We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food to rival La Manoir”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
Cheshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food to rival La Manoir”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have stayed at the hotel previously and the service is consistently excellent. Three of us had supper in the restaurant and I have to say, this time the meal was sensational. We all had different first courses, main course and pudding and with out exception, we were stunned by each dish, hats off to the Chef!

The rooms are lovely, clean and elegantly furnished. If I was to make a suggestion, it would be reference the hot water, it is so hot, so quickly from the tap, that it is easy to scold yourself. I would suggest thermostatic mixer valves to set the temp or at least warning signs near the hot water outlets, to save a possible accident with a child, elderly person or some one with sensory disabilities.

Overall an excellent stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KendalCCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    205
    92
    55
    36
See reviews for
101
436
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I am very fussy about spa's and have visited a few and as a day spa it's absolutely wonderful. The facilities are top notch the food is lovely and the staff are incredible. Nothing is too much trouble and they do everything to make you feel welcome. I have 2 niggles 1. children should not be allowed in a spa, 2. There is a door from reception to the outside needs a soft close on it as there are comfy sofas next to the door and the door bangs like crazy. However these are very small niggles and I would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank natasha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Spoke to someone at this pompous hotel today with a view to booking rooms for my daughter's wedding next year, June 2015. Was told I would have to pay, the FULL amount now if I booked the suite and 6 rooms. Excuse me! It's nearly a year away. So they would have my money for all that time and make interest on it. Also, would I get it back if we had to cancel due to unforeseen circumstances? Of course not! Avoid it like the plague!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckendenManor, Manager at Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
To confirm individual reservations we have for many years required the 1st night as a deposit and your statement is incorrect regarding refunding cancellations, Our cancellation policy is 4 days prior to arrival and we will automatically refund your deposit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Me and my wife booked the hotel through a spa package to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. In my view the level of customer service at the hotel, restaurant and spa really sets it apart. It was a sunny day on our arrival and we managed to enjoy a walk in the beautiful surrounding countryside. The spa is modern and facilities state of the art and we thoroughly enjoyed lounging around the many outside areas. We had dinner in the Michelin star restaurant and opted for the taster menu. The food was good, but the star of the show was the caramelised lemon tart with blackcurrant sauce. We were very pleasantly surprised when the final dish arrived on a happy anniversary plate as we might have said that it was our anniversary only once or twice in a passing conversation.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a weekend break for dinner, B&B at over £400 per night. The dinner in the hotel is good, the spa is lovely, but everything else about the hotel is ramshackle.

The decor throughout the hotel is shabby. We had to ask to change rooms after finding that our first "suite" was two dingy rooms joined by a hotel corridor, all of it up in the attic which meant that you couldn't stand up in it. The carpet was more fitting for a cheap B&B, and there wasn't even a shower. I would be embarrassed to offer that room in any hotel, let alone one that styles itself as luxury.

Our second room was much better, but for the price paid you expect attention to detail. This was lacking - no iron, only one bathrobe, broken toilet roll holder, cheap coffee facilities and only one biscuit provided! The "antique" fittings would be ok if they weren't broken and in poor condition.

The staff are clearly non-professional low wage employees, which reflects really poorly on the management of the hotel.

The last observation relates to Sunday breakfast - the hoovering doesn't need to be done at 9am just outside the dining room.

This hotel is expensively cheap - it's expensive, but does everything on the cheap. We won't return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank acm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckendenManor, Manager at Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I am disappointed that you didn’t enjoy the Thomas Suite; this suite is in the oldest part of the house and is accessed by its own stairs onto a private landing with the bedroom, ensuite on one side and the lounge from the other. I am pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and that you found the spa lovely.
The hotel is constantly undergoing refurbishment and we have a planned program. Within the Tudor part of the building several rooms are bath only.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had our wedding at Ockenden a few days ago and it was fantastic. All of the staff helped to make our day amazing. Annie, the events organiser, was an absolute pleasure do deal with in all the preparations and on the day. She was very easy going and accomodating. Nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were very professional but very friendly too which made for a very relaxing day. The venue is absolutely stunning with incredible distant views of the south downs, beautiful gardens-our photos are beautiful as a result! There is a gorgeous spa which all the wedding guests staying at the hotel could use until 4pm the day after the wedding. The food was outstanding! We wanted for nothing!!! Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and friends as part of the Sunday DB&B deal and had a fabulous time from start to finish.
Our room was smallish but had a lovely modern bathroom with gorgeous cosmetics. My main regarding the room would be the heat! It was stifling so a fan might be a welcome addition.
We all loved the food. Dinner was amazing as was breakfast the next morning. I would go back for the dining alone.
The spa was really nice but this is where I get a bit picky I'm afraid! I found it a bit dirty on the Sunday afternoon.... There just weren't enough staff collecting used crockery, glasses & plastic cups. The ladies ran out of loo roll and the cups weren't replenished next to the water jugs. The used robes and towels were spilling out of the bin all over the changing room floor. The issues seemed to have been solved by Monday so either more staff or different staff. I enjoyed Monday at the spa much more.
Sorry to be so down on you Ockenden but everything else was perfect, the spa just needs some more attention.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andi_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuckfield
7.8 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,599 reviews
23.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa

Property: Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Address: Ockenden Lane, Cuckfield RH17 5LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ockenden Manor is a charming and tranquil Elizabethan Manor House tucked away in Cuckfield, one of the prettiest Tudor villages in England. With its history and character, elegant sitting room warmed by a roaring log fire and cosy, wood panelled bar, it's a wonderful place to escape to and yet it is just an hour from London and 20 minutes drive from Gatwick. The hotel is set in nine acres of peaceful gardens and parkland with views across the West Sussex countryside to the South Downs and some of the great gardens and stately homes of Sussex and Kent are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ockenden Manor Hotel And Spa
Ockenden Manor Hotel Cuckfield
Ockenden Manor Cuckfield
Hotel Ockenden Manor
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa Cuckfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing