quirky, the cottage has a friendly, cosy atmosphere. It was lovely to light the log burning fire in the evenings and to eat breakfast in the homely, well-equipped country kitchen. There are loads of walks right from your doorstep, but the cottage is only a short and very scenic drive from many other places of interest: the Heddon Valley with its quite magical woods and spectacular views of the coast, Lynton and Lynmouth, Porlock and Porlock Weir, Dunkery Beacon-the highest point on Exmoor, Dunster with its historical town and castle, The Valley of the Rocks, Malmsmead and Oare- the setting for the famous novel Lorna Doone, Morthoe and Woolacombe, which was perfect for our teenage children to paddle-board and body-board. There is also a lovely cafe right on the beach there that does brilliant crab sandwiches.
Bridge cottage provided a memorable autumn break, especially beautiful with the autumnal colours of the woods this year. We saw ponies, red deer and all kinds of birds, so great for nature lovers. The cottage is a very short walk from the local village shop, tearooms and The Royal Oak- a lovely old pub that does very nice evening meals. We would recommend the steak and Exmoor Ale pie. They serve local game too, venison and grouse.
The ceilings of the cottage are low in places, so watch your head if you're tall, and some of the flooring upstairs is a bit wonky. The bathroom is spacious, but a little prone to damp- ventilation and heating perhaps needs a bit of an upgrade. However, its charming character and location compensated to a large extent for this and we would like to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Damp bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramejat
Brighton England
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage.”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fabulous old cottage on the river, with a lovely garden and great views. Very cosy, good beds, and a terrific log fire. Also the sky is amazing at night and it's worth bringing your telescope and star chart.
The owners, Tony and Anita, also run the village store and post office, where you can buy all the essentials as well as some great local bread and meat.
Good walks from the house to Tarr Steps or Landacre Bridge, and the rest of the moor and coast are very accessible.
If you want a want a drink and terrific home baked cakes and food try the tea rooms across the road ( yes Tony and Anita run them as well).
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking space was bit tight for two cars but the public car park is just over the bridge.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth0613
Pickens, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An idyllic cottage in a magical village.”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Bridge Cottage is without doubt the loveliest cottage in the village, with direct access to the River Barle, a stunning view of Withypool Hill, a precious garden and great charm! Filled with antique furnishings and accessories, outfitted with everything required for a comfortable stay, and located within walking distance of the village shop, tea room, church and the Royal Oak, this cottage is all that we had hoped, and more. We were grateful of the wood-burning stove on chilly evenings, and enjoyed waking up to sunshine streaming through the windows and reflecting from the waters of the River. The river-sounds, so near at hand, lulled us to sleep at night. Withypool itself is perfectly poised to explore the beauty of Exmoor, whether by car or on foot. The walking all around the village is some of the best we experienced on the moor, with easy access to Tarr Steps, Lanacre Bridge, the tumulus atop Withypool Hill, etc. We encountered herds of wild ponies and of red deer, enjoyed the bluebell woods and the gently rolling hillsides all about. It was lovely to have the village shop and Tony and Anita so near to hand. They provided us with a warm welcome and did everything possible to make our stay truly comfortable. We will return to Bridge Cottage without hesitation,a nd cannot recommend it more highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The charm of the location and atmosphere.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila S
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magical Winter Break”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My partner, son and his girlfriend and our two German shepherd dogs have just spent Xmas and New Year at Bridge Cottage. When we arrived, we were really impressed by the warmth and cosiness of the cottage, moreso owing to the lovely Xmas decorations provided by Anita and Tony. Hot water on demand made sharing the family bathroom easy and comfy beds ensured our rest. The first day we spent settling in and gazing out of the window at the lovely river views. Xmas Day cooking dinner at our leisure was so relaxing - we had everything we needed in such a well equipped kitchen. We enjoyed fantastic walks during our stay and always looked forward to returning to our cosy base. I can highly recommend following the river to the sea at Heddon's Mouth, followed by lovely food at The Hunters Inn. The West Somerset Steam Railway from Minehead is a great way to see the countryside - no stress and really friendly staff who made us and our dogs welcome. Dulverton, Dunster, Lynmouth, Tarr Steps and Selworthy were all picturesque places to explore. Leaving Bridge Cottage today was a sad affair because we have been truly at home there. Thank you to Anita and Tony for the champagne and for anticipating everything we needed during our stay. We highly recommend Bridge Cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTSTOKIE
SATFFORDSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pure English Delight”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

After a nightmare journey on the M6/M5 this lovely cottage is just what we needed with its wonderful location in the quaint village of Withypool. The cottage and its location are outstanding, to walk out of the sun room into a very pretty garden straight down to the river is a pure delight. We had a lovely time 'fishing' in the river with our daughter and she particularly enjoyed playing with Amy and Suzanna (our hosts delightful daughters) and we were made to feel very welcome by Tony and Anita. The village shop is run by Tony and Anita so it is nice to have that contact just in case you need them for anything and they also live in the village. We visited Exmoor Zoo and the Big Sheep which were both excellent and the Woolacombe beach is very good with some nice tea rooms in the area, the beach is very large so a great place to take kids or just relax. We enjoyed ourselves so much we have already booked for next year, this cottage and its location need to be seen to be believed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly hosts
Liked least: Parking a bit tight
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris N
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Found the sound of the river very therapeutic.
Wonderful walk & delicious cream tea at Tarr Steps & the cliff top walk at Valley of the Rocks in Lynton is thoroughly recommended.
Really good food, fabulous service with a warm & friendly welcome was had at The Exmoor White Horse Inn in Exford.
The lovely garden was enjoyed by all but especially by our border collie.
Lovely week that went far too quickly.
P.S. Extremely comfy beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden & river
Liked least: Parking access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful homely cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Ideal central location for the heart of Exmoor. The cottage is full of character and charm, which will make you feel instantly at home. Bridge Cottage is in a peaceful location with a wonderful garden and picturesque views of the river and beyond. Tony & Anita (owners) are very helpful and will do there upmost to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Great walks from the village, check out The Royal Oak for great food and chat. Village tea room opening soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing