We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 East Lavant B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I don't make a habit of writing reviews on trip advisor but feel compelled to after our stay there this weekend. From the very start the staff were friendly, professional and delivered impeccable service. They handled our unscheduled late arrival and dinner booking wonderfully. There were no gripes or push back. Just charm and reassurance not to let it bother us at all. The dinner on both evenings were fantastic. Great quality. The room was peaceful and beautifully decorated. Only two tiny comments. Potentially switch off the heated towel rail at this time of year as it warms the room... and the thoroughly obnoxious and ill mannered group at dinner last night; which I hasten to add was not the staff's fault and they handled admirably. Thank you for a wonderful experience. We will be returning. Helen and William

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed her to go to a wedding in Chichester. Upon arrival they had lost our booking bu we showed them our copy and booked us in. When we left they tried to charge us £100 more than the agreed rate when we'd ben there two days and they had sai nothing! We could of stayed at places alot cheaper in the area. When leaving we agreed to pay the original price then the owner would speak to myself and the booking agent but when I checked my bank statement they had just taken an extra £100 off my account without my knowledge or any communication. Stay well away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KChris86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsarah, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Chris many thanks for your response - what you failed to say is that you booked a single room but turned up as a couple and were put in the only double room available which was a luxurious suite. Our manager tried to talk to you several times during your stay but you left after breakfast without returning your key and did not appear until the early hours of the morning when reception was shut. When the extra cost was explained to you at your departure you laughed and left. As you also turned up at midnight on your first night without booking a late check- in reception had already closed so we were unable to process your booking through an online agent until the following morning. In fact your stay should have cost an additional £200.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This is a difficult to find hotel for a first timer. Fairly predictable building for the period and a radon the small side. Service was friendly and attentive. The night we were there bigger group turned to make it a little noisy. Menu is good but pricing puts the hotel in the higher range and, as a consequence, might not be worth the effort to go. Overall a nice hotel with good service and food but there as good at a more competitive price.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Radar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

A perfect place to go to escaping London which isn't too far (and you have another plus point - you're 20 mins from the sea).

Lovely part of the world, beautiful walks, fantastic service and great food. All in all had a great time and left very happy. Would recommend you pay this place a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have stayed here a few time now and the food this week was again very good, very nice specials board and plenty of choice. Breakfast also good with plenty of fresh berries and yoghurt .
Bedrooms are very pleasant, clean and modern with IPod access points.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked to have a meal on valentines day as we were staying in the area for the weekend. At £49 + v.a.t per head we were expecting a special meal but were disappointed . The food was average we were crammed in and the service was very hit and miss. People arrived after us and were seated before us . Think they were regulars . Perhaps they couldn't cope with the demand but at £50 I expected better

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank kenton2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We didn't stay here - we had a meal only.

We were looking forward to our small family meal having read the website and reviews. But service was poorest I've ever experienced. Went to the bar for drinks and a jug of water after waiting ages. One of the meals was completely wrong - nothing like the order. And the waiting staff had a good giggle about it within earshot of all customers. Another of the meals was slightly wrong. The Brussel sprouts inedible. But the rest of the food was lovely. We also noticed another table sending food back so it wasn't just us either. Overall, not the promised warm welcome at all. We found the staff rude or disinterested rather than helpful.

It wouldn't have taken much to turn this disappointing experience into a good one. But will definitely not set foot in there again. It very much felt as though the manager was off site and the staff were taking it easy until home time and they were doing you a favour by being there.

I've never written a review before but was so disappointed that the experience was nothing like the claims made by this establishment or other reviews that I just had to share it - in the hope that they sort themselves out and future customers don't have the same experience as me.

Room Tip: Note - we ate here but didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank NFP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lavant
2.1 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
4.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,558 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
659 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Address: The Royal Oak Pook Lane, East Lavant, Chichester PO18 0AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > East Lavant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Lavant
Price Range: £107 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak Inn is a thriving and stylish Gastropub with rooms. Money has been lavished on the beds with a contemporary feel and great attention to detail, big comfy beds, leather chairs, magazines and luxurious bathrooms, plasma screen TVs and ipod docks/CD/DVD players. All rooms have free Wi-fi. Two smart 2 bedroom cottages can accommodate longer lets and are suitable for families. Goodwood, Chichester and the seaside are all close by together with West Dean, Parham House, Petworth and Uppark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing