We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a lovely place”
other travellers have booked this property
Gorse Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorse Cottage
The kitchen diner is light and spacious.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Gorse Cottage
The kitchen diner is light and spacious.
Kitchen
Sitting room with wood-burner.
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
En-suite bathroom
En-suite bathroom
Second Bedroom - zip link beds providing flexibility for use as kingsize or twin
Second Bedroom
Twin bedroom.
Garden
Outside Patio Area
Enclosed garden.
View from the bridge up to Withypool Common.
Withypool Bridge
The River Barle at Withypool Bridge.  A great place to play!
Withypool
Exmoor Ponies
Woolacombe
Woolacombe Beach - accessible to dogs throughout the year.
Tarr Steps
Landacre Bridge - a Medieval 5 span bridge over the River Barle
Sunset over the River Barle at Withypool
Local residents!
Snow on the Moor
Withypool in Autumn
View to Landacre Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Withypool, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jill H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a lovely place”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in July 2017

This cottage is lovely. Clean, comfortable with a lovely big kitchen/diner perfect for a relaxing holiday. Withypool is well situated with a river running through which is great for paddling in the summer. There is easy access to Devon, Exmoor and all that that entails. I would thoroughly recommend it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased you had a good holiday and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papillon2...
Paris, France
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in August 2017

We had a brilliant time in this lovely cottage. It is very well equipped. The kitchen is light and airy and leads out onto a patio area where we ate out on a few occasions as the weather was glorious. We had lovely local walks on Withypool Common and towards Tarr Steps with the dog, who also loved playing in the River Barle with the children. The river is great for the kids and they had fun with their fishing nets. It's a great location, very peaceful. Just the sound of horses walking by and bird song. Good shop and tea room in the village and a pub. We also enjoyed the beach at Woolacombe. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Gorse Cottage. We are delighted you had a good holiday and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
1 review
“Beautifully located well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I had a fantastic stay here over Feb half term. The cottage is well appointed and equipped with just about everything you could possibly need. The cottage has a homely feel and is lovely and clean. The local shop, tea rooms and pub all within a few minutes walk and many walks directly from the door and beaches an easy drive. I've already booked a return visit.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M6545TOpa...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and great location”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Gorse Cottage with a friend for a few days walking around Exmoor. It’s well appointed, was spotlessly clean (until we brought in our muddy boots) and more than big enough for us. As any walker knows, the chief requirements for a base are good location, good pub and good tearoom and this place scored on all three. It's also only a couple of minutes away from the river. We were lucky with the weather so made use of the garden in the evenings which was an unexpected bonus. We didn’t use the fire but would be very handy if the weather hadn’t been so good. We ate out most of the time but there seemed to be everything you need if you wanted to eat in. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a good stay and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Find”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a lovely few days here in July and were delighted with this cottage. It was light and airy, so even on the one day the weather was not that great, it was nice and cosy to spend time inside. There was everything we needed in the kitchen. The location is great for visiting the local area. We will be back again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you had a good break and look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little gem”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Gorse Cottage is a little gem: light and spacious yet still really cosy. The cottage was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. It's perfectly set in an exceptional location - amazing scenery everywhere and so close to the moors for great walks with the dog. I love that it's dog-friendly, even in the tea-room! It would be lovely here at any time of year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable holiday and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicholasm...
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very well placed and appointed cottage in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Gorse Cottage is within easy walking distance of Withypool Hill where we saw lots of Exmoor ponies and one red deer. It is close to the well stocked and friendly village shop. Even closer is the River Barle where this week the water level was low enough for the children to paddle and use their fishing nets.
The cottage is roomy, well appointed and comfortable and (if weather permits) the garden is a sun trap.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay at Gorse Cottage. We have worked hard to make it welcoming. Pleased you saw the local wildlife & the children were able to enjoy the River Barle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;