We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - name doesn't represent what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda on the Weir
Ranked #2 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the 25th to the 26th of June. We stayed in the Selworthy. The owner was amazing/friendly and the service was great.
The staff all you could ask for, everything was perfect and laid back.
I know 4/5 star hotels that could a lesson from here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank radl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

wonderful overnight stay
clean and tidy throughout
great room with sea view
food was excellent we both had the fish tasting menu outstanding quality
equal to a number of posh fish restaurants in London but half the price
superbly cooked and presented
small place but has style without being over top a perfect balance
great breakfast freshly cooked and the coffee was excellent
Very kind staff, very attentive and very very helpful
We have booked to go back

Room Tip: try for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while walking the coast path. Lovely spacious room with nice bathroom and Sea/ Hill views. Great. Breakfasts. Couldn't eat there in the Evening as they were too busy. Ate at Millers ( see separate review)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked through travelzoo for the 5 course seafood dinner and overnight stay. From start to finish our stay was excellent, food superb. We stayed in the exford room which was lovely, the bed was very comfy but was made up of 2 singles, not ideal for a romantic evening! Staff very friendly, a beautiful property in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Describing this as a café really doesn't do it justice. Think more restaurant with rooms. Excellent food and service. We had a back room with limited so were automatically given a window table. The café is dog friendly and its only a couple of metres to the stony beach for dog walking. Try leaving via the steep toll road.

Room Tip: We had a back room but the hotel's website details each room. I'll definitely book a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shieldsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We and our dog had an overnight stay in the beautiful, spacious Selworthy room with the seafood tasting menu for dinner. The room, dinner, breakfast and the service were faultless. A real birthday treat.

Room Tip: Selworthy is lovely with a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sg-devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked the 5-course seafood tasting menu through Travelzoo and an overnight stay. The meal was delicious and all 5 courses were works of art. The service by Sarah and Jo was excellent and the atmosphere friendly and comfortable.
We stayed in Exiled room which had a bay window with 2 comfortable chairs and a lovely view of the quay and the sea.
Sarah is friendly, confident and efficient. Andrew is obviously a top class chef but sadly we never met him. If he had appeared in the dining room after our superb meal, I am sure we would all have stood to applaud him.
Well done Sarah and Andrew. You are doing everything superbly. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
8.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
784 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 17 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Millers at the Anchor
The Millers at the Anchor
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Chapel Knap Accommodation
Chapel Knap Accommodation
#1 of 1 in Porlock Weir
48 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Locanda on the Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda on the Weir

Address: Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England (Formerly The Cafe - Porlock Weir)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range: £99 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda on the Weir 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Exmoor National Park in front of the 13th Century harbour at Porlock Weir, Somerset. The Cafe, is being relaunched with an extensive refurbishment to include an Italian restaurant and residents lounge, the cafe will be known as "Locanda on the Weir" with a new website coming soon. The Locanda reopens for rooms and restaurant bookings on 16th March 2018 and will be Porlock Weir's only boutique Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda on the Weir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda On The Weir Porlock Weir, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing