We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Locanda on the Weir
Nearby Hotels
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
254
85
27
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
254
85
27
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravelzoo dealoysterssea foodan overnight staysea viewjacuzzi bathexcellent breakfastfresh milkdining roomwonderful foodlovely placepuddingwarm welcomefour poster bedstayed for one nightbeautiful roomcooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This the second time we have stayed and eaten at The Cafe and it most certainly won't be the last ! Our first stay here was totally impromptu when we had just taken ourselves, Marley our dog and a picnic for the day when my husband made an impulsive decision to make a reservation for the the three of us that evening .....thank goodness Porlock has a local store for essentials and pet shop for emergency overnight doggie supplies is all I say !! Our latest visit was a little more organised without the pooch. We stayed in the huge room with four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and massive bay window with amazing views,where you could look at the sea or relax and people watch. My husband and I both had the fish tasting dinner which was incredible and breakfast was equally delicious. Sarah and her staff are all very welcoming and friendly, although we haven't seen much of Andrew who is usually in the kitchen stirring up his culinary magic. We love this place and can't wait to stay again soon

Room Tip: The room with four poster bed was huge with extremely large bathroom with jacuzzi bath. The room itself had two comfortable armchairs and coffee table in front of a lovely bay window which overlooked the sea. A double aspect room with two further windows making it a lovely light and airy space. The room also had a sofa, coffee table and large TV.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janbownbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here whilst doing the South West Coast Path. I can only say it was superb. The owner was charming, chatty, helpful. The food was excellent. The room spacious and comfortable. Our room did have a view of a brick wall, but we were only in there to sleep!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzorabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have eaten and stayed on many occasions.
The service and food are excellent.The Cafe is a lovely place to stay and explore the area, and come back to a wonderful base and know you are going to have wonderful food and service.
The hosts are consistently attentive to details and we think the new layout in the Cafe and bar area, is a really good move....more informal, yet still providing comfort..
We had the 5 course fish tasting menu....All of the courses were well thought out and Delicious!!
The scallop....very large was beautifully cooked..indeed everything was....with all the expertise of Andrews skills.
I am in disbelief at some of the "comments" that have been made, recently.....did they go to the same place.? The rooms are lovely, clean, comfortable and restful.The furnishings tasteful, and the hospitality tray with fresh coffee sachets and cafetiere a lovely touch.
Thankyou again Sarah and Andrew, and we love coming to eat with you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westwinds95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have just returned from a wonderful night away at The Cafe again. Enjoyed a wonderful fish taster meal and as always, an excellent breakfast. The accommodation does not try to be pretentious. It is for people looking for comfortable surroundings and helpful staff, but most of all the food is superb. I think those complaining about having to pay for coffee should appreciate the value of the voucher which included a night's accommodation, two taster meals, two glasses of bubbly and the best breakfast possible. Think how little the hotel made out of that! Andrew and Sarah work long hours so don't begrudge them the odd few pounds for extras. Well done Andrew and Sarah.

Room Tip: Selworthy is the best room but most of the rooms overlook the water
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was our first time at the Cafe, and we were not disappointed. We went with friends, making use of a special offer. The rooms were surprisingly spacious. The special offer 5-course taster dinner was superbly cooked and presented. The breakfast was everything you could expect. The service by owner/staff was welcoming, friendly and efficient. If you are looking for a little Boutique hotel/cafe in nice surroundings - this is it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROLF R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews