We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millers At The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Called in for morning coffee. Definitely recommend this unusual place. The curios make a great atmosphere and the staff and coffee were lovely. The situation was perfect, even though it was a bit drizzly outside. Get down there!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Millers At The Anchor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Initial impressions were of a faded hotel but by the time we left we loved the place. It's hard to convey the atmosphere of such a quirky place. The staff were consistently delightful - welcoming, helpful and efficient. The food was very good. We loved the 'dinner and movie' deal. The private cinema was fun if rather cool although blankets are provided! The building was the only aspect that was disappointing. The single glazing was not fully compensated for by the heating. Fortunately the weather was not too cold but if it had been that could have been a problem. The windows in our room and bathroom were missing window latches so we couldn't close the windows properly. Had it been windy the bathroom would have been seriously cold and the loo was by the window, away from the radiator! The over-bath shower head bracket was broken so showering was a bit tricky. Lighting is generally gloomy, with several failed bulbs in the stairwell chandelier. This made the place look rather uncared for. Despite these niggles, the more time we spent in the hotel the more we enjoyed it and came to appreciate the wealth of pictures, furniture and artefacts - very eclectic and intriguing. We're not antiques connoisseurs and the hotel is not a museum but a few notes about some of the pieces might interest some guests. There is an amazing wealth of books and DVDs so no problem on a rainy day but beware TV in this area. Apparently reception is poor to non-existent depending on weather although we don't care much for TV so it wasn't a problem for us. We were delighted with our picnic (smoked salmon sandwich).

Room Tip: Ask how private the bathroom is. Our toilet was in full, clear view of the nearby Cafe!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowcarbon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just got back from our second stay at millers at the anchor a 3 night midweek stay. Such a relaxing and beautiful place to stay, staff so friendly and welcoming, room was a Harbour view room with a four poster bed very nice room. Food in restaurant was excellent great service to. Location is ideal a lovely place to get away from it all. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break. Will be going back later in the year can't wait

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bernard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The minute you step into Millers, you realise this is certainly not your run of the mill hotel! The staff are friendly and welcoming and the whole atmosphere is relaxed. Every room is full of collectables and antiques, some lovely, some not so lovely, but all fascinating and there to be explored. Bedrooms are certainly quirky and may not be totally fault free, (ours had a few lights which didn't work and a very patchy TV signal,) but the bed was super-comfortable and the view over the harbour made up for any short comings.
Food was scrumptious and I'd thoroughly recommend the cream tea, especially after a bracing walk. There's not much to beat coming in from the cold, sitting by a fire and demolishing fresh scones with cream and jam! In the restaurant staff have the happy knack of finding the right balance between attentive service without being overly fussy.
When we were there, Porlock was still recovering from major floods in the area and many of the local footpaths were very muddy and impassable in places. But in finer weather, there's plenty of good walking right from the front of the hotel. Should you be stuck inside by the weather, there are books galore here or games such as dominoes to help you while away an hour or two.
Millers feels like stepping back in time a bit, and I'd thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryjslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Loved this hotel the minute we stepped through the door - such a magical and homely atmosphere with the smell of log fires, relaxing background music, candlelight and so many antiques tastefully displayed. The surroundings are so unusual and quirky and such a refreshing change to run of the mill reception areas you usually find. Staff were attentive but in a laid back way befitting to the general ambience.
We were more than happy with room 2, large and furnished in a similar homely style with yet more old books, ornaments and elegant furniture. Would definitely recommend paying extra for the fabulous harbour view.
The pub next door was very handy for a pre-dinner drink or two. It was a Sunday and the hotel restaurant was quiet with only 2 other tables occupied. We were seated just outside the main restaurant area and quite close together so neighbouring conversations could be overheard which was a bit off-putting. However all 3 courses were tasty and wine enjoyable and it was so nice to end the evening with a "house" gin and tonic by the fireside. No problem if the staff want to retire before you as the honesty bar comes into operation which is a nice touch.
Breakfast was also good - one small gripe was having to make our own toast which meant standing around waiting until it was ready. I would prefer toast to be brought to the table from the kitchen.
Cannot recommend this hotel enough for location and character. Hats off to Martin Miller who leaves behind a legacy of flamboyant style for many to enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domino98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A charming comfortable first class hotel with breath taking views, first class ambience, service and food..............cannot wait to visit again one of the most relaxing hotels we have visited, The lounge area is charming with so much to look at , the lit candles add a certain ambience.........we spent relaxing time playing backgammon but you could read or just look at the bay view......with tea or the wonderful Millers gin & tonic....

Room Tip: It's worth a bedroom with a sea view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

How do you sum up this place? Is it a restaurant, hotel, antique shop or Steptoe's Yard? I guess the answer to that question is 'all of the above.'
The hotel is in a lovely position, right on the harbours edge, offering views over Porlock Bay, to the South coast of Wales and every room is absolutely filled to the gunnels with 'stuff!'
Paintings, books, artefacts, you name it, this place is full of it! Alright if you like that kind of thing I suppose but if you prefer minimalism, this isn't the place for you.
That said, the few staff we saw were very polite and attentive and the food was to a fine standard. There are a number of things that differentiate this hotel, the clutter is one, however, I really like the traditional honesty bar which adds to the homely feel of the place. Just make sure you try the Miller's Gin & Tonic.

Room Tip: Ask about the add-on packages, i.e. free G&T and Cream Teas.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
1.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
181 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
6.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
0.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
364 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers At The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers At The Anchor

Address: Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range: £74 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers At The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th-century harbor for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbor with stunning coastal views. Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millers At The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers At The Anchor Hotel Porlock
Millers At The Anchor Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing