We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, Excellent spa facilities, but poor service in spa. But we had a great time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I live relatively near to Ockenden Manor and have always loved staying there with my husband or eating in the restaurant for a special occasion. Service has always been excellent in the main hotel and food quality brilliant.
On this occasion the restaurant also lived up to all our expectations, food wonderful and service very attentive but not obtrusive.

This time was my first experience of the spa. I was there with 7 friends, for one of them's hen weekend. We stayed in 3 adjoining rooms in the spa block. The rooms are beautifully designed, very modern and well equipped (even a Nespresso coffee machine in the room!) and spacious enough for 3 in a room. We loved having a big shared balcony outside. The spa is absolutely lovely with amazing facilities and we were particularly fortunate to have good weather. The place is well designed inside and out. Coffee /tea are available to help yourself to all day.

On arrival we were told our rooms were ready but had the embarrassing experience of being taken to our rooms only to find they were still occupied! (We were there before 2pm however and indeed were not expecting them to be ready until they said they were unexpectedly). Unfortunately there continued to be a few mix ups during our stay such as no record of at least one of the treatments booked and time changes. Towels were not ready in lockers as we were told they would be. The food we ordered by the pool took much longer than expected dispite giving staff lots of notice that one of us had a treatment in 1 1/2 hours time. Generally service in the spa area seemed disorganised and inattentive. There seemed to be a lack of clear management direction and allocated roles. Maybe there has been change of management?
During our stay It was rather busy (Friday- Saturday) and we wanted to have sun beds next to each other. One particular spa attendant was very helpful and did make sure we had everything we needed.
Our treatments were mostly of very good standard.
Overall we would go back as we had a great time and there were more positives than negatives. However we felt that service in the spa needed to be addressed.

Room Tip: The rooms in the spa are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

I would totally recommend this hotel - whether you are looking to stay, just go for dinner, or to use their lovely spa. I had a wonderful stay, a lovely massage and the most delicious dinner followed by an incredible cheese board. Yum. I will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went on the Sunday evening deal with 3 course dinner, breakfast and use of the spa from check in until 4pm on the day of check-out. Easy to reach from our house in SE London, just down past Gatwick airport. Nice village location with a local pub and some interesting independent shops.

Amazing 3 course dinner in the restaurant, really exceptional food. Some of the best food I've eaten in any hotel world wide. Our table positioning felt slightly crammed into one corner though and within 12-18 inches of the table behind me. The room was large enough and should have been set up differently, particularly on this quiet Sunday evening.

The room we stayed in (Timothy) was a bit noisy as we could hear the conversation going on in the next door room easily through the wall. Thankfully we had quiet neighbours and a relatively good night's sleep. Again in the morning conversations from both the reception desk and the adjacent linen cupboard / office area could be clearly heard from 7.30am.

The bathroom had a small and rather impractical bath installed which did not get used. A walk in shower would be much better suited here and more impressive to the guest.

More could be made of the grounds of the hotel with some additional tables / chairs for the lawns. The terrace was very pleasant though. We enjoyed the quirky bar area.

The spa was fantastic & we couldn't fault it. Very impressive. Great food in there also and the facilities were some of the best I've seen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed with a group of 8 on business. We stay in a lot of different hotels in this area and around the country. This is the best balance of facilities, location, service and food for the price. Best food in a hotel I have eaten in the UK outside of London. Fantastic spa. Not too expensive like a number of their competitors within a 20 mile radius. If I'm looking for areas for improvement then a number of the staff were new and were in training, but I'm being picky. Stay in one of the rooms above the spa as they are excellent with your own outside area. An outstanding package!

Room Tip: Rooms above the spa are best, but all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife, my son and her mother and father had the most wonderful evening here to celebrate my 50th birthday. Both the food and service were outstanding. This is well above what you might expect. A massive thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bradleyjplowright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel comprises a lovely old house which has obviously been extended, probably several time over the years, but nevertheless works well. We were greeted by an open fire in the reception area which was welcome on a chilly May day and the welcome would have been enhanced by the offer of help with our luggage which was not forthcoming.
Our room (Luke) was spacious and comfortable and furnished in a rather dated manner which worked well in the context of an old country house. The bathroom was similarly spacious and spotless with everything in full working order.
The Spa is situated about 150 yards from the Hotel in the old walled garden which is just as well as it is an ugly box like building from the outside but inside definitely has the wow factor with the facilities being first class and the only niggle being the minimal size of the smaller lockers.
Dinner,was again splendid and fully lived up to the reputation of a Michelin starred restaurant.
Breakfast, by contrast, was a it of a disappointment, the cold buffet was fine but of the cooked breakfast only the eggs seemed freshly cooked and the rest seemed to have hung around somewhat.
Overall a really great experience with the only minor niggles being the small area of the bar, the fact that a Hotel of this stature should have room safes, and the supplements on the menu, which at £56 for three courses, could surely be absorbed.
My advise would be to treat yourself!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Overall customer service needs to be addressed. Breakfast service very poor. Breakfast food quality poor. The redeeming factor about our stay was our dinner experience, it was very good. Obviously the chef was off duty for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fifidowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuckfield
7.8 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,683 reviews
23.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
433 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa

Address: Ockenden Lane, Cuckfield RH17 5LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
Price Range: £177 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ockenden Manor is a charming and tranquil Elizabethan Manor House tucked away in Cuckfield, one of the prettiest Tudor villages in England. With its history and character, elegant sitting room warmed by a roaring log fire and cosy, wood panelled bar, it's a wonderful place to escape to and yet it is just an hour from London and 20 minutes drive from Gatwick. The hotel is set in nine acres of peaceful gardens and parkland with views across the West Sussex countryside to the South Downs and some of the great gardens and stately homes of Sussex and Kent are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ockenden Manor Hotel Cuckfield
Ockenden Manor Hotel And Spa
Ockenden Manor Cuckfield
Hotel Ockenden Manor
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa Cuckfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing