We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old english quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millers At The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely old english quirky hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We LOVED staying here, we had a room with a view of the harbour and a comfy four poster bed. The staff were lovely and even though they were learning english on the job they tried very hard. We had a lovely meal on the Friday night (18.4.14) with great service and a view of the tide coming in. The building is stuffed full of antiques with a comfy lounge and library stuffed full of books and games. The only minor point is that our room needed better and darker curtains for summer (we always wear eye masks anyway) and some of the paint needed touching up BUT these are only minor points - I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view with a four poster bed is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    157
    56
    33
    13
See reviews for
60
359
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit here but our first stay. We had a room overlooking the sea which was beautiful watching the sun rise. The bathroom was clean and the power shower was excellent, good job the kids were not with us cos we would never have left the room!

Great choice of breakfast with attentive pleasant staff. The quirkiness of the place is bonkers and I loved the comfort and the honesty bar, which we used :) if you want to get away from it all then this place will not disappoint you, reading, chess, monopoly and a cinema all on hand. The food in the restaurant is superb.

If i could complain about anything here it would be a few cobwebs here and there which i suppose add to the character and antiques, a little sooty around the real fireplace and the torn sofas which are really worn and a bit grubby, but are comfy to sit in for a while.

The surrounding countryside is truly magical and a trip into Lynton and Lynmouth are well worth the ride along the coastal road. If your a walker then there are some great places to trek about.

All in all its a beautiful part of the south west to visit and the hotel well worth a stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bowler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just arrived back from a short stay at the Millers at the Anchor hotel. The hotel is set in Porlock Weir with beautiful views over the harbour. The inside is crammed with antiques and books. On arrival, we were welcomed and shown around the hotel and to our room, which had stunning views across the harbour. It was also spacious and the bed was very comfortable.

There was a choice of breakfast served in the morning, from smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to a full English. The breakfast was very tasty and the service was excellent.

Miller gin is delicious and the glasses that it comes in are very unusual. Definitely recommend!

Overall it was a fantastic break and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I went with some friends who arranged the visit and it was a total surprise where we were going. It is hard to describe what a gem this place is. Stuffed with antiques, rooms that are individual and trays of sweets everywhere. There is a little cinema with several sofas arranged cinema style. It wasn't in use the days we were there but it would be great fun to watch a film in there. Breakfast was good. didn't eat there in the evenings so can't comment. The bed was comfortable and the view from my window over the harbour was worth the cost on its' own. I am hoping to take my wife there later in the year. I just love the place!

Room Tip: I had room 5 overlooking the harbour. Perfect! (If you are a light sleeper the windows can rattle ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely quirky hotel, great for couples or groups of friends, just sit in the large lounge and eat and drink, Victor and his staff are very relaxed but attentive. Bit of a long drive from the main roads but what a reward when you arrive, the views are stunning. Simply
lovely........

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasider050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A very remarkable and memorable place, full to the brim with antiquities and curios of all shapes and sizes. Everywhere you looked there was at least one surprising object d'art and often more than one! The view from our harbour view was simply beautiful. There was so much that we enjoyed: our clean and superbly located bedroom, lovely fluffy towels including some you could wrap around yourself - no skimpy thin and scratchy towels in sight. Bed linen was of good quality too. An easy to achieve improvement would be the provision of a small amount of hand soap or hand wash in the en-suite. No toiletries are provided, but available to buy if you have forgotten them. However, a little soap would have been appreciated as I hadn't packed any. The restaurant offers beautiful views, lots of space between tables and linen table cloths and napkins. Much appreciated. We found the food to be disappointingly mediocre and we weren't alone: my husband had moules for his starter, I had crevettes. Neither of us was offered a finger bowl, but the diner on a nearby table eating a similar dish was given one. My husband ordered rack of lamb for his main course and one of the cutlets was very, very undercooked - we did report this because it was so very obvious, however nothing was done to address this. Meanwhile, a couple dining nearby were having to eat their main courses at different times - the woman had sent her steak back. She had requested medium rare. It returned as her partner finished his main, but was very obviously over cooked as we could see when she sliced her way through in search of a glimpse of pinkness. She left her meal and no enquiry was made as to why. Breakfast was variable too with obvious inconsistencies in presentation of food and very tasteless sausages. By contrast, we found other good local restaurants proudly cooking and serving good quality locally sourced food stuffs. The positives definitely outweighed the positives and the location is stunning, but we are unlikely to return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerning_Diner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is the first review I have ever written but Millers at the Anchor deserves it.

We have stayed here three or four times and have been very pleased with every visit. The service has always been first class and we just love the quirky appeal of the place.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and both breakfast and dinner were excellent. Some people may find a few things like worn carpets in some areas a little disappointing but it didn't worry us in the slightest. Everything seemed clean and tidy and the location and views were spectacular.

We originally booked through an agency but when I saw a lower priced offer the hotel happily offered us the better price - amazing !

We will certainly be back again and would thoroughly recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms are definitely worth the extra cost !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ook900g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
1.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
358 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers At The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers At The Anchor

Property: Millers At The Anchor
Address: Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers At The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th-century harbor for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbor with stunning coastal views. Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Millers At The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers At The Anchor Hotel Porlock
Millers At The Anchor Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing