We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, great place to eat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millers At The Anchor
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice while staying at the Cafe in Porlock Weir. One night on their 'Movie & Meal' deal. This was fantastic, a great bar type meal and watching a movie in a very comfortable room. The next night we choose from the main dining room menu, which was excellent.will stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Millers At The Anchor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here 6 weeks ago and were so impressed with the individuality and as everyone says ''quirky'' experience that as a birthday treat we had to return.The welcome was as before,,,warm, friendly and v professional...The room turned out to be the same as the last one we had,,,so comfortable and familiar...the cream tea to die for!!! I had booked a special table in the dining room,and the service and food were up to expectations...What more could you want??!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed just one night at Millers. We took our dog with us - she enjoyed the long walk around the north side of Exmoor. We enjoyed the location and the unusual hotel - kind of shabby chic.. Dinner was good, albeit fairly expensive. Breakfast was a bit of an anti climax, I had expected lashings of local fayre. The staff we helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, it was great to see the sun set and rise
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billyboy109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here last weekend and had a wonderful time. We were made to feel very welcome; the hotel has a fabulous location and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The food was superb. I had the scallops to start, they were delicious. Served on a bed of shredded leeks and with a chilli citrus sauce. My mouth is watering as I write. Then I had a rare fillet steak and a salad. The steak was beautifully seasoned. Breakfasts were very good, especially the smoked almon with scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suppersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in May 2014

This property is perfectly located in the most stunning setting at the very tip of Exmoor as it plunges into the Bristol Channel.

The staff were attentive, friendly and courteous, they really have the right mix of making you feel at home while remaining professional at all times.

The food in the restaurant was of a good standard with a well thought out wine list to compliment.

The only thing that prevents a fifth star for this hotel is the layout and condition of the bedroom we stayed in. The furnishings were very tired and the clunky old shower and loo did nothing to help the general impression of the property.

Would we stay here again? Yes definitely because all other aspects were very good and the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is my second stay at Miller's and follows the untimely death of Martin Miller, the owner, so it was interesting to see how things were. His daughter Tanya was as charming and welcoming as ever and the antique shop feel remains the same. The view of the harbour and the beach is fantastic and it is essential to have a front room. The film room is brilliant - wonderful settees (go early and grab the front row), tables for your bottles and fantastic definition and sound. A must. When I asked if we could watch a film the following night they were charming and helpful and didn't bat an eyelid. These three factors (view, film room and ambience) coupled with reasonable prices for midweek breaks make this hotel a real treasure.

Room Tip: Get one with a view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our stay was booked to celebrate a birthday. Our booking was made using The Anchors' website for a three night dinner, bed and breakfast break. We were extremely disappointed to find upon arrival that dinner could not be provided on the first two evenings (Mon & Tues), this is despite the fact this is what we had paid for. Given that Porlock Weir is quite remote local alternative dining options are limited.

We did check out the bedroom, whilst the view across to Wales was quite stunning, the furnishings were not good. The easy chairs had had their day and the bedding was far from luxurious.

The staff were friendly and readily agreed to a reimbursement but this didn't really help our disappointment.

According to locals that we spoke to, the hotel has gone downhill since the sad demise of the former owner.

What a shame!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 601KevinC_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trottamundo, Owner at Millers At The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so terribly sorry that your booking came through Eviivo allowing the option of dinner to be booked. I totally understand how disappointed you must have felt and even though we did try to find another wonderful restaurant for dinner , I realise this is not what you had originally wanted. I have contacted the booking company and they are trying to understand what happened as this is the first time an error has occurred of this sort though our booking system.

It does clearly state on our website that the restaurant is closed Mondays and Tuesdays, but I do take responsibility for not noticing before your arrival that a reservation in our restaurant had been made.

I am sorry you feel the bedding was not luxurious it is Egyptian cotton, however the armchairs are antiques in style with the hotel.

Just to let you know that I have been the owner and Manager of the hotel since I opened the hotel 5 years ago and nothing has changed since December when my father passed away and on behalf of my staff and myself we hope that on another occasion we can have the pleasure of your company to show you the "Miller experience", where I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
1.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
179 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
723 reviews
6.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
0.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
364 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers At The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers At The Anchor

Address: Porlock Weir, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range: £73 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers At The Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th-century harbor for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbor with stunning coastal views. Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millers At The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers At The Anchor Hotel Porlock
Millers At The Anchor Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing