We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a little more effort this could have been an unforgettable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
Ranked #1 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We (two couples) booked this as part of a Travelzoo deal. We enjoy these deals because they get us to do things we would not ordinarily do and this was a prime example. Although relatively local we thought we would take time out to explore the area at leisure. First impressions were that we were on course for a five star experience. The Cafe is wonderfully located. The rooms are lovely offering splendid views and had good tea and coffee making facilities. However both rooms had their problems with the sanitation and hot water. Our room had a toilet that did not flush properly (Sani-flo or something like that) that erupted without reason which, if used in the middle of the night, was very noisy and a problem for the partner who was still asleep ! We were going to mention it to Sarah but sadly the occasion did not arise as she seemed somewhat preoccupied the following morning. Our friends also reported experiencing problems with their toilet and getting hot water. The bar and restaurant area are small, intimate and pleasant. The fish tasting menu was well cooked and well presented and a pleasant experience but we might have had different views if we had been asked to pay the advertised £35 per head. As we were there for two nights it was made perfectly clear that we had to have the same menu on both nights. This intransigence was bewildering considering the hotel would have been considerably quieter without our presence. Our biggest gripe was the cost of the extras. We thought being charged £10 for a pot of tea and £9 for a cafetiere of coffee particularly as we were residents was over the top. We were also surprised that refills of tea and coffee at breakfast were not offered. Fully appreciate we were on a "deal" but in these situations we are free spenders and the two night stay cost us £600 which we suspect was a significant contribution to the mid-week income in early April as it was quite quiet. This could/should have been so much more as The Cafe at Porlock Weir has a great deal going for it and we so much wanted to be writing a five star review.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Spent last Saturday night at The Café, with our daughter and her partner, and had a most enjoyable stay. The bedrooms were fine and beds comfortable, good central heating, and tea/coffee making facilities with even a cafetiere provided.
Enjoyed a lovely cream tea, and were impressed that they were able to provide excellent glutenfree scones for my daughter.
The 5 course seafood menu was delicious - great presentation and flavours, and pauses between courses allowing us to enjoy each one.
Thank you to Sarah & Andrew for such a very good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived at about 4.30 pm, took our boots off and found the 'lounge reception'. Sarah was behind the bar and seemed somewhat preoccupied. We ordered a cream tea and a cafetiere of coffee and were shown to the two armchairs in the window. The lounge has a 3 window bay with a great view of the sea but the outside two bays had the shutters pulled over. My wife asked Sarah if it would be possible to fold back the shutters to admire the view and was told 'We've drawn the shutters over because we're getting ready for residents now.' Meta-message 'We're happy to take you're money but it's actually a but inconvenient having you here right now.' Having said that, the cream tea and coffee were very good and some extra milk was provided without hesitation. While paying, I complimented Sarah on the delicious coffee and asked about the source. Sarah seemed genuinely interested in coffee and during our brief chat came to life. It was such a shame that whatever was preoccupying her when we arrived prevented her from smiling (and allowing us to open the shutters): it would have made a world of difference.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowcarbon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having booked a special offer for a one night stay I wasn't sure quite what to expect. We were overwhelmed by the palatial size of our bedroom with its four poster bed, settee and two big arm chairs. Fantastic views over the weir and bay. The five course tasting dinner was wonderful; very imaginative, beautifully cooked and served. Quite delicious! Breakfast the following day could not be faulted and kept us going for the rest of the day on our walk on Exmoor.

Room Tip: Try the Selworthy room or another that looks out to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraSomerset9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here on a one night Travelzoo break with two friends, one of who can be very fussy about food. We needn't have worried, the hospitality was superb, the rooms very lovely and the dinner and breakfast absolutely fantastic.
We wouldn't hesitate to revisit or recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16KenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our second visit to this lovely place. Our room had a fantastic view over the sea and the bed was spacious and very comfortable. the Tasting Menu was excellent, varied and interesting and the service from all the staff was exemplary. We are hoping to go again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nostalgia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I spent one night here having bought a voucher deal through Travelzoo. Our stay included a 5 course seafood tasting menu, glass of sparkling wine, overnight accommodation and breakfast. The food was exceptional and beautifully presented. The room (Watersmeet) was stylishly decorated and very comfortable with a lovely view over the garden and out towards the sea. Porlock Weir is very pretty and secluded and so peaceful. The breakfast menu has lots of options. We chose the full english which was excellent and set us up for the day. The service was friendly and attentive. Loved our stay here and hope to return. A great base for exploring the coast and Exmoor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 3 in Dunster
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
567 reviews
0 mi away
Chapel Knap Accommodation
Chapel Knap Accommodation
#1 of 1 in Porlock Weir
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cafe - Porlock Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cafe - Porlock Weir

Address: | Somerset, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England (Formerly Andrews on the Weir)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range: £96 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cafe - Porlock Weir 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Exmoor National Park in front of the 13th Century harbour at Porlock Weir, Somerset. The Cafe, formerly known as ‘Andrews on the Weir’, was relaunched in Summer 2011 for those who want to enjoy the countryside retreat by the sea but are prepared to compromise on high standards in accommodation and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cafe - Porlock Weir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cafe - Porlock Weir Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing