We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab time yet again xx”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millers At The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Yet another great stay , thank you Tanya and your staff for such a lovely break , two nights felt like a week away , just so relaxing, great food , good company xx we will be back in July for the weirfest ;)

Room Tip: All good and great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobysusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Booked this on an Amazon Local deal back in July and have to say we loved it. It is unique, quirky and very cosy and relaxing with roaring open fires to sit and have the G&T by. Our rooms had harbour views, were comfy and they seem to have thought of everything, even if you wanted a flask of tea/soup (small price), if you were going on a long ramble. All the rooms are crammed with antiques and Collectibles. I don't know where they will find room for the Christmas tree! We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was lovely, on hot plates and presented well, once or twice service could have been a little better. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh with lovely proper coffee and the cream tea which was included in our deal was gorgeous with warm scones. I would have liked to have met Tanya to personally pass on my thanks, although Victor does a fab job of running the place, including keeping the fire going and lighting all those candles every day. The trays of sweets are a lovely touch. We will definitely return to this little gem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed for two nights in November. Beautiful setting and a lovely hotel. Our room had a huge and very comfortable 4-poster bed and a wonderful sea view. Love the hotel décor and all the books everywhere. Food and drink of a very high standard and staff could not have been more helpful. We loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bashal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you value something unique and don't want to stay in a run of the mill hotel and appreciate stunning views and fabulous food; then book yourself into this hotel for an amazing break. Each room is individual (we stopped in two and they were both great) the hotel is festooned with antiques and quirky items which all add to the experience. The staff are lovely and the restaurant serves wonderful and well priced food. Go on, spoil yourself for a little while.

Room Tip: Room 11 has brilliant views across the Bristol Channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamParker1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

6 of us stayed for the weekend in very nice surroundings, with helpful, friendly & polite staff, excellent food and excellent wine.

The staff were also very knowledgeable about local walks etc. and happy to explain the routes etc.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_Walkden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just come back from a fabulous weekend at the Anchor celebrating our Golden Wedding with family and friends. The staff were amazing, the food great, and nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure our celebration was truly memorable. Everyone loved the quirky surroundings and the welcoming and comfortable atmosphere. We hope to be there for our Diamond Wedding !

Room Tip: Room 1a overlooking the harbour with a huge real four poster bed was extremely comfortable and relax...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Anita U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spotted this lovely hotel when we were staying nearby in August and came back for two nights during October half term. Loved the unusual interior crammed full of interesting antiques and collectables and so many books. Our room had a wonderful sea view and the hotel was perfect for a get away from it all break exploring the area on foot or by car. We had good weather but I wouldn't have minded being stuck at the hotel if the weather had been terrible because we felt so welcome and at home here.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
8.3 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
656 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 3 in Dunster
777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers At The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers At The Anchor

Address: Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range: £45 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers At The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th-century harbor for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbor with stunning coastal views. Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Millers At The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers At The Anchor Hotel Porlock
Millers At The Anchor Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing