We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificant Gin and Tonics”

Miller's at the Anchor Restaurant
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificant Gin and Tonics”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had Gin and Tonics outside the the Hotel overlooking the harbour
Have to say "Millers Gin" superb
Beautifully served in stunning glass
Surprising what a good glass can do for a drink

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    51
    23
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The three of us went to the millers on fathers day this year and the food was awful, as was the puddings.
When we complained we weren't apologised to instead we found the manager to be very rude.
The table next to us who were also not local said they were not happy.
Rubbish . . .don't go.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucycrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Quirky, different but very enjoyable lunch by the sea”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Ate here for lunch on father's Day with my elderly Dad. I found Porlock Weir on TA as a fun place for us to explore together for a couple of hours and had intended to go to the fish and chip take away, but it was closed. We wandered back into the village and saw that Miller's had fish and chips on their menu. We preferred to sit in their airy dining room to stay out of the sun, though there was plenty of space outside. We both had cod and chips with crushed fresh minted peas. It came very quickly, but was very freshly cooked to order. The fish was moist inside with a tasty, crunchy beer batter. The chips were real potato chips cooked more than once to make them crispy on the outside but soft inside. Most interesting were the peas that were very fresh and tasty with a twist of mint. My creme brûlée dessert and Dad's chocolate brownie with a blob of cornish clotted cream were both very enjoyable. The meals were very well cooked, served and presented on white linen table cloths etc. Cost including coffee and a drink each was £25/head.

The Miller's at the Anchor hotel is absolutely rammed with antiques and curiosities. The walk to the toilets will show you a whole range of things from old globes, ancient wheel chair and thousands of books on floor to ceiling shelves. On a sunny father's day in the middle of June Porlock Weir and the Miller's restaurant were still pleasantly quiet, quite distinct from the Porlock town two miles up the road which was rammed with tourists.

We did not stay overnight so cannot comment on the accommodation.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous seafood platter!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We'd been recommended to visit The Ship hotel next door to Millers but saw the 'A' board offering a 'Sharing Seafood Platter' and being a sucker for seafood we opted to eat here instead and very glad we were too!
The staff were very welcoming to both us and our two dogs; we were seated in a beautiful alcove with a great sea view. The seafood platter did not disappoint; prawns, plaice goujons, whitebait, scampi, mackerel accompanied by crispy chips and salad. We then also shared the cheese platter and again were not disappointed; 5 different cheeses (including the best Brie I've had in ages) plus an assortment of crackers, celery, grapes and apple all for a reasonable £9.50 (there must have been over a fiver's worth of cheese on the platter). All in all a very satisfactory lunch!
We were so impressed we went back two days later to try other dishes on the menu (fish & chips and scallop & bacon salad) Same lovely welcome but although the food was good again, I still preferred the seafood platter.
Don't miss a wander round the hotel as it is very quirky; full of interesting antiques and a bibliophile's dream! Next time we're in the area we're going to try the Movie & Meal night 'cos we were intrigued by the concept. If you get there before us please check it out and let us know what you think!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anniembl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Went for a cream tea after a long walk.
The place seems very cluttered and while we did not have to wait very long for the cream tea it was all disappointing. The tea was very weak, the jam was very ordinary and the scones while just ok would have been nicer with more variety.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankthewool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller's at the Anchor Restaurant also viewed

Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Miller's at the Anchor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing