We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nicely located cottage in beautiful grounds with...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bob_the_m...
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
“Nicely located cottage in beautiful grounds with friendly owners”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I have stayed in many different holiday cottages around Porlock and Porlock Weir and while Coachman's Cottage is not my favorite, it is a really good one. Ahead of visit we found it easy to ask questions and get some help with things, and travel instructions were clear and helpful. The cottage itself is in the grounds of a bigger house set back off the road. It offers a nice view out over the water and the grounds are big and very well kept, with the owners very happen to let guests use them.
The cottage itself is laid out with plenty of space downstairs and with one bedroom upstairs which again is spacious. There is a smaller room upstairs but it is not really much use other than storage as it is too small to stand up in, while the window is too small to sit and just take in the view. One of the selling points for the cottage is that it is very good for dogs due to the space inside but also the enclosed yard area outside. The downside is that, if you are not a dog person and do not own any pets, then the slight 'doggy smell' might affect you – but to be honest it was only slightly noticeable on the first time and not after then. The other thing that might put you off is the amount of spiders in the property, probably several in each room but, as my partner pointed out, even though it was warm and we had windows open in a very green area, the house had no flies in it!
The self-catering facilities are good and the heating is electric, with both storage heating and traditional electric heaters – we had a few colder evenings and the place was very easy to heat. Just as warm were the owners and it was nice to have that too since in some other cottages the owners are either not present or too present! Well located to walk to Porlock or Porlock Weir, or to drive out to other places in the area, the cottage is quiet, welcoming and comfortable – and particularly well setup if you have a dog!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rene V
Nuland, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage with a beautiful garden”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved staying at the Coachmans cottage. The cottage and the main house both have a ' historic' feel. The cottage is cosy and especcially the use of our own little courtyard with suberb views is great when you have good weather. If you like plants and gardening then this is the place for you. The owners are proud to give you a tour in the gardens and as a bonus we got a tour in the mainhouse too. They also give you tips on daytours and the best walking areas.
Straight from the cottage we made some beautifull walks and very divers dayhikes in the area. We reccomend the teagarden in Bossingon (watch out for the scones .. they are just too good..)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steelevik...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic haven”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been visiting this area for over 20 yrs and this is the VERY BEST, beautiful, peaceful coachhouse, spectacular views and walks. Nicky and David are wonderful friendly hosts. If you are lucky you may get some of David's homegrown fruit and veg. We could go on and on but you really need to visit you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona M
Wadebridge, Cornwall United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Peaceful Retreat in a Stunning setting”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just come back from a wonderful week at coachman's cottage~ the cottage itself is in a beautiful setting and David and Nicky Ramsay are welcoming warm people without ever being obtrusive.
An added bonus is the luscious paddock leading to a wood at the back of the cottage which our two Labradors loved.
The cottage is well equipped clean warm and eternally inviting~ in short a little corner of paradise and we can't WAIT TO GO BACK!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and natural surroundings
Liked least: Not appliccable as it was all beautiful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MildredsM...
Bourne End, Bucks. UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is definitely the best cottage I have stayed in. Crisp white bedding, tasteful decor and a stunning view of Porlock bay. Fabulous! Nicky and David, the owners, are so welcoming, the cottage is in their beautiful grounds and they are happy to give you a tour of their garden. There is a meadow for dogs to run in and the courtyard garden is totally enclosed - even my inquisitive Jack Russell couldn't escape! There is so much to see and do in this area, Coachmans Cottage is in a really great location.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGibson
Melbourn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

An amazing place to stay. We have stayed at many cottages over the years but this is by far the best. Very comfortable and everything you need. The view from the bedroom is breathtaking! David and Nicky are very informative about the area and live next door with a beautiful garden. The cottage garden was very secure for our dog and she loved the paddock to play in. The walks from the back gate into the woods led to many public footpaths, Porlock and Porlock Weir are easily accessible. We had a very relaxed break and only wished we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy atmosphere
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing