We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Significant birthday for my husband”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
Ranked #1 of 3 Porlock Weir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watchet, Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Significant birthday for my husband”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I took my husband for a 1-night stay last Thursday for his birthday. I had booked Selworthy room with panoramic views some time ahead and struck a very good bargain for D,B&B. (though I didn't realsise until Friday morning that breakfast was extra - £10pp). Room was lovely, views suberb and very relaxing. Welcome excellent. Bar service and availability vg. Menu vg. We both chose lamb and think we would have liked it cooked a little more - certainly not dog-biscuit style but it was only warmed. Strange mix of clientele and rather quiet in dining room and bar. We both enjoyed it. VG for what I wanted. Somewhere different to mark a special occasion - and close to home. Only 15 miles from where we live. Would we go again? Not sure. Not expensive for what we enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreoJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    84
    27
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
273
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and had the BEST FOOD EVER.
The Menu is superbly prepared by Chef Andrew, and the front of house is slickly organised by Sarah, with excellent help from well-informed staff.

Everything on the menu was delicious. . . .Scallops, and Fillet of Beef to start, Pork, Lamb and local Lobster for main. Superbly home made sweets for desserts. . . .and then the cheese. . . . . .the BEST EVER!!!!!

Andrews has the quality, attention to detail and excellence of so-called "boutique" restaurants, but without the pretentious and stuck-up customers.

The Room we stayed in (Watersmeet) was large and comfortable with the lovely coffee . . . . .

Would we recommend Andrews to anybody else?. . . .

Abso-bloody-lutley!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4OW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I had been there a couple of years ago with my mother and remembered it to be plush yet welcoming. The beautiful views were still there but we were met with quite an officious lady who we heard later complaining to her colleagues that no-one was ordering pudding or coffee! Charming! Dunster room was clean and comfortable but overlooked the kitchen and a blank wall. The dining room decor was looking tired and empty which is such a shame as the food was fantastic even if a 'hearty breakfast' meant continental and not the delicious looking breakfast menu we were looking forward to but had to pay extra for. Wonderful scallops.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We came here having read Margaret Drabble's ecstatic food review in The Guardian but left feeling that our expectations had been unrealistic. This is a good place to come for a quiet or romantic stay. It is not pretentious. Perhaps on reflection we have more pretensions than the hotel! Which isn't their fault! We would have liked a wider choice on the menu and we would have liked the menu to change by at least one dish, or a special, over the two nights of our stay. The problem is, if you are only offering a choice of five dishes then each of those dishes needs to be pretty much perfection in order to impress - and there needs to be enough variation in style between the dishes to appeal to a wide selection of palates. So, it was good and we enjoyed ourselves but we didn't come away raving about any exceptional qualities. Recommended nonetheless.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_in_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We decided to stay at Andrews for a break away from the hustle and bustle of our city life.
we arrived to a very warm welcome from Andrew,Sarah and the "family" at Andrews on the Weir. Our room was very welcoming, we booked the biggest room which had a beautiful relaxing view of the sleepy harbour and sea with surrounding wooded hills of Exmoor National Park. The room was vast but pleasant as we like space to relax and was fitting to the area surrounding the hotel.
During our stay we ate in the restaurant for breakfast and also evening meals.
The Breakfast was plentiful with an array to choose from and at our own pace without being rushed.
Our first Evening Meal was to die for, i plumped for the beef which was cooked to perfection after being asked how i would like it cooked. I have never tasted beef quite like it. Andrew uses all local suppliers so his food is always fresh. My partner went for the lamb which just fell apart on the plate and the palette. Perfect. There is plenty to choose from and all looked fantastic we were spoilt for choice and couldn't wait for the next evening to sample more of the delights!! We were amazed at the cheese board which we had read about in previous reviews and agree that it was superb. Sarah gave us a few options for our wine supply! we went for the half bottle options as we have different tastes in wine. The Sancerre was mine, all mine!
We used Andrews as a base for our stay and travelled thro to Bridgewater, Minehead, Taunton, Dunster, Withypool along with a few other places.
You will need transport as Porlock Weir is tucked away in a sleepy harbour outside Minehead. It is ideal if you like walking or cycling holidays. Right outside Andrews is a local bus service that is available to take you to where ever you need to be, including the train station at Taunton, so.... there is always a way to reach the Hotel.
They also have offers on at different times of the year offering lunches at fantastic rates, rooms with 50% off if we eat in the wonderful restaurant.

Overall this was a wonderful break for us, what more could you ask for, beautiful surroundings, Friendly staff, Food fantastic, to the point we have never had anything like it before or even since!!! Home from Home. Thank you to All at Andrews on the Weir.
We will certainly be back.
(we will be looking out for the offers too!!! so that we can stay longer!)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binny43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west england
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Andrews with Rooms and Restaurant has a good rep, hence the booking. The first thing I ask myself when I stay somehwere is would I go back ? Answer this time is a big BIG NO ! And it really pains me to say this as I had such big expectations. The welcome by the staff member who greeted us was somewhat luke warm. I'll say this - Ever felt that its you that has to be pleasant to keep the calm when it should be the staff ? I felt that any wrong word and my head would be bitten off, a terrible feeling and not a good start. The room we booked was not clean, and although tolerbale, it simply wasnt good enough, and the reviews of days gone by on the hallway wall reflected a tired look that matched the rooms. However the restaurant is excellent and although totally lacking in atmosphere the food was up to scratch ..... and as advertised and expected.

I get the feeling that the owners are preparing to move on ? I could be wrong, but there is much fo them to do here if they are to match the sun tainted reviews of 2005 and 2006 on the hallway wall. And the best starting place is create a welcome that feels warm and work from there. First impressions last, and mine set the scene. A great shame.

Check the pub out over the road, its full of loud locals and ghost hunters, and some dude called ' Pete Tong ' Now there's a welcome that Andrews would do well to learn from.

Helpful?
1 Thank OiPunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We stayed for one night on our way to Cornwall. We were booked into the room with the four poster - the only room they had left. It had great views over Porlock Weir with comfy armchairs and binoculars to enjoy the view. The room was comfortable, if a little old fashioned, as was the bathroom. The bed was very comfy. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. If we were being picky it would have been good to have had some tissues in the bathroom, some bottled water in the room, and the lighting wasn't great in the bedroom or bathroom. We would go back for the view and the food.

  • Liked — the food and the view
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock Weir
1.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
170 reviews
6.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 18 in Porlock
149 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cafe - Porlock Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cafe - Porlock Weir

Property: The Cafe - Porlock Weir
Address: Porlock Weir | Somerset, Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PB, England (Formerly Andrews on the Weir)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock Weir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock Weir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cafe - Porlock Weir 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Exmoor National Park in front of the 13th Century harbour at Porlock Weir, Somerset. The Cafe, formerly known as ‘Andrews on the Weir’, was relaunch in Summer of 2011 for those who want to enjoy the countryside retreat by the sea but weren’t prepared to compromise on high standards in accommodation and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Cafe - Porlock Weir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cafe - Porlock Weir Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing