We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just my sort of place”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 East Lavant B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just my sort of place”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed in the best room I guess, so it was likely to be a pleasant stay. We did think some of the other rooms were rather dark and pokey. This room was large with a good size en-suite bathroom with shower over. The two rooms take up the whole of the south facing first floor so very bright too. They are above the bar but not too noisy. Access was via a metal staircase at the back of the pub. The bathroom could do with a little updating, a separate higher pressure shower cubicle for instance.
The breakfast was good and we had an evening meal both nights as the food was so good the first time. Good choice of specials and well presented.
East Lavant is a lovely small village just a couple of miles north of Chichester. Within walking distance via a dis-used railway line called The Centurion Way.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 341666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    57
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
108
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

From the moment we walked in I felt stressed and uncomfortable, we were greeted by a gentleman who said "hello" my reply was "hello how are you tonight?" which he then made an awkward comment about myself getting a job at the pub as that's how he should be greeting the customers.

We were seated by the front door of the pub, when I had specifically asked not be when I phoned and booked up earlier in the week. The table was not set for 2 people and had to be re-arranged which was done at such as speed cutlery was knocked off the table. He was quite helpful with ordering and questions but after began to run around the restaurant flapping about. It was clear they were not ready for customers even though we were on time and they knew we were coming.

The waitress who brought our wine over did not say "hello, or how are you?" but just mumbled about tasting the wine. We were left to pour our own wine even though customers next to us were having their wine poured for them.

My wife's food was good she had the sea bass, however mine was not, I had the pork loin and it was very chewy in areas and could not be eaten and had to be spat out. My wife was asked how her meal was but the waiter did not ask how mine was.

We were going to have desert but decided we didn't want to stay any longer, a waitress we had never seen before took our bill and payment without asking how are evening was or how the food was, just took the money and said "enjoy the rest of your evening" whilst walking away from us.

On departure the gentleman who welcomed us and seated us was at the door but was to busy to say goodbye!

The Royal Oak has great potential and its obvious it is a busy and well known restaurant, but if they claim to be a 5 star then that has to cover everything including service! It lacked hugely on the BASICS that are so simple to put in place and which would have made it a great evening. Very disappointing that someone is not on top of this and sorting it out. The restaurant is owned by the compleat food and drink company ltd, so whether the owner was there that night I don't know. But this review is here to help the Royal Oak Inn know what kind of service we had and hopefully help them improve on that.

We wont be returning to the Royal Oak Inn I am afraid to say.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcountry
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We spent one night in one of the barn rooms at a rate of £160 B&B. It is a very nice location but for this price I had high expectations and while the room was comfortable it wasn’t particularly spacious and we could hear the conversation of the guests in the adjoining room. Similarly the food was OK but lacked the wow factor but was backed by excellent service. Altogether we were a bit disappointed as it had been personally recommended and there are so many good reviews on this site.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We booked tickets for the West Dean Chilli Festival and were looking for accommodation nearby and the Royal Oak was recommended by a family friend. We arrived late afternoon and parked in the car park opposite and then checked in and were showed to our room.

We stayed in room 4 which I suppose would be considered a small double, we loved it; very cosy with lovely little touches; books, CD’s DVD’s , free soft drinks from the mini bar and bottles of wine in the room, although of course you have to pay for those. The bathroom was also lovely, it had a large shower which wasn’t a problem for us but I think for a longer stay we would have wanted to request a room with a bath. There are complimentary L’Occitane toiletries in the bathroom which are lovely and mean you don’t have to bother bringing your own!

We spent a lovely long, lazy, sunny afternoon drinking in the ‘resident’s garden’ which has spectacular, uninterrupted views across the countryside. We ate dinner in the pub and the food and the service were both really great. We were so pleased that there are still some traditional English pubs serving up really beautiful well cooked food – thoroughly recommend the pork belly and the cheese board!

Our bed was extremely comfortable and we both sleet really well – unlike other reviews we did not hear any noise from the kitchen or the restaurant downstairs. We both had a delicious full English breakfast in the morning and then were sadly on our way home!
We will definitely be back again soon and for a longer stay this time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We were fortunate to obtain a last minute booking during the Goodwood race meeting, this is just 1 mile away, so must be one of the closest venues to the racetrack apart form Goodwood House,
Staff were very helpful and professional, could not fault the accomodation, very clean and nice personal touches as well, we stayed in room 6 which i believe was one of the smaller rooms but it was fine.
We had dinner and this was first class. they had real ale form the barrel which was perfectly kept and served.
we would go back again. You need to be aware that prices are at the high end of the scale for accomodation and dinner and one needs to budget for this

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee1006576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This is my fifth trip here and the fourth for my wife. This is a lovely place to have a long weekend and sample some fantastic food. The staff are great too - the most used phrase I used by them was "no problem".

Once again we took The Flint Cottage, this time for three nights. This is at the back of the Inn and has a comfy lounge downstairs with TV, DVD player, and docking station for one's iPod along with a L shaped sofa.

Upstairs there's the bedroom with a very comfy bed and a great bathroom with bath and shower.

As expected the presentation of the cottage was excellent.

Food here is amazing. We dined in on two nights and had breakfast all three mornings. Yes, it is on the more expensive side but the food is delightful. We always worry when we go back to a place more than once that we'll be disappointed - not here and we will be back again for another long weekend.

Best things: accommodation, food and staff
Worst things: that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesmithsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We returned to the Royal Oak almost four years since our last stay, this time bringing with us our small daughter. All was as lovely as we remembered. Beautiful room at the front of the pub, huge bathroom with Occitane products, massive bed, chocolate in the minibar, truly excellent meals (we ate in the restaurant both nights). Staff were without exception very attentive and friendly, from the manager to the waiting staff to the clearning staff. For example, they kindly rejigged things to seat us by a plug for the baby-monitor, without any complaint. There was a short delay in receiving our main courses on the second night (not long enough for us to be fussed, we had our wine so were happy!), and they gave us our drinks free in return without us asking. A sign of a good restaurant.

The only downside is that this was an expensive stay (£185 per night B&B, two night minimum, plus £20 per night charged for the extra bed- something I don't remember being told of when we booked and which rankled somewhat as our daughter refused to sleep in it! I suppose it may also have covered her breakfasts as well- not sure). Reservations are not confirmed by email, which would always be helpful in terms of making sure everyone is absolutely certain about the costs and dates, especially as we had to book a couple of months in advance to get a weekend.

But we were very happy and would love to go back. It is very near to the Roman Palace at Fishbourne and the Cass Sculpture Park at Goodwood, as well as Chichester where we enjoyed looking round the cathedral and the Pallants art gallery. West Wittering Beach is also good but parking is £5.50. All of these places are within 20 minute drive or so. A lovely place to stay in a lovely part of the world.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiona949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lavant
4.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Fox Goes Free
The Fox Goes Free
#1 of 4 in Charlton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: The Royal Oak Pook Lane, East Lavant, Chichester PO18 0AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > East Lavant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Lavant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Oak Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak Inn is a thriving and stylish Gastropub with rooms. Money has been lavished on the beds with a contemporary feel and great attention to detail, big comfy beds, leather chairs, magazines and luxurious bathrooms, plasma screen TVs and ipod docks/CD/DVD players. All rooms have free Wi-fi. Two smart 2 bedroom cottages can accommodate longer lets and are suitable for families. Goodwood, Chichester and the seaside are all close by together with West Dean, Parham House, Petworth and Uppark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing