We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekender”
Review of The Bottom Ship

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock Weir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bottom Ship
Ranked #3 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend in a clean and welcoming spacious room, complementary wine on arrival was a lovely touch. Staff were welcoming and friendly, food was what you would expect from an Inn. The setting is fantastic, enjoying many walks in stunning scenery, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisySorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for The Bottom Ship
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for one night while walking the South West Coast Path. The bedroom and en-suite were not particularly clean and there were no helpful instructions, eg on where the switch for the electric shower was! The water supply to the shower kept cutting out and coming back on cold. I did report this, so don't know whether they will have had it fixed, but the staff weren't particularly bothered by it. I felt they didn't need to try because there wasn't much competition in Porlock Weir, but of the 10 B&Bs we stayed in, this was definitely the worst as well as the most expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainej31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We were en route to Devon and had been here before when we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The place was busy as usual but have some change ready as you have to pay to park (80p per hour) before one really starts and there is no rebate system in the pub. We plumped for the fresh crab mayonnaise sandwiches with rocket from the extensive but pretty ordinary menu. Staff were attentive and friendly. First problem was the awful coffee machine which dispensed our two cappuccinos. It was one of these powdered milk and coffee jobs which does the whole thing. No body or flavour though, just a semi-hot cup of coloured water. Then the sandwiches arrived. Disaaaster, darling! A smear of brown crab meat, and I mean a smear, on a sliced supermarket-style loaf with rocket (makes me cough) and salad garnish. Why oh why do they have to put crisps on the plate? We had rather hoped for a good thick crab mixture of white and brown meat in a locally made loaf cut into four and not plonked on the plate as a doorstep. And they had the neck to charge 5p short of 6 quid for this pittance!! Ah well, we will revert to the Ship in the High Street next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crispin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

we stayed here end of August for a short break (we run a B&B!) the room was large and looked at first quite acceptable but on closer inspection yesterdays dog hairs were still all over the carpet! the window latch was on the floor! and a piece of furniture with kettle etc on it was damaged and had nails sticking out of it making it dangerous. The bathroom was in poor condition, goodness knows how old it was but I think the shower curtain was nearly as old as the pine cladding! and holes in the ceiling.
On the other hand the staff were pleasant and the food was good. I'd go back here but im not sure i'd stay at the ship unless the cleaner is retrained and the bathroom is updated, Sorry Bottom Ship its a thumbs down :-(

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yasm1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We enjoyed this small inn. The pub was lively and fun, the food very good, and the stff friendly. Our room on the second floor was spacious but rustic. The nsuite bath did not hav good water pressure, and it needed to be updated. The room had very low ceilings nd a tiny window, so even though it was large we felt a bit claustrophobic. It was a warm evening and we longed for air conditioning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEVSIMMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Fantastic Pub.

Excellent food & service.

Superb location.

Superb selection of beers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-Ziggy-Zumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights (saturday and sunday) at the beginning of april. It is in a great position just opposite the actual weir with parking in the car park across the road. First impression was a well maintained old thatched pub with a charming 'ship' made of thatch on top of the roof. As soon as we walked in we were made to feel welcome by the very friendly staff and this attitude continued throughout our stay. We had a large double room with a sea view. This was basically a small window at floor level but it was exactly in keeping with the character of the building. You get a nice view from the bed! The rest of the room was clean and comfortable, including the bed, with a good shower over the bath. The bar area was cosy with a good mixture of visitors and locals. The food is good, including the breakfast. It is reasonably priced with very large portions but a limited range of wine (maybe there isn't the demand). The overall impression of our stay was a friendly, cosy pub where the staff really seemed to care about their customer's experience (even down to the smartly laid out tables outside the pub on the sunny sunday lunchtime when they were hoping for a good trade - which they got and deservedly so).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
556 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bottom Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bottom Ship

Address: Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bottom Ship Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing