We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Millers At The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Felt like we were staying in the home of a rather grand and eccentric old friend. Warm, cosy, faded and a bit threadbare in a nice way. Staff welcoming and friendly. Room had everything we wanted, bed big and comfortable.
Good breakfast, flexible options. Lovely location. Great for a couple of days get-away, especially off season - perfect for long coastal walk and wet and windy afternoon reading by the fire. Background music not my personal taste but low volume and I dare say they would have changed it had I asked.

Room Tip: We had a large room overlooking the harbour which added to overall enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have recently returned from a weekend break and have to say what a wonderful weekend we had.

The hotel is exactly like the photos and this was very welcome as it was the photos that made us book. Full of antiques and books, which you can spend hours looking at - not a clean cut corporate hotel but that is not what we wanted. Being a small hotel it is very personal and you are made to feel at home!!

Check-in was very quick and easy. We were shown to our room which, although very small, was functional. When we return we will ask for a larger room. Having a room overlooking the harbour is a must.

After we checked in we went down to the bar and were offered our complimentary gin and tonics (Millers gin is the only one served – but it is fantastic).

We opted to dine in the restaurant on both nights and can only praise the quality and choice of foods. My husband has coeliac disease and this was not a problem – he could eat almost everything on the menu (and the dishes that he could not eat they altered slightly to suit). The chef at this hotel is top quality and a definite asset to the hotel, as is Marie, who did everything she could to make our stay wonderful.

Breakfast was very fulfilling and again was totally gluten free (they even have gluten free cereals and gluten free bread available).

We spent the whole weekend in Porlock Weir, choosing to walk to Culbone Church. This is a very challenging walk (mostly uphill on the way there through woods) but very worthwhile when you get there.

On our return we had our complimentary cream tea – wow – again gluten free scones were provided.

Dinner on the second night was as good as the first.

We will definitely return to this hotel – hopefully soon – as I think it will come into its own when the fires are lit for the winter.

Room Tip: Harbour View Rooms are worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne_and_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just come back from a wonderful weekend with friends at the Anchor. Fabulous, stylish, different hotel - everyone loved it. Friendly staff (Maria is a gem), excellent food, nothing was too much trouble even though we were 10 people and 4 dogs! Pretty location and stunning views from the harbour rooms. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnPan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Millers. We traveled with our toddler, and we found the staff very accommodating and friendly. We were only there for one night, but I think that was long enough for the little one as there is not much for a child of that age to do in Porlock Weir!

Room Tip: The sea view in Room 5 is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We travelled with our friends on an Amazon deal with a harbour view from each room and a cream tea and millers gin and tonic included in the deal. We had room 5 and our friends had room 11 on the floor level above us. Both rooms were fine and had good views to the sea. The en-suite rooms are okay but the shower we had was a low trickle really, so don't expect a power shower.
The hotel is really quirky and full of character. Book shelves galore, old board games or chess boards are there to use to pass an hour or so away, a DVD rack where you can borrow one for free and even a room where you can sit on a comfy sofa and watch the film in a relaxed cinema room! Antiques are everywhere as are the little bowls of hard sweets to help yourself too...I took a pocketful when we went on a long walk.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent with a good choice to choose from. The staff were good and friendly.
The hotel is in a good location overlooking the harbour and also has excellent local walks. Nearby is the town of Porlock which has some nice shops and a pub or two.
This was a good value break and was worth the journey for something a bit different.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are worth the extra and tend to be a bit roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaffafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel which we booked through an Amazon voucher staying in a harbour view room. What can I say, it is quirkey, full of antiquities and refreshing in its individuality. Maria was the most charming, efficient and delightful manager, who led by example I imagine, nothing was too much trouble. She is a credit to the hotel, thank you all of you

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Millers for 4 nights in September for my birthday. It is a lovely location and the building is old and full of character as well as being crammed full of all sorts of antiques and curiosities. It was so nice to be in a good quality hotel that wasn't a chain with room after room exactly the same. We were in the Oscar Wilde room with a fantastic view over the harbour. Listening to the sound of the waves on the shore each night was wonderful. The only down sides were the bathroom being very small - just the shower and toilet and the hand basin in the room itself. Whilst this was less than ideal I appreciate the difficulties in these old buildings and I would rather have a small private bathroom than none. The TV signal wasn't great - it was largely BBC Wales but I wasn't on holiday to watch TV so we weren't bothered. Didn't use the Wifi either so couldn't comment- although there is a computer downstairs for guest use.

There might be issues for the less mobile. We had to negotiate 2 flights of stairs - the second of which was very narrow and winding.

We found the staff excellent. They were very professional and helpful as well as very friendly and welcoming. They were always available but not intrusive. The breakfasts were excellent -nice selection of continental and cooked food. I have seldom had such perfect scrambled eggs.

I will definitely be returning to Millers -its not perfect which makes it all the more appealing.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are marvellous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
8.3 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
656 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers At The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers At The Anchor

Address: Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range: £45 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers At The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th-century harbor for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbor with stunning coastal views. Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Millers At The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers At The Anchor Hotel Porlock
Millers At The Anchor Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing