We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£230
Fully refundable before Mon, 3 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
£281
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 Jun
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£198
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Amandeep V
Surbiton, United Kingdom

Lovely Stay!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2024
Me and my partner stayed here one night for a short spa break as we found a good deal with Expedia. It is a lovely heritage hotel with very authentic Tudor style features. The staff were very friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I had a very lovely facial at the spa and we both enjoyed the facilities. There are plenty of places to relax and get free water, tea and coffee in the spa. The staff were also cleaning regularly which was good to see. The pool was on the cold side; would be nice if this was heated but there are lovely outdoor and indoor hot tubs which are great to relax in. The spa is also a bit of walk from the actual hotel which isn’t great if it’s raining but there are free umbrellas provided at the hotel entrance. We had breakfast included in our stay which was really tasty and great views from the restaurant overlooking the rolling hills. We stayed in a cosy room which was lovely and had nice touches such as handmade biscuits. The only mistake we made was not requesting a shower room at the time of booking which is what let this stay down slightly so this is something to be mindful of if you prefer this.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £281
  • Agoda.com
    £198
  • Hotels.com
    £230
0.0 miles from Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£41
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
1.8 miles from Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Functions our speciality Anniversaries , Family Events , Association Events,rooms for 10-80 pers
Booking.com
£105
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Vio.com
    £96
  • Hotels.com
    £105
2.7 miles from Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £85
  • ZenHotels.com
    £83
  • Priceline
2.9 miles from Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
main reception  and dining room
Hotels.com
£110
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £110
  • StayForLong
3.0 miles from Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £127
  • Priceline
4.1 miles from Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
Premier Inn Burgess Hill exterior
PremierInn.com
£65
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Trip.com
3.8 miles from Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£465
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £465
  • Official Site
    £685
  • Agoda.com
    £465
5.2 miles from Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cuckfield
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveller rating
743
318
171
100
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
743
318
171
100
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool petit fours the main hotel steam room four poster bed sussex countryside venison birthday treat wine list sitting room changing rooms course dinner relaxing break special occasion cooked breakfast south downs lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2024 via mobile

Visited yesterday for a ‘spafternoon tea’. The afternoon started with a lovely massage, then use of the spa all afternoon. It was very clean, quiet, with lots of quiet space to relax and enjoy complimentary drinks. We then finished the day with an afternoon tea at the hotel which was delicious and they were able to meet our dietary requirements (veggie/vegan) the room was very atmospheric: old and dark and warm.

The staff both in the spa and in the restaurant were absolutely fantastic, so helpful and made us feel very well looked after. The young gentleman in the restaurant was particularly welcoming.

Overall we felt it was good value although we were charged nearly £9 for some nachos (!!) and there did appear to be people working on laptops in the reception of the spa which was off putting.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tfhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2024

This was our second visit to the Ockenden for a couple of years.
It is without doubt a beautiful place to relax, in a stunning setting and the rooms have great character.
The service provided by all the staff was exceptional and on par with any 5 star hotel we have visited around the world.
Especially the care, friendly approachable nature of the managers (Sarah and Flavi) who made our stay truly wonderful - the owners should be proud to have such a great team maintaining the quality and reputation of the hotel. We cannot wait for our next visit!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and wonderful service. We stayed in spa junior suite really spacious with gorgeous bathroom and lovely views. The spa is glorious lovely indoor/outdoor pool and the treatment (massage) was divine. Really relaxing stay. Service was fantastic throughout hotel.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 499abigailg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2024

Ockenden Manor is a delightful hotel. We stayed for 4 nights in a spa room. The room was beautifully appointed and well maintained. The complementary drinks and biscuits were a nice touch although the lack of a bottle opener meant I had to be dexterous with a teaspoon to open the bottle of lemonade.
The spa was a joy. Despite being open to non residents it was never overcrowded and swimming outdoors is great. Probably one of the best spa hotels I have stayed at.
All the staff were friendly and happy to help giving the place a home like feel. A particular call out for the restaurant duty managers who looked after us so well.
The food was excellent and of high standard. My only criticism would be the lack of variation of the menu. There are 5 starters and 5 mains, which for a four night stay meant duplication some nights. Even the soup was the same every night. Surely it is not beyond a clearly excellent chef to do something different each night in addition to a set menu.
We left feeling full recharged and would recommend it as a place to stay if visiting Sussex.

Room tip: Take a bottle opener. Spa rooms are fantastic, but are detached from the main hotel. Umbrellas are provided though.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisWelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

Stayed in this beautiful hotel for a 2 night spa break with a friend. We choose the spa suite as recommended by other reviews as we wanted to be close to the spa amenities. From first enquiring & booking the hotel and the spa treatments the staff couldn’t have been more helpful. I was sent confirmation emails of room bookings, spa treatment times and dinner reservations. When we arrived we had a lovely warm welcome from the ladies at the front desk and were shown to our suite by one of the spa staff. Our suite was beautiful, extremely clean with a beautiful bathroom and free standing bath.
We requested two twin beds which had been arranged. There is a complimentary mini fridge with soft drinks & water & coffee making facilities. There is a terrace outside with lovely views & sun loungers.
The spa area was very clean with a lovely pool, sauna and steam room. The relaxation rooms were beautiful too. Our spa treatments were all of a very high standard and the beauticians were very knowledgeable & professional & made sure you were relaxed and comfortable.
Dinner was fantastic the staff couldn’t be more polite and helpful. We were looked after by Russell (if I remember correctly) he was so attentive & nothing was too much trouble for him & his team. The dining room is beautiful small & intimate. Breakfast was fabulous, plenty of fresh pastries, fruit & juices. The cooked breakfast was delicious, plenty of choices on the menu including a very good vegan option.
The hotel itself is beautiful & charming but I think what makes it stand out is the warmth & friendliness of all the staff.
Absolutely loved our stay & will certainly be returning in the near future.

Room tip: If your going for a spa break book a spa suite as you’re so close to all amenities.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews