We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal”
Review of Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cuckfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went for Sunday Lunch with our
Daughter quite by accident whilst looking for somewhere to eat in Hayward's Heath not knowing the area at all. What a lovely surprise we had to find The Wheatsheaf. Wonderful meal charming staff we look forward to going again in the very near future! Highly recommend.


Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have stayed at this B & B twice, each time for a week. Only once did I hear noise from the pub and that was on Christmas Eve. Noise was a concern before my first visit but I was not disturbed at all which is surprising because the pub is very busy. I found my rooms very comfortable and clean although the first single room upstairs had a shower that was useless as a stand under. This was because of the roof eave making it impossible to locate the shower at a suitable height. There are several chefs and I think this is why another reviewer found quality varies, however, nothing is too much trouble and the staff are very friendly with a special mention of Sheila. I think I know who the grumpy staff member mentioned in another review is, maybe grumpy is the wrong word but he doesn't have the personality suited to be front of house. Overall the atmosphere is very good. I have taken a point off because I found the wifi non existent in my first room and very hit and miss in the second one. Wifi elsewhere in the pub is excellent. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If wifi is important in the room choose carefully, likewise do not choose room 8 if you like to show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolepj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My wife and I booked a table for two for the 'Wheatsheaf' Christmas Day lunch and what an amazing meal it was. Food all wonderful and the service and detail second to none. The Mulled wine was fantastic and just nothing was too much trouble for the staff to deal with. All the staff were clearly enjoying what they were doing. The Wheatsheaf is onto a winner with this kind of service. We have found a gem of a pub to relax in and to enjoy the great food on offer. Give it a try you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fordos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Have stayed on a number of occasions while on business in the area. Always a friendly welcome, food varies from very good to excellent in terms of value for money and quality. There is also plenty of variety on offer. Good bar though some of the locals can get a bit loud; still beats a soulless hotel chain bar though. If your in the area on business or a short break, give it a go.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breakfast-muncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we were doing a wine estate tour at the nearby Bolney wine estate. Although it is near the main road through the village, it wasn't at all noisy. The decking/garden area is peaceful and beautiful. The food was excellent and good value and the locals were extremely friendly. Don't let the landlord blame you for his hangover though!

The room was clean and comfy and had everything you could want. Even though we arrived early they let us put our overnight things in the room. All in all it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a beautiful part of the country. We're already looking at dates to go again for a weekend as we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bairnsfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay here with my sister. We arrived and were greeted with a big smile which is a good start and we found all the staff to be helpful and pleasant. We decided to have lunch before we checked in and the food was delicious. The Goats Cheese and Caramelised Onion Tart comes highly recommended. We had requested an earlier check in for 2.30pm (normally 3pm) and the room was ready on time. We were then shown to Room 1 which is a twin-bedded room on the ground floor and as the room was at the back of the pub it was very quiet. There were plenty of towels, complimentary bath products, small tv, kettle and plenty of tea, coffee etc and a hairdryer. The only downside was that the room was very small and we kept trying to get out of each others way. The bathroom was small and dated although adequate but hadn't been cleaned particularly well (although cleaning did improve on subsequent days). The shower head had seen better days (needs a new one) so the shower wasn't too good. The breakfast was very good with a choice of juices, cereals, fruit, yogurt, full English etc. All in all a good stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1 at the rear (twin bedded) is very quiet but don't choose if you're claustraphobic as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here whilst on business. We received a very warm welcome, were shown to a small room on the first floor with a very snug bathroom, lots of fluffy towels, everything working and a comfy bed. We ate in the bar where the food was tasty, generous, reasonably priced and served by great staff. Breakfast was perfect, good quality ingredients cooked well.

There were two major problems staying here, the noise from the road, I only managed two hours sleep, and the member of staff who was winning the competition for the Mr Grumpy Award.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuckfield
2.2 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Inn

Address: Broad Street, Cuckfield RH17 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cuckfield
Price Range: £56 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatsheaf Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Cuckfield
Wheatsheaf Inn Cuckfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing