We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Millers at the Anchor
Nearby Hotels
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
US$158
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
291
170
59
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
170
59
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquirky hotelmillers ginhonesty barharbour viewbric a bracmartin millerafternoon teaout of seasonpub next doorsmall harbouran eclectic mixbristol channelthe staff were greatworth a visitantique shoproaring firethe pub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As previous reviewers have said, wonderfully quirky and interesting hotel. Lovely friendly staff full of smiles - particularly the charming manager. Room was very nice, albeit a little small, with a wonderful view over the harbour. Breakfast was excellent and again very friendly and efficient service. We had dinner in the restaurant and I suppose the food was a tad disappointing - mussels were very nice but the sauce with the fish didn't work terribly well. The chicken dish was below average - chicken dry and over-cooked.

Porlock Weir is lovely and there are some super walks.

Would very happily return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank hardwick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just got back after a night at the Millers, we had a four poster bed with Harbour view , the hotel is old but lovely the staff are very attentive . It's very quiet as there's not much traffic outside due to the location. We ate in the restaurant our meal was very night but found the prices a bit high. My husband had steak which was cooked to perfection. The only small fault we could find was that we had to cook our own toast which when your paying £154 a night you shouldn't have to do that. They did ask the elderly women behind us if she wanted toast and they cooked hers. Apart from this it's a lovely setting peaceful. The hotel is lovely, would be better if you could get wi fi in your room. Can't wait to go back !!

Room Tip: Have room at the front, at the top is best as no one above you.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We found millers when we started walking the south west coast path. four years ago , and have to say it's the best hotel we have stayed in yet along the path , so much so we keep going back with friends or on our own , we had a great time New Year's Eve and are thinking of staying there again for the weir fest in July x well done Tanya and your staff on making it just the best place to relax x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobysusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stunning location, very friendly and helpful staff. It's worth spending a little time exploring the hotel, full of character, real old-world charm. Woken by the sunrise through the bedroom window was quite magical. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have just come back from my second trip to The Anchor at Porlock Weir and it was as perfect as the first.
The staff are so friendly and will do anything to make your stay comfortable.

The hotel itself is a very special place, it is like going back in time and if you are unable to unwind and relax there you will never do anywhere.

A library full of books, sweets everywhere and the view is something that will stay with you for an awful long time after your visit.

There is no noise from any other guest as everybody that stays there goes for the peace.

If anybody gives a bad review then shame on them

Room Tip: See if you can get room 5, although as long as it has the view of the harbour it will be perfect
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernicebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews