We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get much better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chapel Knap Accommodation
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
1 review
“It doesn't get much better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Coach House in Porlock Weir,Well we couldn't find fault with the cottage. It was well equipped and had everything we needed. The view from the kitchen window made washing up a pleasure and we were blessed with the best weather for March I have known making this a perfect place to stay. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Coach House to anyone and I hope to stay there again as there is so much to do if you like walking. There were lots of information on places to go and eat as well as detailed information at hand about the walks. if your thinking of booking don't hesitate as you'll love it.

Kevin & Sandy

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    4
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shipham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed in the Stable Block recently - it was fabulous, really loved the setting, the view, the house, it had everything you need and very nicely fitted out. The only negative for me (not a complaint) was the layout of the living area, I couldn't understand why the dining table is in front of the sofa and telly effectively blocking the fireplace and bookcase (and with your boots by the door after a lovely days walking, gives you a feeling of messyness when relaxing on the sofa), I definitely would have the table behind the sofa to give a much more of a cosy feel to the room. Please consider changing the layout Chapel Knap, as I say not a complaint but you should try it. Even if the layout doesn't change i will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ShiphamSynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend staying in The Coach House in Porlock Weir.
Having read the reviews on here before we went, our expectations were high. Believe me, we were not disappointed. The apartment has been very thoughfully equiped, and lacks for nothing, right down to the smallest detail. It is literally like being home from home. The views are fantastic from both up and downs stairs. It was a little cold to sit outside (Feb), but there is a very large garden that you can take advatage of in the better weather, and a nice patio area directly outside where you can relax and take in the fantastic views. This is a real gem, and have already sent off an email to the owners to make some further bookings later on in the year.
If you want a luxurious apartment with some amazing views in a tucked away location, then they don`t come much better than this. Plus, you are only a couple of minutes walk from the harbour where there is a pub and resturants plus some craft/shops etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDLCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We had a wonderful short Christmas break staying at Dunn's Cottage. The accommodation was very clean and homely with everything we needed and much more (including some much needed duck tape for my daughter's car at one point). The log fire was amazing, warming our hearts as well as the house and providing a lovely homely atmosphere on Christmas night as we sat round opening our presents! So good we stayed an extra night!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed in Quay Cottage and had a perfect holiday experience from start to finish. The cottage itself was quirky and very cosy so we felt at home straight away. The booking process was easy and efficient and small touches like milk in the fridge for when we arrived and lights on in the house to guide the way made all the difference. We'll certainly re book for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Booked The Stable Block via the Internet and it looked great but when we arrived it was incredible sheer luxury the furnishings were excellent as were all the little extras bottle of wine etc ,wonderful views ,peaceful every thing you require for a Holiday. Short walk to the local pub/resaraunt. and beach. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank skippy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

What can I say,perfection is the only word, from the stunning setting to the decor with everything you could possibly need with Caroline the most charming hostess. Porlock Weir is beautiful almost in a time warp,very quiet and unspoilt.It was lovely to sit outside at breakfast looking at the weir, then later to walk down and hardly see anybody else.It was great to to be welcomed with wine and a few goodies.Wonderful for our Beardie,Buffy who enjoyed herself on the beach with the whole area very dog friendly.The Coach House has lovely stone floors,furniture and all the finishing touches such as hairdryer, tongs and white bathrobes,and a beautiful bed.Just Fabulous

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony08_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Knap Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Knap Accommodation

Property: Chapel Knap Accommodation
Address: Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chapel Knap Accommodation - spectacular sea views, luxurious barn conversion and cottage, Exmoor National Park. Our top-quality 5-star self-catering apartments overlooking Porlock Weir and the bay offer couples and families a unique coastal get-away with breathtaking sea views. We offer 3 separate units: The Coach House, The Stable Block, St. Anthony's Cottage. All have been converted into luxurious accommodation with no expense spared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chapel Knap Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Knap Hotel Porlock Weir
Chapel Knap Accommodation Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing