We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beatuful honeymoon getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chapel Knap Accommodation
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a mini honeymoon for a week. We stayed in the stable block, and were delighted. It was nice to have modern stylish decor, yet still retaining some of the old features. What stunning views! As the electric gates open, the view took my breath away, every-time!

Location - It is a short walk to Porlock Weir. We ate at Andrews on the weir (expensive, but nice for a special night), and the bottom Ship pub (value for money home cooked pub food). To get into the village it is about a 40minute walk, or a few minutes in the car. There is loads to do in the area, be it driving, or walking. We visited Dunster, and Dunster Castle, drove to Woolacombe for a beautiful beach and went to Brendon for a famous cream tea. There is so much to do you wont get board!

Value for money - Whilst there are places that are cheaper in and around Porlock, they do not look a patch on this modern apartment. I definitely think it is value for money.

Thanks to Caroline & Christopher for looking after us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

What a fabulous find.Caroline and her team have a real gem here.Have a look at our photos.The cottage is a high quality fab place.Very clean,great facilities and views to dioe for.No wonder this place is pretty fully booked.You will love it.Highlights are the fire,the leather sofas,the fine local books,fully equipped kitchen,powerful showers,the quiet!.This place is 5 star all the way and I vouch you won't find a more special place in all the UK.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReggieSpoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Stayed here with partner and 2 friends and our dog - perfect!!
The cottage is stunning with amazing views, clean, very warm and very comfortable. Top end fittings and amazingly comfy beds
The garden is very secure and huge so brilliant for our energectic dog.
Its like being in a special valley as the rest of the country is under a blanket of snow with sub zero temperatures and Porlock is green and beautiful.
Pretty good pub in Porlock Weir which serves traditional pub food.
Cant recommend Chapel Knap cottages highly enough - this was our second visit and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank des110468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We had high expectations after this cottage had been recommended by a friend at work. We were not disappointed. Beautiful cottage. It doesn't take long before you feel completely at home. A lot of thought has gone into supplying everything you will need on your visit and the extra touches ie. bottle of wine on arrival and supply of tea (which I have to say have become quite addicted to) makes the stay that much more special. Can't recommend it enough, so much, we have booked again in May.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winston05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed for a long weekend in the Coach House. Fabulous romantic getaway, lovely luxurious, warm cosy place. Stunning views from kitchen, made cooking and washing up a pleasure! Great pub nearby, Bottom Ship, in Porlock weir just a few mins walk away, and dog friendly. Good location for the pebble beach and walks into Exmoor National Park. Great little garden area at the front, dog loved it! All round an awesome find and would definately return. (Also met with Catherine the co-owner, very friendly and welcoming, thank you) xx.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieSue27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The cottage we stayed at was The Crows Nest. After navigating the extremely tight access driveway our arrival at the cottage was welcoming with tea, milk and biscuits awaiting. The cottage was spacious with a stunning view over Porlock Weir but really needed some thought for the expectations and needs of visitors (wanting to be impressed) and money spending on it to freshen up the furnishings etc and bring them up to modern standards. It was poor value at £750 pw. Positives were good supply of crockery, utensils etc, a brilliant shower in en suite bathroom, space for bikes, sunny front garden overlooking the weir, just a couple of minutes walk to the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapelknap, Owner at Chapel Knap Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2011

Steve thanks for this review on The Crows Nest. It reads mostly positive but scores 2 out of 5 which is frustrating for us. We will take a look at your suggestion as see where improvements can made. All our other customers leave very positive feedback on this charming character cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My partner and I were looking for a last minute getaway, to no particular place for a long weekend. Imagine my delight when I stumbled across the Chapel Knap accommodation, and there had been a cancellation for the exact weekend we required. I made my enquires to see if they would be interested in having us for 3 nights, they reply said it was free and I was quoted a price (full price). As the week tariff had been discounted, I asked them to consider a slight reduction. I'm very surprised to hear this morning that it is no longer available, they had rented it to someone for the week. How disgusting.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank nikki1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapelknap, Owner at Chapel Knap Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

This lady has never stayed in any of our cottages. I offered her £300 off our list price for this period she wanted to book as it was last minute, when asked for a further discount I turned down her offer and took a booking from another person. I feel this review is based on her disappointment for not taking the chance to stay at Chapel Knap but she is welcome to come and stay at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chapel Knap Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Knap Accommodation

Address: Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Porlock Weir
Price Range: £40 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chapel Knap Accommodation - spectacular sea views, luxurious barn conversion and cottage, Exmoor National Park. Our top-quality 5-star self-catering apartments overlooking Porlock Weir and the bay offer couples and families a unique coastal get-away with breathtaking sea views. We offer 3 separate units: The Coach House, The Stable Block, St. Anthony's Cottage. All have been converted into luxurious accommodation with no expense spared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chapel Knap Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Knap Hotel Porlock Weir
Chapel Knap Accommodation Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing